

# The State Bar of California

# ADMISSION TO PRACTICE LAW IN CALIFORNIA

Congratulations on passing the California Bar Exam! You may check whether you have satisfied the requirements for admission to practice law in California on your Admission Status screen within the Applicant Portal. If you have satisfied all admissions requirements, you may take the attorney's oath of office once you have received the oath card on May 7, 2024, pursuant to the Supreme Court of California's order. You may take the oath at an in-person or virtual swearing-in ceremony before a judge, justice, clerk of a court of record, commanding officer if you are in the military, the American Consul if you are in a foreign country, or anyone authorized to administer oaths. For a list of those authorized to administer oaths, please see the <u>Attorney Oath webpage</u>.

The State Bar has enabled digital signing and electronic processing of oath cards through DocuSign. For information on registering as an attorney, enrollment, fees, MCLE requirements, and the New Attorney Training Program, please refer to the <u>Virtual Oath Packet webpage</u> and the <u>Oath</u> <u>Card FAQs</u>.

For information regarding admission to the U.S. District Court, please consult the court's website:

**Central District** 

**Eastern District** 

Northern District

Southern District

## **Rule 4.17 Admission Certification and Time Limit**

Title 4, Division 1, Chapter 2, Rule 4.17 of the *Rules of the State Bar of California (Admissions Rules)* requires that you take the attorney's oath within five years of the last day of administration of the bar exam that you passed. If the five-year period expires, you must take and pass the California Bar Exam again and meet all other admission requirements, including having a current positive moral character determination on file, in order to be admitted. **Your bar exam results are valid for five years from the last day of administration of the exam you passed.** 

## Rule 4.42 Duty to Update Application for Determination of Moral Character

Once you have been certified to the Supreme Court of California for admission to the practice of law, you do not need to submit a moral character extension application if your positive determination will expire before you take the attorney's oath. However, until you are admitted to practice law, you have a continuing duty to notify the Office of Admissions when information provided in the Application for Determination of Moral Character has changed or there is new information relevant to the application. The Office of Admissions must be in receipt of the notification from the applicant within 30 days of the change or addition to the information originally submitted.

#### **Certificate of Admission**

The free standard wall certificate is printed on white cardstock paper with non-raised lettering and a printed border, measures 11 x 15.5 inches, and includes the embossed gold Supreme Court seal. Your name and date of admission are underlined and lithographically impressed to match the certificate text. It is produced by the California Supreme Court and takes approximately 10 weeks to process.

Customized admission certificates are available to those who wish to order them for \$90. The custom wall certificate is printed on cream parchment paper with raised lettering, measures 11 x 14 inches, and includes the embossed gold Supreme Court seal. Your name and date of admission are lithographically impressed to match the certificate text. It is produced by a third-party vendor and takes approximately six weeks to process.

Once your bar number has been assigned, you will be able to order your wall certificate following the instructions below:

- Log in to the <u>Applicant Portal</u> using your Office of Admissions account. Do not create a new account, as licensees can only order with their historical Admissions account.
- Under the Apply icon, select View Forms to view available California State Bar applications and forms.
- Under Services, select either the Standard or Custom Wall Certificate Request.
- Select Launch Application to proceed to the Wall Certificate Request.

#### **Transfer of MBE Scores to Other Jurisdictions**

The National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) will transfer your Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) score to admitting authorities in other jurisdictions upon request and payment of a fee. An MBE Score Transfer Request may be completed and submitted online through the <u>NCBE</u> website.

#### PLEASE TAKE NOTE: YOU WILL NOT BE ENROLLED AS AN ATTORNEY UNTIL YOU HAVE TAKEN THE OATH AND YOUR COMPLETED STATE BAR REGISTRATION CARD IS RECEIVED BY THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA'S OFFICE OF ATTORNEY REGULATION.