The State Bar launched a new online billing and payment application for 2017 fees. Paper billing statements are not sent to attorneys. Instead, statements are available online through My State Bar Profile.
Once an attorney’s State Bar fees are paid, a paper bar card can be downloaded through My State Bar Profile. Plastic bar cards will be available upon request and can also be ordered through My State Bar Profile.
The next fee payments are due in 2018.
Individual attorneys make payments online through My State Bar Profile. Attorneys should make sure that the email provided for communications from the State Bar is current.
Law firms and agencies can now use the State Bar’s new agency billing system to calculate billing costs and make payments for a group of attorneys.
Attorneys who did not submit payment for 2017 annual fees (including
late penalties) or report MCLE compliance (and pay any penalties) face being transferred to involuntary inactive status effective Sept. 1. Submissions must be completed electronically or postmarked by Aug. 31, 2017. Note: Payments received after July
14 need to be in certified funds (certified check, ACH or credit
card payment) to ensure timely processing.
The next deadline for State Bar fees is in 2018. Fees must be paid on time or penalties are assessed ($100 for active lawyers, $30 for inactive lawyers). Contact Member Records with questions at 888-800-3400 or email@example.com.
Pay fees online. Set up an individual My State Bar Profile. Returning users should log in using their personal password. If you are a first-time user, you will need an access code.
Attorneys were only eligible to pay at the inactive rate if they transferred to voluntary inactive status by March 1, 2017. If an attorney has not paid annual fees by that date, they have missed the deadline to file an Application to Transfer to Inactive Status in time to be eligible for the inactive status fee rate for this year. A change to inactive status after March 1 is permissible, however the attorney must pay annual fees at the active rate and is not entitled to a refund because of the change to inactive status.
Report any change in an address. If an address or contact information has changed, log on to My State Bar Profile to update it. Note: California Rule of Court 9.7 makes it a requirement to use My State Bar Profile as the means to report changes to contact information, as well as to provide and maintain an email address for State Bar communications. If you have not already done so, please register today to ensure your compliance.
If trust account information has changed in the past year, notify the State Bar. This requirement only applies to active attorneys living in California. To update or change trust account information, log on to My State Bar Profile.