## Proposed Revision of Rule of Court 9.30

Rule 9.30 Law Study in Unaccredited Law Schools

## (a) Unaccredited law schools

A person seeking admission to the practice of law in California who does not have a law degree may satisfy legal education requirements for admission by studying law diligently and in good faith for four years in an unaccredited law school, as authorized by Business and Professions Code § 6060(e), provided the law school complies with the requirements of this rule.

An "unaccredited law school" is a correspondence, distance-learning or fixed-facility law school operating in California that is subject to the State Bar's Unaccredited Law School Rules and is not accredited by the Committee of Bar Examiners.

- (1) A "correspondence law school" is a law school that conducts instruction principally by correspondence. A correspondence law school must require at least 864 hours of preparation and study per year for four years.
- (2) A "distance-learning law school" is a law school that conducts instruction and provides interactive classes principally by technological means. A distance-learning law school must require at least 864 hours of preparation and study per year for four years.
- (3) A "fixed-facility law school" is a law school that conducts its instruction principally in physical classroom facilities. A fixed-facility law school must require classroom attendance of its students for a minimum of 270 hours a year for four years.
- (b) Requirements for all unaccredited law schools

Every unaccredited law school must

- (1) register with the Committee of Bar Examiners;
- (2) pay the fees that the Board of Governors has determined to be reasonable and necessary to fund the regulatory and oversight responsibilities of the Committee of Bar Examiners pursuant to Business and Professions Code §6060.7;
- (3) have and maintain an adequate administrative staff and faculty of instructors in law;
- (4) establish and maintain Committee-approved standards for academic achievement, advancement in good standing, and graduation, and provide for periodic testing of all students to determine the quality of their performance in relation to such standards;

## **ATTACHMENT 2**

- (5) have and maintain the records, reports, and other documentation required by the Committee and upon reasonable notice make any such documentation available for inspection to the Committee or its representative;
- (6) annually file the compliance report required by the Rules of the State Bar and Business and Professions Code sections 6061 and 6060.7; and
- (7) operate in compliance with this rule, the Unaccredited Law School Rules, the other Rules of the State Bar, and all applicable state, federal, and local laws and regulations.
- (c) Requirements for correspondence and distance learning law schools

A correspondence or distance-learning law school must

- (1) maintain a regular course of instruction in law, with a specified curriculum; and
- (2) require that its students complete a minimum of 864 hours of study and preparation each year for at least four years and maintain records adequate to determine each student's compliance with this requirement.
- (d) Requirements for fixed-facility law schools

A fixed-facility law school must

- maintain a regular course of instruction in law, with a specified curriculum and regularly scheduled class sessions;
- (2) require classroom attendance of its students for a minimum of 270 hours a year for at least four years, and further require regular attendance of each student at not less than 80 percent of the regularly scheduled class hours in each course in which such student was enrolled and maintain attendance records adequate to determine each student's compliance with such requirements;
- (3) provide at a fixed location physical facilities suitable for accommodating all administrative offices, teaching and all other necessary functions for the classes scheduled for that location; and
- (4) have and maintain the library resources required by the Committee of Bar Examiners.
- (e) Authority of the Committee of Bar Examiners

Subject to the approval of the Board of Governors of The State Bar of California, the Committee of Bar Examiners

(1) may adopt rules and guidelines to effect compliance with this rule and Business and Professions Code §§ 6060.7 and 6061, and authorize measures for non-

- compliance, including withdrawal of a school's registration for non-compliance by providing false or misleading information or otherwise; and
- (2) may inspect an unaccredited law school at any time as it deems necessary or proper to evaluate and ensure compliance with this rule, the Unaccredited Law School Rules and other Rules of the State Bar.
- (f) Inherent authority of the Supreme Court

Nothing in these rules may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme Court to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over admission to the practice of law in California.