CALIFORNIA COMMISSION ON ACCESS TO JUSTICE

c/o State Bar of California - 180 Howard Street - San Francisco, CA 94105 - (415) 538-2251- (415) 538-2524/fax

HON. RONALD ROBIE

Chair Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District Sacramento

> KENNETH W. BABCOCK Vice Chair Public Law Center

RAMON ALVAREZ Alvarez Lincoln/Mercury Riverside

HON. STEVEN K. AUSTIN Contra Costa County Superior Court Pittsburgh

> MARCIA BELL San Francisco Law Library

SHEILA CALABRO Administrative Office of the Courts Burbank

> JOANNE E. CARUSO Howrey LLP Los Angeles

ROBIN C. CRAWFORD Law Office of Robin Crawford Pacifica

ROZENIA D. CUMMINGS California State Automobile Association San Francisco

> MICHELLE MANZO DEAN McDermott, Will & Emery LLP Los Angeles

ERIKA FRANK California Chamber of Commerce Sacramento

HON. ANDREW J. GUILFORD
U.S. District Court, Central District of California
Santa Ana

HON. JAMES E. HERMAN Superior Court of Santa Barbara County Santa Maria

MARY E. KELLY California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board Los Angeles

> HON. DOUGLAS P. MILLER Court of Appeal, Fourth Appellate District Riverside

> > ANNE MARIE MURPHY Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy Burlingame

HON. NHO TRONG NGUYEN Superior Court of Orange County Westminster

DAVID J. PASTERNAK Pasternak, Pasternak & Patton Los Angeles

EDWIN K. PRATHER Law Offices of Edwin Prather San Francisco

PAUL TEPPER Western Center on Law & Poverty Los Angeles

EDWARD THOMAS UNTERMAN Rustic Canyon Partners Santa Monica

ERIC WAYNE WRIGHT Santa Clara University School of Law Santa Clara

MARY LAVERY FLYNN Director, Legal Services Outreach State Bar of California San Francisco

SUBJECT: Aranda Access to Justice Award Nomination Form Attached

Nomination Deadline: May 27, 2011

Dear Colleague:

The California Access to Justice Commission is seeking nominations of a California judge for the Benjamin Aranda III Access to Justice Award.

The Aranda Access to Justice Award honors one California trial judge, appellate court justice, or commissioner who deserves recognition for his or her efforts to improve access to our judicial system for low and moderate income persons. The award will be made by the Judicial Council, the State Bar of California and the California Judges Association and will be presented by the Chief Justice in the fall of 2011.

This annual award honors the judge who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to equal access to our courts, and who has personally done significant work in improving access to our courts for low and moderate income Californians. The award is named in honor of the late Judge Aranda who was known for his tireless efforts to promote fairness and access in the courts.

The California Commission on Access to Justice will select the award recipient in consultation with the Judicial Council, the State Bar and CJA. The Commission, whose membership includes appointees from each of those three entities, as well as from the business, labor, education and religious communities, is dedicated to pursuing long term strategies designed to make significant progress toward the goal of improving access to justice. The Commission is addressing a number of important issues such as the increase in self-represented litigants, involvement of the judiciary in encouraging pro bono and the study of successful models for systemic improvement in our judicial system in order to provide increased access to justice for all Californians, regardless of financial resources or language ability.

Thank you for your interest, and for considering a deserving judge for this prestigious award.

Very truly yours,

Hon. Ronald Taylor, Ret., Chair

Aranda Access to Justice Award Committee

on behalf of the California Commission on Access to Justice

Nomination Deadline: May 27, 2011

BENJAMIN ARANDA III ACCESS TO JUSTICE AWARD

PRESENTED ON BEHALF OF THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL, THE CALIFORNIA JUDGES ASSOCIATION, AND THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA

NOMINATION CRITERIA AND PROCESS

Nominations are being sought for the Benjamin Aranda III Access to Justice Award by the California Commission on Access to Justice. Presented for the first time in 1999, this annual award honors a judge or commissioner who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to improving access to our courts, and who has personally done significant work in improving access for low and moderate income Californians. The following are past recipients of the award:

1999 - Hon. Judith McConnell, San Diego Superior Court

2000 - Hon. Veronica S. McBeth, Los Angeles Superior Court

2001 – Hon. Charles Campbell, Ventura Superior Court

2002 - Hon. Donna J. Hitchens, San Francisco Superior Court

2003 - Hon. Kenneth M. Kawaichi, Alameda Superior Court

2004 - Hon. Earl Johnson, Jr., Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District

2005 - Hon. Aviva Bobb, Los Angeles Superior Court

2006 - Hon. Donna M. Petre, Yolo Superior Court

2007 - Hon. Kathleen E. O'Leary, Court of Appeal, Fourth Appellate District

2008 - Hon. Francisco Firmat, Orange County Superior Court

2009 - Hon. Gordon Baranco, Alameda County Superior Court

2010 - Hon. Laurie D. Zelon, Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District

The California Commission on Access to Justice will select the award recipient in consultation with the Judicial Council, the State Bar and CJA.

Criteria for Award:

Criteria to be used in the selection of the award recipient include one or more of the following:

- Demonstrated dedication to improving access to our judicial system for low and moderate income Californians;
- ♦ Demonstrated commitment to increasing the involvement of volunteer attorneys in the representation of the indigent;
- Successful establishment of a model system for providing assistance to self-represented litigants;
- Successful establishment of a model cooperative effort with local legal services programs or bar associations designed to improve available representation for low or moderate income litigants; or
- ♦ Other significant activities demonstrating a long-term commitment to improving the accessibility of our judicial system for all Californians, regardless of income.

Nomination Process:

- ♦ Nomination forms are due May 27, 2011. One copy of the completed Nomination Form (attached) and supporting materials (loose pages, no staples) should be included.
- ♦ The award recipient will be selected by the California Commission on Access to Justice, in consultation with the Judicial Council, the State Bar and CJA.

For more information, contact Chris Zupanovich, Program Coordinator, Legal Services Outreach, State Bar of California: (415) 538-2534; chris.zupanovich@calbar.ca.gov

Benjamin Aranda III Access to Justice Award Nomination Form

Nominations due: May 27, 2011

This document is a fillable form. Please fill out this form where indicated in its entirety.

Nominee's Name:			
Title/Position:			
Address:		City/Zip:	
Telephone:	Fax:		Email:
Name of Nominee's Clerk:		Phone No. of N	lominee's Clerk:
Please include the following su	upporting material v	vith this nomination fo	rm
Description of how	the nominee meets	s the award criteria	
The nominee's resu	ume		
Letters of support	(up to five letters wi	ill be accepted)	
Three additional re	eferences		
Nominator's Name:			
Court/Firm/Organization:			
Address:		City/Zip:	
Telephone:	Fax:		Email:
Nominator's Signature:			
	Va.,		anto viola
	•	nail your nomination m rm and accompanying :	naterials. materials (loose pages, no staples) by

Chris Zupanovich, Staff, Commission on Access to Justice State Bar of California 180 Howard St. San Francisco, CA 94105-1639

May 27, 2011 to:

For more information, please contact Chris Zupanovich Tel: (415) 538-2534 Email: chris.zupanovich@calbar.ca.gov