

# OFFICE OF ATTORNEY REGULATION & CONSUMER RESOURCES

180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

MCLE@calbar.ca.gov 888-800-3400

#### MINIMUM CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION

With a few exceptions, all attorneys who are admitted to practice law in California must complete ongoing legal training. This requirement is called Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE).

## When do I report my MCLE?

California attorneys complete their MCLE requirements on a three-year cycle. Upon admission, each attorney will be *permanently* assigned to an MCLE group as follows (changing your last name later does not change your group):

Group	Period
1 (Last Names A-G)	2/1/19-1/31/22*
2 (Last Names H-M)	2/1/21-1/31/24
3 (Last Names N-Z)	2/1/20-1/31/23

<sup>\*</sup>Attorneys who have been licensed for less than four months within their compliance period are not required to report compliance for that first period.

#### What is the MCLE requirement?

The requirement is 25 hours every three years. The courses taken must be State Bar of California-approved education. The requirement is less if a licensee is not on active status for the entire three-year period.

For example, a December 2021 admittee with the last name Clogson (A-G, or "Group 1") will owe a total of 25 hours of MCLE between February 1, 2022 and January 31, 2025 if active in all 36 months. A June 2022 admittee, with the last name Raines (N-Z, or "Group 3"), and with 8 months on active status (June 2022 –Jan. 2023), will owe a total of 6 hours of MCLE by February 1, 2023. For additional information or help in calculating your proportional requirement, please refer to the <u>Proportional Requirement Table</u>.

Additionally, new admittees are required to complete the State Bar's New Attorney Training (NAT) program which consists of 10 hours of free online instruction provided exclusively by the State Bar. For additional information regarding NAT, please refer to the <a href="New Attorney Training Program">New Attorney Training Program</a>.

## What are "Subfield" requirements?

An attorney's MCLE requirement will always include at least four hours of *Legal Ethics* along with at least one hour on *Competence Issues* (e.g., substance abuse or mental health), and at least one hour in an area called *The Recognition and Elimination of Bias in the Legal Profession and Society*.

#### How to report your MCLE compliance

It is extremely important to understand that compliance with MCLE does not just entail completing the required courses. Attorneys must track their own hours and report their compliance to the State Bar at the end of their three-year compliance period, by completing and submitting an online attestation through their My State Bar Profile.

For additional MCLE related information, including finding MCLE activities, MCLE exemption, and definitions of important MCLE-related terms such as "participatory" versus "self-study" education, please refer to the MCLE & CLE webpage.