



180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

MCLE@calbar.ca.gov 888-800-3400

NEW ATTORNEY TRAINING PROGRAM

Newly admitted California attorneys must complete the 10-hour online New Attorney Training (NAT) program. The training **must be completed within one year of an attorney's admission** to the State Bar. This training consists of a specific program of instruction created by the State Bar of California.

How long do I have to complete the program?

You will have one year from the last day of the month in which you were admitted, to complete the training. For example, an attorney admitted on December 1, 2021, must complete the training by December 31, 2022, (Rule 2.53(D), Division 4, Chapter 1 of the Rules of the State Bar).

How do I access the training?

You can only access the online program after you have set up your <u>My State Bar Profile</u>. You will receive instructions on how to set up your profile shortly after submitting your oath card.

What is the training?

The New Attorney Training program is a series of online courses which can only be accessed through your <u>My State Bar Profile</u>. There are nine courses which make up the 10-hour requirement. You may log out at any time and your progress will be saved. The courses include 4 hours of legal ethics, 3 hours of basic skills, 1.5 hours on competence (substance abuse and mental health issues), and 1.5 hours on the elimination of bias.

How much do the courses cost?

There is no charge to take these courses. They are only available to newly admitted attorneys who are required to take them.

Can I use NAT courses towards my regular Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) requirement as well?

Yes. You may use these courses to fulfill your regular MCLE requirement, **provided that the courses are taken within the appropriate MCLE compliance period.**

Do I need to keep records of my course completion?

Yes. After completing each course, you will receive a certificate that you should save to document your completion. Be aware that course materials and certificates of completion must be printed or saved within 30 days of course completion. After that, they are no longer available.

What happens if I do not complete the New Attorney Training?

If you do not complete the training by the one-year deadline, you will be assessed a late penalty of \$75. If you fail to complete the training by your next regular MCLE deadline following your New Attorney Training deadline, you will be placed on *involuntary inactive* status and be ineligible to practice.

For additional information regarding NAT, please refer to the <u>New Attorney Training Program</u>. For information regarding general MCLE requirements, please refer to the <u>MCLE & CLE</u> webpage.