The State Bar OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS

of California

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS: STUDY IN A LAW OFFICE OR JUDGE’S
CHAMBER

These FAQs are a living document. They are subject to revision and will be supplemented and
updated as needed.

1. What s the Law Office Study (LOS) Program?
The LOS Program allows you to complete your legal education by studying law in a law
office or judge’s chamber.

You will complete four years of study in a law office under the supervision of a qualifying
attorney or in a judge’s chamber under the supervision of a judge of a court of record in
California. Your studies must be completed in the supervising attorney’s law office or
judge’s chamber during normal business hours.

2. Dol qualify to study law through the LOS Program?
You must fulfill the pre-legal education requirements that apply to students who attend
law school. This includes at least two years of college work, or show equivalent
intellectual achievement by attaining a score of 50 or higher on specified College-Level
Examination Program (CLEP) examinations, as detailed on the College Equivalency
Education webpage.

Your pre-legal education will be evaluated upon submission of your LOS application. If
any legal education has been completed prior to applying for the LOS program, it’s
suggested that you apply for a legal evaluation to determine if you have established
exemption from the FYLSX. You must register with the Office of Admissions, and the
Registration Application must be approved before you can submit a request for a legal
evaluation. When submitting your LOS Notice of Intent, you must submit your official,
sealed undergraduate transcripts, CLEP scores, or a course-by-course evaluation of your
foreign study from an approved credential evaluation agency if you have foreign
undergraduate study. All official, sealed legal education transcripts must be submitted
before a legal evaluation can be completed.

3. lam interested in studying law through the LOS Program. What do | need to submit?
When do | need to submit the LOS application?
You must submit a Registration Application in addition to the LOS Notice of Intent, the
required documentation, and the applicable fees in the Applicant Portal within 30 days
of beginning your legal studies in a law office or judge’s chamber. You will not receive
credit for any study completed if the State Bar does not approve your applications.
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Please do not submit the LOS Notice of Intent before you have found a qualified
supervising attorney or judge.

4. How long will it take for my LOS application to be processed?
Generally, the State Bar will process your LOS application within 2-3 weeks of receipt if
you submit a complete and accurate application.

Incomplete applications will take longer to process. If your application is deemed
incomplete, you will have 60 days from the date you submitted your application to
provide the missing information or documentation. If your application is not deemed
complete within this period, your application will be abandoned without a refund of any
fees paid.

5. lwork in alaw office or judge’s chamber. Does my work qualify as legal study under
the LOS Program?
No. Working in a law office or judge’s chambers is insufficient to get credit for legal
study under the LOS Program.

6. How do I find an attorney or judge to supervise my legal studies?
Unfortunately, the State Bar is unable to refer you to an attorney or judge. You are
required to find a qualified attorney or judge who is willing to supervise your legal
studies. You may wish to contact your local bar association for assistance.

7. What qualifications does the attorney or judge under whom I study need?
An attorney must be an active licensee of the State Bar of California in good standing for
at least five consecutive years immediately before beginning oversight of the student’s
legal studies. They must also have actively practiced law during this period. In addition,
a supervising attorney may not supervise more than two LOS students simultaneously.

A judge must be a judge of a court of record of California, such as a California Superior
Court or California Court of Appeal.

Please refer to rule 4.29(B) of the Rules of the State Bar.

8. How do I change the attorney or judge under whom I study?
You may request to study under a different attorney or judge by submitting a new LOS
application, the required documentation, and the fee in the Applicant Portal within 30
days beginning study with the new attorney or judge.

If you change the attorney or judge under whom you are studying during a six-month
study period, you must submit a report from your previous attorney or judge that
indicates all study completed with that person along with the semi-annual report fee in
the Applicant Portal within 30 days of beginning study with the new attorney or judge.
Within 30 days of completion of the six-month study period, you will also have to submit
a semi-annual report reflecting the study conducted under the new attorney or judge
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that covers the remainder of the six-month study period.

What should the monthly exams cover?

Your supervising attorney or judge will decide on the content of the monthly exams.
Your supervising attorney or judge may wish to review what is covered on the First-Year
Law Students' Examination and the Bar Examination when creating your course of study.

| am approved to study law through the LOS Program. When and how do | submit the
semi-annual reports?

You must submit a semi-annual report to the State Bar after completion of each six-
month period of study through the LOS Program. If you submit a semi-annual report
more than 30 days late, it will not be accepted, and you will not receive credit for that
six-month period of study.

Your LOS application and participation will be categorized as inactive if you fail to submit
a semi-annual report within a year of your last provided semi-annual report.

You must submit your semi-annual reports through the Applicant Portal. To submit a
semi-annual report (i.e., Law Office Study Session):

e Loginto your Applicant Portal.

e Scroll down to “My Applications.”

e Click on the case number associated with your most recent Law Office Notice of
Intent case.

e Under Law Office Study Sessions, click “New.”

e Provide the requested information and click “Save.” A LOS Session ID will be
created.

e Click on the new LOS Session ID number. Upload a completed LOS Session Semi-
Annual Report Cover Sheet and your six graded exams, each with an appended
LOS Session Exam Cover Sheet under the files section. Please make sure the LOS
Session Semi-Annual Report Cover Sheet has the correct dates and the total
hours studied for the period.

e Click “Pay Now” and follow the steps to submit the study session.

How do | reinstate my legal studies through the LOS Program after my participation has
been suspended?

To resume study after you have been placed on suspended status from the LOS Program,
you must submit a new LOS Notice of Intent, the required documentation, and the fee in
the Applicant Portal within least 30 days or resuming your legal studies.

Do | have to take the First-Year Law Students’ Exam (FYLSX) if | complete my legal
studies through the LOS Program?

All students in the LOS Program are required to take the FYLSX after completing their
first year of study.
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13.

You will be required to take the FYLSX unless you establish an exemption, as specified in
rule 4.55(A) of the Rules of the State Bar.

If you are required to take the FYLSX, you must pass it within the first three consecutive
administrations after becoming eligible to receive credit for your law study completed
to date.

If you are required to take the FYLSX and you fail to pass it after the first three
consecutive administrations after becoming eligible to take the exam, you will only
receive credit for your first year of legal studies. You must still pass the exam to become
eligible to receive credit for your studies beyond the first year of legal studies.

If you completed law study at an accredited or registered law school prior to beginning
the LOS Program, it is suggested to obtain a legal education evaluation. As a part of the
evaluation process, you are required to provide those official, sealed law school
transcripts. The Office of Admissions will evaluate your prior completed law study to
determine if you are exempt from the FYLSX. In addition, the Office of Admissions will
advise how much credit has been recognized for the prior law school study and let you
know how much more study you need to complete in the LOS Program to qualify for the
California Bar Exam.

How do | know when | am eligible to take the FYLSX?

An applicant becomes eligible to take the FYLSX after completion of their first year of
law study. If your second session, which completes the first year, ends prior to the final
eligibility deadline for the current FYLSX, you are required to apply for the examination.

The final eligibility deadline is always two weeks prior to the exam. All deadlines for the
FYLSX can be found by visiting our website.
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