CALIFORNIA COMMISSION ON ACCESS TO JUSTICE

c/o State Bar of California · 180 Howard Street · San Francisco, CA 94105 · (415) 538-2352 · (415) 538-2524/fax

HON. MARK A. JUHAS
Chair
Los Angeles County Superior Court
Los Angeles
CATHERINE J. BLAKEMORE
Vice Chair
Disability Rights California
Sacramento
MARY LOU ARANGUREN
Alameda County Superior Court
Berkeley
MANA BARARI
Sundeen, Salinas & Pyle

MARCIA R. BELL San Francisco Law Library San Francisco CHARLES CALDERON

Whittier
PAUL S. COHEN
Eviction Defense Collaborative
San Francisco

HON. RICARDO CÓRDOVA Superior Court of Stanislaus County Modesto

> MEERA E. DEO Thomas Jefferson School of Law San Diego

ERIKA C. FRANK California Chamber of Commerce Sacramento

AMOS E.HARTSTON California Department of Justice Los Angeles

HON. JAMES E. HERMAN Superior Court of Santa Barbara County Santa Barbara

JANIS R. HIROHAMA League of Women Voters of California Manhattan Beach

> LISA R. JASKOL Public Counsel Los Angeles

HON. MARTIN J. JENKINS Court of Appeal, First Appellate District San Francisco

VENUS D. JOHNSON Office of the Calif. Attorney General Sacramento

HON. VICTORIA S. KOLAKOWSKI Alameda County Superior Court Onkland

MICHAEL J. LEVY California Department of Insurance Sacramento

HON. GOODWIN H. LIU California Supreme Court San Francisco

> PAUL S. MARKS Neufeld Marks Los Angeles

DEBORAH D. MOSS-WEST Santa Clara University School of Law Santa Clara

> ANNE MARIE MURPHY Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy Burlingame

LISA R. PRUITT University of California, Davis, School of Law Davis

> HON. MARIA P. RIVERA Court of Appeal, First Appellate District San Francisco

HON. ERICA R. YEW Santa Clara County Superior Court San Jose

KELLI M. EVANS Senior Director Administration of Justice State Bar of California Nominations Are Now Open for the Benjamin Aranda III Access to Justice Award Nomination Form Attached Nominations Close **Monday, April 4, 2016**

Dear Colleague:

The California Commission on Access to Justice is seeking nominations of California judges for the Benjamin Aranda III Access to Justice Award.

The Aranda Award honors one California trial judge, appellate court justice, or commissioner who deserves recognition for personally having done significant work towards improving access to our courts for low and moderate income Californians, and has demonstrated a long-term commitment to this effort. The award is named in honor of the late Judge Aranda who was known for his tireless efforts to promote fairness and access in the courts.

The California Commission on Access to Justice will select the award recipient in consultation with the Judicial Council, the State Bar of California and the California Judges Association. The Commission's membership includes appointees from each of those three entities, as well as from the business, labor, education and religious communities, and it is dedicated to pursuing long-term strategies designed to make significant progress toward the goal of improving access to justice for all Californians, regardless of financial resources or language ability. The award will be presented by the Chief Justice at the Distinguished Service Awards in the latter part of 2016.

Thank you for your interest, and for considering a deserving judge for this prestigious award.

Very truly yours,

Hon. Ronald Taylor, Ret., Chair

Gonald Juylos

Aranda Access to Justice Award Committee

on behalf of the California Commission on Access to Justice

The California Commission on Access to Justice is seeking nominations for the Benjamin Aranda III Access to Justice Award. Presented for the first time in 1999, this annual award honors a judge or commissioner who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to improving access to our courts, and who has personally done significant work in improving access for low and moderate income Californians.

The following are past recipients of the award:

1999 – Hon. Judith McConnell, San Diego Superior Court

2000 - Hon. Veronica S. McBeth, Los Angeles Superior Court

2001 - Hon. Charles Campbell, Ventura Superior Court

2002 - Hon. Donna J. Hitchens, San Francisco Superior Court

2003 – Hon. Kenneth M. Kawaichi, Alameda Superior Court

2004 - Hon. Earl Johnson, Jr., Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District

2005 – Hon. Aviva Bobb, Los Angeles Superior Court

2006 - Hon. Donna M. Petre, Yolo Superior Court

2007 - Hon. Kathleen E. O'Leary, Court of Appeal, Fourth Appellate District

2008 – Hon. Francisco Firmat, Orange County Superior Court

2009 - Hon. Gordon Baranco, Alameda County Superior Court

2010 - Hon. Laurie D. Zelon, Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District

2011 - Hon. Maria P. Rivera, Court of Appeal, First Appellate District

2012 - Hon. Juan Ulloa, Imperial County Superior Court

2013 – Justice R. Lambden, Associate Justice, California First District Court of Appeal

2014 - Hon. Sue Alexander, Commissioner, Alameda County Superior Court

2015 – Judge Garry Ichikawa, Solano County Superior Court

Criteria for Award:

Criteria to be used in the selection of the award recipient include one or more of the following:

- Demonstrated dedication to improving access to our judicial system for low and moderate income Californians;
- Demonstrated commitment to increasing the involvement of volunteer attorneys in the representation of the indigent;
- Successful establishment of a model system for providing assistance to self-represented litigants;
- Successful establishment of a model cooperative effort with local legal services programs or bar associations designed to improve available representation for low or moderate income litigants; and
- Other significant activities demonstrating a long-term commitment to improving the accessibility of our judicial system for all Californians, regardless of income.

Nominations/Selection Process:

- Nomination forms are due Monday, April 4, 2016. One copy of the completed Nomination Form and supporting materials should be included.
- The award recipient will be selected by the California Commission on Access to Justice, in consultation with the Judicial Council, the State Bar and the California Judges Association.

For more information, contact: Louisa Ayrapetyan, Senior Administrative Assistant Office of Legal Services, The State Bar of California (415) 538-2534

NOMINATION FORM BENJAMIN ARANDA III ACCESS TO JUSTICE AWARD NOVINATIONS DEADLINE: Monday, April 4, 2014

Nominations Deadline: Monday, April 4, 2016

Please submit one copy of the nomination form and accompanying materials either by U.S. Mail or by email as a PDF file to:

Louisa Ayrapetyan
The State Bar of California
180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
louisa.ayrapetyan@calbar.ca.gov

louisa.ayrapetyan@calbar.ca.gov	
Nominee's Name:	Title/Position:
Address:	City/Zip:
Telephone Number:	Fax:
Name of Nominee's Clerk:	Phone # of Nominee's Clerk:
Please include the following supporting materials with this nomination form (Check All): Description of how the nominee meets the award criteria The nominee's resume Letters of support (up to five letters will be accepted) Three additional references	
Nominator's Name:	Court/Firm/Organization:
Address:	City/Zip:
Telephone Number:	Fax:
Nominator's Signature:	E-mail Address: