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NEWS AND NOTES

Did You Know That:

e There are 164,151 Active Members of
the State Bar of California who must
take 25 hours of approved MCLE every
three years?

e There are approximately 4,200 certified
legal specialists who must take 45 hours
of approved legal specialization
education for initial certification and 60
hours of legal specialization education
every 5 years for recertification?

Qualifying MCLE Education Programs

An MCLE education program must be directly
relevant to active members of the State Bar.
The content of the program must enhance the
member's professional ability to practice law and
be directly relevant to the member's current
knowledge of the law, including the obligations
and professional standards as a member of the
State Bar of California.

Qualifying Legal Specialization Education
Programs

A Legal Specialization education program must
enhance the member's professional ability to
practice law in the specialty area of law in which
the Legal Specialist is certified and be directly
relevant to the member's current knowledge of
the law in that specialty area. MCLE subfield
education programs, such as programs in
elimination of bias, are not approved for legal
specialization credit. However, Legal Specialists
must take MCLE subfield education programs to
meet the general MCLE requirements applicable
to all active members of the State Bar.
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Legal Specialization Has Added Two New
Areas to the 2009 Specialization Exams

For those interested in becoming a Certified
Legal Specialist, the Legal Specialist Exams
will be given on Sunday, August 9, 2009 in
San Francisco and Los Angeles.

Certification is currently offered in the following
areas of law: Appellate; Bankruptcy; Criminal;
Estate Planning, Trust & Probate; Family;
Franchise & Distribution; Immigration &
Nationality; Taxation; Workers’ Compensation.

Admiralty & Maritime Law and Legal Malpractice
Law are two new areas of specialty certification.
For information on the types of education
required under the program, on-line registration
for the exam, and lists of certified specialists,
visit www.californiaspecialist.org.

Elimination of Bias in the Legal Profession
Subfield Program

Education activities focused on the recognition,
identification, and prevention of bias in a legal
setting, such as among attorneys, a law firm, or
courtroom, may qualify for bias credit. The
activity must address diversity or bias issues in
the legal profession. A few examples of subjects
previously approved for MCLE bias credit are
the following:

e How to Address Negative Attitudes or
Comments of a Judge Toward Minority
Attorneys

e Sexism in the Field of Criminal Law

e Elimination of Bias Against Women —
Learning from History

e Diversity in the Legal Workplace

e Creating a Practice Free of Gender
Identity Bias

e Cultural Sensitivity in Global Practice

e Accommodations in the Courtroom for
Persons with Disabilities



Activities addressing bias encountered in
society in general and not specifically in the
legal profession do NOT count for MCLE credit.

December 31 is the Renewal Deadline for
Multiple Activity Providers

For those Multiple Activity Providers whose 3-
year approval period expires in 2009, the
renewal deadline is December 31, 2009, rather
than August 31 as in past renewal cycles. The
renewal application will be made available online
in November 2009.

If you were required to renew your Multiple
Activity Provider status last year (i.e. by
December 31, 2008) but have not yet done so,
please visit our website to print the Multiple
Activity Provider Renewal Application form at:
http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/certification/MCL
E-Provider-Renew.pdf.

If you have any questions, contact us at:
providers@calbar.ca.gov.

Avoid Problems with Your Multiple Activity
Provider Renewal

Distinquish Between Activities with the Same
Name

As part of your renewal application, you must
submit documentation relating to 4 separate and
different educational activities that you have
performed within the previous 2 years. If any of
your 4 activities have the same name, please
include attachments to show how these activities
are different, such as a timed agenda, and a
record of attendance for each activity with the
same name. A timed agenda should include a
breakdown of topics discussed, the amount of
time spent on each topic (plus breaks and/or
lunches), and start and end times.

Provide a Copy of the Record of Attendance -
Not Copies of the Certificates Given to
Attendees

Providers are required to keep a record of the
attorneys that attend their MCLE presentations
(see Provider Rule 3.501). You must include a
copy, not the original, of the attendance record
as one of the attachments with your provider
renewal application. Certificates of attendance
should be issued to attendees at the end of the
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educational activity and should state that the
activity is acceptable for California CLE credit.

Properly Calculate the Length of Your Programs

Scheduled breaks, rest periods, or lunch hours
do not qualify for credit. If you have a program
that starts at 1:00 p.m., ends at 4:00 p.m., and
has a 15-minute break, this is not a 3-hour class
but a 2.75-hour class.

Calculating MCLE Credit for Speakers
General Rule

A speaker receives a one-time preparation credit
equal to 4 times his or her scheduled speaking
time for the class.

Example 1

A single speaker teaches the same one-hour
class 3 times.

The speaker receives 4 hours of credit for
preparing for and teaching the class the first
time. The speaker receives 2 hours of credit for
teaching the same one-hour class two additional
times. The total is 6 hours of credit.

Multiple Speakers

If there are multiple speakers for a class, each
speaker receives a one-time preparation credit
equal to 4 times his or her scheduled speaking
time. If the speakers do not have scheduled
speaking times, each speaker receives a one-
time preparation credit equal to the length of the
class divided by the number of speakers.
Speakers receive the same credit as attendees
for the portion of the class time for which they
did not receive preparation credit.

Example 2

Three speakers teach a 3-hour class one time.
There are no scheduled speaking times.

Each speaker receives 4 hours of preparation
credit (3) hours of class time divided by 3
speakers yields 1 hour then multiplied by 4
equals 4 hours preparation time, plus 2 hours of
credit for the portion of the class that they are
not speaking, for a total of 6 hours of credit. (If
the speakers teach the same class a second
time, each speaker would receive an additional
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3 hours of credit for teaching the same class a
second time.)

Example 3

Three speakers teach a 2-hour class one time.
Speaker A is scheduled to speak for 1 hour and
Speakers B and C are each scheduled to speak
for 1/2 an hour.

Speaker A would receive 4 hours of preparation
credit plus 1 hour of credit for the portion of the
class that he or she is not speaking for a total of
5 hours of credit. Speakers B and C would each
receive 2 hours of preparation credit plus 1.5
hours of credit for the portion of the class that he
or she is not speaking for a total of 3.5 hours of
credit each. (If the speakers teach the same
class a second time, each speaker would
receive 2 hours of credit for teaching the same
class a second time.)

Moderators

A moderator who introduces other speakers
and/or performs administrative duties but does
not present substantive material does not
receive preparation credit but does receive the
same credit hours as attendees.

Notify Us in Writing When Your MCLE Contact
Information Changes

If you have:

a new address,
a new MCLE contact person,
a name change, etc.,
a telephone number change

e an email address change
notify this office in writing. A facsimile sent to
415-538-2180 or an email notice is acceptable,
but verbal notice is not acceptable. Notify us by
email at providers@calbar.ca.gov.

Know the Rules

e You must retain the record of
attendance, agenda, and any written
materials for 4 years from the date of
the presentation.

e Your certificates of attendance to each
attendee must identify any subfield,
such as Ethics, and the hours of credit
for that subfield.
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e To maintain your multiple activity
provider status, you are required to hold
a minimum of four separate and
different activities during the two years
prior to renewing your approved multiple
activity provider status.

Education Activities That Do Not Qualify for
MCLE Credit:

e Alegal subject taught to non-attorneys

e  Programs or portions of an activity designed
to teach attorneys how to improve marketing
to new clients or increase profits

e Writing for or on behalf of a client in the
regular practice of law

e  Jury duty

e Train the trainer programs or programs
designed to enhance a person's ability to
present CLE education

e Reviewing and evaluating legal work of
associates and others less experienced on a
one-on-one basis (for example, a mentor
program)

e  Grading the California bar exam

e Acting as a judge pro tem, mediator,
arbitrator or settlement judge

e Acting as a Supervising Attorney in the State
Bar Law Office Study Program

e Classes in which there is a focus directly on
a pending case by in-house providers by the
participants in the pending case

e Activities used to market or sell the
presenter's technology, products, services or
skills

e Time spent in conducting a roll call or
connecting to the teleconference

e  Chat room discussions

e  General business courses in writing ,
management, etc.

e Informal discussion groups

e  Education activities on the moral issues
facing society in general

e  Preparation for an examination for admission
to practice law in any state, the District of
Columbia, or territory of the U.S., or any
foreign jurisdiction, or for time spent actually
taking such examinations
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e Time spent in reading or studying of
published or printed material before taking a
self-assessment test

e Participating in a moot court activity

e Government Code Section 12950.1 (a) (the
law requiring training on the prohibition and
prevention of sexual harassment) courses do
not qualify for elimination of bias credit

e  Education programs on mentoring new
attorneys

Courses in Management of a Law Practice
Qualify for MCLE Credit

These courses qualify for credit if they have
significant practical content directly relevant to
members. Courses that may qualify include
docket control, malpractice avoidance,
improvement of attorney communication skills
with current clients, or improvement in the
attorney-client relationship. The course must be
related to the practice of law. General business
courses on writing or managing an office would
NOT qualify. A few examples of subjects
previously approved for MCLE credit are the
following:

e A Master Class for the New Practice
Group Leader
e Concepts of Accounting for Attorneys

Contact Us

Let us hear from you. If you have any other
guestions or concerns, visit The State Bar Web
page at: www.calbar.ca.gov. Or contact us at
providers@calbar.ca.gov.
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