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2020 Fee Waiver Application Form 
Please review the rules pertaining to available waivers of 2020 annual 
fees found in the Rules of the State Bar of California, Title 2, Division 2, 
Rule 2.16. An attorney (or the attorney’s spouse, relative, law partner or 
associate, or legal repreasentative) may apply for a waiver of payment of 
the annual fees by submitting this completed application form along with 
the specified required documentation.

2. ATTORNEY INFORMATION

State Bar Number:

Email Address (Required):

Requestor’s Name (if other than Attorney): 

Relationship to Attorney:   

3. ELIGIBLE REASONS FOR WAIVER REQUEST (Please select one)

Financial  - Per Rule 2.16(C)3(c) 
The attorney has a total gross annual household income from all sources of $20,000 or less, in which case the waiver is 
50% of annual fees, calculated excluding all other optional deductions. 
[NOTE: Total gross annual household income from all sources includes, but is not limited to, spousal income and any 
other income sources obtained outside of the practice of law. Medical hardship alone does not grant eligibility for a fee 
waiver without accompanying financial hardship.] 

Required Documentation:  Copy of 2019 Tax Return Form 1040 or 1040A and any schedules.  If no 
tax return was filed, a completed “2020 Fee Waiver Application Form Attachment A (Financial 
Declaration)” must be submitted.  

Military – Per Rule 2.16(D) 
The attorney is serving in the Army National Guard, the Army Reserve, the Naval Reserve, the Marine Corps Reserve, the 
Air National Guard of the United States, the Air Force Reserve, or the Coast Guard Reserve, provided that the attorney 
has been ordered to report to full-time active duty for more than thirty days.   

Required Documentation:  Copy of the order to report for active duty. Please underline, circle, or otherwise 
note the sections of the order that show the status as a reservist and that the attorney is called to active 
duty for at least 30 days in 2020.  

Magistrate, Commissioner, or Referee - Per Rule 2.16(C)3(a) 
The attorney serves full-time as a magistrate, commissioner, or referee for a state or federal court of record. 

Required Documentation:  Copy of the oath taken upon accepting the position. 

Sitting on Assignment – Per Rule 2.16(C)3(b) 
The attorney is a retired judge who accepts assignments from the Chief Justice of California to act in a judicial capacity. 

First Name:

Requestor’s Phone Number:

The State Bar
of California 

OFFICE OF ATTORNEY REGULATION 
& CONSUMER RESOURCES 

180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 AttorneyRegulation@calbar.ca.gov 888-800-3400 

Required Documentation:  Copy of the oath taken upon accepting the position. 

1. APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

FOR OFFICIAL STATE BAR USE ONLY 

Amt Rcvd $ 
Initials 

Continue to Page 2 for Payment and Submission Information…Page 1 of 2

Last Name:

• For the most expedited processing, submit your completed 2020 Fee Waiver Application well in advance of the February 3, 2020 deadline to
allow time for processing and for your payment submission.

• Allow several business days for State Bar staff to review your completed application. Upon approval, if you have not already provided a check
payment with your application, you will receive an email with instructions to pay your annual fees online through your My State Bar Profile at 
the reduced financial waiver rate.

• Submission of timely payment is not contingent on receipt of the confirmation email. It is your responsibility to submit a timely payment to
avoid late penalty. If you do not receive an email confirming your application approval within 2-3 business days, go to My State Bar Profile to 
verify whether your annual fees have been adjusted and submit timely payment for the balance.

• All waiver application forms, accompanied by the required documentation and any applicable payment, must be received by the State Bar by
February 3, 2020, to avoid late penalty.

• Incomplete applications will not be considered.
• The current request will apply only to the annual fees accrued during the 2020 billing cycle.
• Any annual fee waiver granted per State Bar Rule 2.16 has no effect on the attorney’s MCLE requirement.

https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx
https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx
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4. PAYMENT INFORMATION

If applying for the financial fee waiver, you must submit your completed 2020 Fee Waiver Application Form and required 
documentation and payment no later than February 3, 2020, to avoid the late penalty. After this date, even if you qualify 
for the 50% waiver, you will also owe 50% of the late penalty.  Please note:  The financial fee waiver is 50% of annual 
fees, calculated excluding all other optional deductions. See your My State Bar Profile regarding deductions.   

· Payment on or before February 3, 2020:
$295.50 without $47 deductions. If paid by credit card, $7.39 processing fee will be added.   OR    $248.50 with $47 deductions
taken. If paid by credit card, $6.21 processing fee will be added.

·

· Payment on or before February 3, 2020:
$115 without $47 deductions taken. If paid by credit card, $2.88 processing fee will be added.    OR   $68 with $47 deductions
taken. If paid by credit card, $1.70 processing fee will be added.

· Payment after February 3, 2020:
$130 without $47 deductions taken. If paid by credit card, $3.25 processing fee will be added.   OR    $83 with $47 deductions
taken. If paid by credit card, $2.08 processing fee will be added.

Inactive Status:  Applies only to those attorneys who are inactive by February 3, 2020 

Active Status: 

Signature: Date:

2020 Fee Waiver Application Form 
Page 2

Allow several business days for State Bar staff to review your completed application. Upon approval, if you have 
not already provided a check payment with your application, you will receive an email with instructions to pay your 
annual fees online through your My State Bar Profile at the reduced financial waiver rate.

Please Note: For credit and debit card payments, a non-refundable service fee of 2.5% will be added to all charges and 
collected by our credit card processor. Only debit cards capable of being run as a credit, such as Visa or MasterCard, can 
be used for payment and subject to the service fee of 2.5%. There is no processing fee associated with ACH (electronic 
check) payments.

Payment after February 3, 2020:
$345.50 without $47 deductions. If paid by credit card, $8.64 processing fee will be added.   OR    $298.50 with $47 deductions
taken. If paid by credit card, $7.46 processing fee will be added.

5. DECLARATION

6. SUBMISSION INFORMATION

Submit your completed 2020 Fee Waiver Application with required documentation by February 3, 2020  to:

EMAIL COMPLETED FORM TO: 
AttorneyRegulation@calbar.ca.gov 

OR 
FAX COMPLETED FORM TO: 

415-538-2576 OR 

MAIL COMPLETED FORM TO: 
The State Bar of California 
Attorney Regulation – Fee Waivers 
180 Howard Street 
San Francisco, CA 94105 

Submission of timely payment is not contingent on receipt of the confirmation email. It is your responsibility to submit 
a timely payment to avoid late penalty. If you do not receive an email confirming your application approval within 2-3 
business days, go to My State Bar Profile to verify whether your annual fees have been adjusted and submit timely 
payment for the balance. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and all attachments 
to it are true and correct. 

https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx
https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx
https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx
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180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 

1. ATTORNEY/REQUESTOR INFORMATION

State Bar Number:                                      First Name:

Requestor’s Name (if other than attorney): 

Email:

I am submitting this Financial Declaration in lieu of my 2019 Tax Return because: 

2. FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Explain Financial situation (use additional sheets as necessary: 

Please note that financial hardship shall not apply if the attorney's 2019 total gross annual household income from all sources exceeds $20,000 
(See Rules of the State Bar, Title Two, Rule 2.16(C)3(c)). This maximum amount has been set by the State Bar’s Board of Trustees and cannot be 
adjusted by the Attorney Regulation & Consumer Resources department. Please check the appropriate boxes below and list relevant dollar 
amounts. If no income was collected, please enter “0” in the TOTAL box below. 

1) Attorney is currently receiving financial assistance under the following programs:
a) Welfare: attach supporting documentation $ 

b) Disability: attach supporting documentation $ 

2) Attorney's 2019 total gross annual household income obtained from all other sources:
(Including, but not limited to: All employment income, spousal income,  rental income, investment income, 
unemployment benefits, social security, child support, etc.)

$ 

$ 

$ 

$ 

$TOTAL
 (from ALL sources) (If no income, enter “0”) 

3.

Attach this form and all required documentation to the 2020 Fee Waiver Application Form. 

DECLARATION
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that my total gross annual household income from all 
sources in 2019 was $20,000 or less and that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature: Date:

Relationship: 

Phone:

The State Bar
of California 

OFFICE OF ATTORNEY REGULATION 
& CONSUMER RESOURCES 

AttorneyRegulation@calbar.ca.gov 888-800-3400 

If you are requesting the waiver of 50% of your 2020 annual State Bar  
annual fees available per State Bar Rule 2.16(C)3(c) based on financial 
hardship, and you are unable to provide a copy of your 2019 tax return, 
please complete and submit this Financial Declaration with your Fee 
Waiver Application. Waiver requests and documentation may be audited.  
If you are later found ineligible, you must pay full annual fees and any 
applicable late fees.

2020 Fee Waiver Application Form - Attachment A 
Financial Declaration

FOR OFFICIAL STATE BAR USE ONLY 

Amt Rcvd $ 
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Last Name:
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