



180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

legalspec@calbar.ca.gov 415-538-2120

LEGAL SPECIALIZATION POST-EXAMINATION APPLICATION FOR INITIAL CERTIFICATION

When is my application due?

Applicants who have successfully passed the Legal Specialist Examination must submit this application by **April 24** in the year after their results were released (i.e. if passing the 2019 exam, results were released in 2020, so the application will be due April 24, 2021), or submit a request for an extension to <u>legalspec@calbar.ca.gov</u> by the due date.

The most common reason for an extension is to gain the five required years of practice in the specialty. Extensions cannot be granted beyond **January 31** in the third year after receiving results (i.e. if passing the 2019 exam, results were released in 2020, so the maximum extension date is January 31, 2023).

Have I included the correct fee?

A \$300* processing fee, payable either via check or credit card to the State Bar of California, is due with the application.

What happens if I don't fill out my application correctly?

If your application is incomplete or if any information provided is insufficient, you will receive notice to correct the deficiency. If you fail to correct the deficiency within 60 days from the date of the notice, the application shall be deemed withdrawn without a refund of the fee. We may request additional or supplemental nonconfidential information in order to show compliance with recertification requirements.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SELECTED QUESTIONS AND ATTACHMENTS

APPLICATION FORM

Personal Information

Enter your official State Bar name and address of record. This is the information that appears in State Bar Licensee Records. Use the State Bar's <u>Attorney Search</u> to verify the information is current. If the information is not current, you must update your information pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 6002.1, through <u>My State Bar Profile</u>.

San Francisco Office 180 Howard Street San Francisco, CA 94105 www.calbar.ca.gov

Los Angeles Office 845 S. Figueroa Street Los Angeles, CA 90017 Please be aware that all correspondence will be sent to you at your official address of record registered in the Applicant Portal.

Discipline

Section 3.113 of the Rules provides that the California Board of Legal Specialization may take the following into account in considering your application:

Final disciplinary actions imposed for professional misconduct by any court or body before whom you appear. Include: (1) title of disciplinary action; (2) action number; (3) nature of charge; (4) nature of sanction; (5) date sanction was imposed; and (6) date sanction was terminated. For nonattorney professional discipline (e.g., accountancy), provide information similar to above.

Felony convictions. Provide the case number, title, date of conviction, and where it was filed.

Resignation from any State Bar, court, or body before whom you appear. Provide the name of the entity, the effective resignation date, and the reason.

Judgments of professional negligence. Include only if there were three or more judgments against you during the certification term. Provide the case number, title, date judgment was rendered, and where it was filed.

Sanctions. Include only sanctions, other than discovery sanctions, of \$1,000 or more. Provide a copy of the order.

Findings of contempt. Provide a copy of the findings.

ATTACHMENTS

A. Task and Experience Requirement

Refer to the Standards for your specialty area for the specific requirements.

B. Education Requirement

Applicants are required to show proof of 45 hours of LSCLE in their specialty area, taken within the three years immediately preceding submission of this application.

C. References

When listing a reference, please include the attorney's bar number. Use the <u>Attorney Search</u> to find an attorney(s) or judge's bar number.

CHECKLIST

Have you:

- □ Read the declaration?
- □ Provided all information requested on the application and attachments?
- □ Signed and dated the application?
- □ Attached additional sheets if you needed more space?
- □ Put your name on the top of all attachments?
- □ Made copies for your records?
- □ Enclosed a check/payment information for the appropriate recertification fee*?

SUBMISSION INFORMATION

Mail to:	Fax to:
The State Bar of California	415-538-2180
Legal Specialization 180 Howard Street	
San Francisco, CA 94105	

RESOURCES

- Please refer to the Standards for your specialty area as you complete the application and attachments.
- The Rules, Standards, and list of approved legal specialization education providers are available <u>online</u> at <u>http://www.calbar.ca.gov/</u>.
- The application and payment can alternatively be submitted in the Admissions Applicant Portal (Applicant Portal) at <u>https://admissions.calbar.ca.gov</u>. **NOTE** that all California licensees already have an account on the Applicant Portal, which is separate from your login credentials for My State Bar Profile. You should not create or register a new applicant portal account. Please see our <u>Applicant Portal FAQs</u> or let us know by emailing us at <u>legalspec@calbar.ca.gov</u> if you have any questions or need assistance logging in.
- Interested applicants who have not passed a legal specialist examination should visit <u>https://www.calbar.ca.gov/Attorneys/Legal-Specialization</u> for up-to-date examination information and to review the rules and standards applicable to your specialty area.

*You may submit payment of the \$300 processing fee via check or credit card.

All unsuccessful payments will be assessed on administrative fee equal to the amount charged by the State Bar's banking institution or \$20, whichever is greater.

For credit card payments, a processing fee of 2.5 percent will be added to all charges. There is no processing fee associated with payments by check.





180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

legalspec@calbar.ca.gov 415-538-2120

POST-EXAMINATION APPLICATION FOR INITIAL CERTIFICATION Family Law Certified Specialist

Filing Fee - \$300*

*You may submit payment via check or credit card.

PERSONAL INFORMATION Name: _____ Bar Number: _____ Phone: _____ Address: City: _____ State: _____ Zip: _____ It is your responsibility to inform the Legal Specialization Unit in the Office of Admissions of any address changes. All correspondence will be sent to the current information on file in the Admissions Applicant Portal. We will update your email to the email provided below. However, you may also change your address, email and/or telephone number on your own by logging into the Admissions Applicant Portal and updating your profile. **NOTE:** The Applicant Portal is separate from your My State Bar Profile, and requires different login credentials. You should not create or register a new account. Please email Legal Specialization at legalspec@calbar.ca.gov for assistance logging into your account. Email Address: _____ POST-EXAM ELIGIBILITY I passed the Legal Specialist Examination administered in October (year). IF YOU HAVE NOT PASSED THE EXAM, STOP HERE. YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE TO APPLY.

San Francisco Office 180 Howard Street San Francisco, CA 94105 www.calbar.ca.gov

Los Angeles Office 845 S. Figueroa Street Los Angeles, CA 90017

LICENSES AND CERTIFICATIONS

List all jurisdictions in which you are licensed or have been licensed to practice law:

Jurisdiction	Bar/ID Number	Date Admitted

List any professional licenses or legal certification(s) you may have previously obtained:

Professional Organization	Professional License (i.e. CPA)	Date Licensed/Certified

PRACTICE REQUIREMENT

Check the box below that applies to your time in practice in the specialty area, adding additional documentation if requested:

- □ I have practiced law continuously for the last five years, during which I devoted an average of at least 25% of the time to practice in the specialty area.
- □ While I have had breaks in practice over the last five years, I have practiced law for at least five years, and have devoted an average of at least 25% of the time to practice in the specialty area during at least five years (Please attach a letter summarizing your time in practice, including the nature and frequency of practice in the specialty area).
- □ I have not yet practiced in the specialty area for five years, but I believe I have met the remaining requirements for certification in the specialty area, and I understand that while processing on my file will begin, certification will not take place until I have been practicing in the specialty area for at least five years for at least 25% of the time. (Please attach a letter summarizing your time in practice, including the nature and frequency of practice in the specialty area).

EMPLOYMENT HISTORY

The following is a complete statement of my employment since my admission to practice law. List most recent employment first. **ATTACH SEPARATE SHEETS IF NECESSARY.**

Check here if additional sheets are attached.

Dates of Employment	Employer	Address	Nature of Employment (summarize nature of work performed)

DISCIPLINE -

Since your admission to the State Bar of California:

Have you been disbarred, suspended or disciplined by the State Bar of California or similar attorney disciplinary authority or any other authority that imposes professional discipline in California, or in another state or jurisdiction, including a foreign jurisdiction?	Yes	No
Do you have any discipline charges pending as described above?	Yes	No
Have you had any felony convictions?	Yes	No
Did you resign from any bar, court or body before whom you appear?	Yes	No
Have there been three or more judgments of professional negligence against you? (If yes, please attach the relevant documents.)	Yes	No
Have any sanctions, other than discovery sanctions, been entered against you by any court or body before whom you appear?	Yes	No
Have any findings of contempt been made against you by any court or body before whom you appear?	Yes	No

IF YOU ANSWER YES TO ANY OF THE ABOVE, YOU MUST PROVIDE FULL DETAILS ON A SEPARATE SHEET. A record of discipline or failure to disclose any of the information requested above may constitute grounds for denial of your application.

DECLARATION

I hereby authorize all educational institutions, governmental agencies and instrumentalities (including bar associations and bar examiners of other jurisdictions), employers and business and professional associates (past and present), to release to the State Bar of California Board of Legal Specialization ("CBLS") and/or its agents or advisors any non-privileged information, files or records requested by them for the purpose of processing this application. The foregoing release does not apply to matters communicated by me in confidence to any lawyer, spouse, physician, psychotherapist or clergyperson for which I have privilege of nondisclosure under the provisions of Chapter 4, Division 8 of the California Evidence Code.

I further authorize the CBLS to conduct independent inquiry and review, including contacting the references I provide and other references within the discretion of the CBLS and agree that neither I nor my agents will seek to review the materials collected during the evaluation of my application.

I agree to pay all fees required by the CBLS, as described in the Rules of the State Bar, Appendix A: Schedule of Charges and Deadlines.

I agree to abide by all rules and regulations of the CBLS as amended from time to time and to furnish to the CBLS such information as it may require, to evaluate my application.

I am the applicant herein for certification as a specialist under the State Bar of California Program for Certifying Legal Specialists.

I fully understand that failure to make a truthful disclosure of any fact, item or information required may result in the denial of my application, revocation of my certificate of specialization, or disciplinary action by the State Bar of California.

I have carefully read and answered each question completely and truthfully in the foregoing application and any attachments hereto, and certify that the information therein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct and that this declaration is executed on:

Date:			
Print Name:	 	 	
Signature:			

FAMILY LAW CERTIFICATION Attachment A – Task and Experience Requirement

Applicant Name: ______ Bar Number: ______

The State Bar of California Board of Legal Specialization may require additional evidence of completion of the tasks and experience as indicated in this Attachment A.

1. Within the five years immediately preceding submission of this application, I have completed the tasks set forth in at least four of the following five categories: (CHECK AT LEAST FOUR OF BOXES A-E)

For purposes of sections 1.a through 1.e, principal counsel is the attorney who spends a majority of the time on a case in the activities of preparation, review, filing and representing a client at an interview or hearing.

- □ a. Principal counsel in 20 contested family law hearings involving one or more issues set forth in section 2 below, submitted to a court for a decision. (Not to be considered the same as category b.)
- □ b. Principal counsel in five hearings or trials under the California Family Code which are within the definition of family law in section 1.0 of the Standards, and which are three or more hours in length and involve testimony of witnesses. FILL IN COMPLETE INFORMATION WITH REGARD TO EACH CASE BELOW OR ATTACH A SEPARATE SHEET DETAILING THE INFORMATION **REQUESTED.**

IF YOU HAVE COMPLETED LESS THAN FIVE HEARINGS OR TRIALS, DO NOT CHECK BOX B. YOU MUST CHECK ONE OR MORE OF THE ALTERNATIVE BOXES BELOW.

	TITLE OF CASE	CASE NO.	COURT WHERE HEARD	DATE JUDGMENT ENTERED OR DATE DECISION RENDERED	ISSUES INVOLVED	LENGTH OF TRIAL
1.						
2.						
3.						
4.						
5.						

(CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE)

OR (ALTERNATIVE TASK AND EXPERIENCE – CHECK ONE OR MORE OF BOXES B.1-B.3 IF YOU HAVE NOT COMPLETED THE FIVE HEARINGS OR TRIALS AS DESCRIBED IN SECTION B ABOVE)

Other alternative tasks and experience which substantially comply with the task and experience requirement of section b above, subject to approval of the Family Law Advisory Commission, including, but not limited to:

CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOXES AND PROVIDE DETAILED INFORMATION ON A SEPARATE SHEET.

- □ b.1 Evidentiary hearings or trials in other practice areas.
- □ b.2 Sitting as *pro tem* judge or arbitrator in contested hearings or trials under the California Family Code or within the definition of family law in section 1.0 of the Standards.
- □ b.3 Successful completion of a recognized trial advocacy program. Applicants may substitute a trial advocacy skills workshop for a maximum of two trials, or a non-skills workshop for a maximum of one trial. See enclosed **Trial Advocacy Workshop Guidelines** for further information.
- □ c. Principal counsel in a minimum of 30 negotiated family law judgments or negotiated marital settlement agreements.
- □ d. Principal counsel in 30 stipulated temporary family law order.
- e. Principal counsel and principal author of the briefs in three California family law appeals in which an opinion was filed. (YOU MUST FURNISH COMPLETE INFORMATION WITH REGARD TO EACH CASE BELOW.)

	COURT OF APPEALS CASE NO. OR CITATION	TITLE OF CASE
1.		
2.		
3.		

(CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE)

2. Within the five years immediately preceding submission of this application, I have been substantially involved in the practice of family law, including actual experience in each of the following areas:

a.	Restraining orders/domestic violence proceedings	Yes	🗆 No
b.	Dissolution of marriage, legal separation, or nullity of marriage litigation	□ Yes	🗆 No
c.	Custody of children	Yes	□ No
d.	Child support	Yes	□ No
e.	Spousal support	□ Yes	□ No
f.	Modification of support	Yes	□ No
g.	Division of community property	□ Yes	□ No
h.	Confirmation of separate property	Yes	□ No
i.	Taxation issues incident to dissolution of marriage	Yes	□ No
j.	Contempt and/or enforcement proceedings	Yes	□ No
k.	Mediation and/or negotiation of family law disputes	Yes	□ No
١.	Psychological and counseling aspects of dissolution	□ Yes	□ No

OTHER EXPERIENCE

If you are unable to meet any part of the requirement above, you must submit other experience demonstrating substantial compliance with the requirements. Please describe the nature of your practice. Include detailed information regarding your experience as it relates to the foregoing requirements.

□ I am submitting alternative or additional forms of family practice for consideration in fulfilling the requirements of substantial involvement. **ATTACH SEPARATE SHEET IF NECESSARY**

TRIAL ADVOCACY WORKSHOP GUIDELINES

GUIDELINES FOR TRIAL ADVOCACY PROGRAMS THAT MAY SATISFY ONE OR TWO CONTESTED HEARINGS OF THREE HOURS OR MORE IN LENGTH

Standards for Certification and Recertification in Family Law (adopted 12/95)

Under section 2.2.2 of the Standards for certifying and recertifying family law specialists, applicants may use alternative tasks and experience in partial satisfaction of the requirement to serve "principal counsel in five(5) hearings or trials." One of those alternatives (section 2.2.2.3) is "successful completion of a recognized trial advocacy program."

A qualifying course may be substituted for two trials if it contains not only instruction, but also practice and critique for the participants in accordance with the guidelines below. A qualifying course may be substituted for one trial if the course contains only instruction, as outlined in the guidelines below. You may request credit for one of these two options (one-credit or two-credit), but not both.

The applicant/attorney must officially register and satisfactorily complete the class. Either program must be conducted by an individual or group qualified by practical or academic experience. No credit will be given for the portions of a general civil litigation trial advocacy course devoted to jury selection or voir dire.

Applicants should demonstrate in their application how the course selected meets these guidelines when requesting trial credits.

Specific guidelines follow on the next page.

I. Guidelines for trial advocacy classes that may be substituted for two trials:

- A. A skills workshop (e.g., students prepare and present portions of a mock trial and are critiqued) that has the following will qualify as a substitute for two trials under b. in the application for certification as a family law specialist:
 - 1. At 15 hours of instruction time, which shall include demonstrations with a critique following, plus at least an additional six (6) hours of actual role-playing participation by the student serving as principal counsel for a party in a mock trial;
 - 2. At least one faculty member/teacher of the program for every four students in the participatory portion of the program;
 - 3. A live presentation with no more than 25% of taped instruction; and
 - 4. Inclusion of the program must cover the following topics:
 - a. Trial preparation and use of trial notebooks, whether paper or electronic;
 - b. Use and content of a trial brief;
 - c. Motions in limine;
 - d. Use of opening statements;
 - e. Examination and cross-examination of witnesses, including experts;
 - f. Marking exhibits and introducing documentary evidence;
 - g. Foundational requirements for admissibility of evidence;
 - h. Evidence Rules and objections;
 - i. Closing argument; and
 - j. Anticipating appeal.

II. Guidelines for trial advocacy classes that may be substituted for one trial:

- A. A non-participatory skills workshop (e.g., students attend a series of lectures and demonstrations that are critiqued) may be substituted for one of the trials required in b. on the application for certification as a family law specialist if the course includes:
 - 1. At least 15 hours of instruction time, which shall include demonstrations by the instructor(s) with a critique following;
 - 2. A live presentation which has no more than 25% of taped instruction; and
 - 3. Coverage of the topics referred to in section A.4 above.

LEGAL SPECIALIST CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT FOR CERTIFICATION Attachment B – Total Educational Reporting

Applicant Name: Bar Number:

In order to satisfy the education requirement for initial certification, you must have completed at least 45 hours of education in the substantive area as described below within the three years immediately preceding submission of this application. One-half, or 22.5 hours, may be satisfied with alternative educational activities, sometimes also called non-participatory activities, in which your participation is not verified by an independent party such as the educational provider.

ON ATTACHMENT B-1*, list the educational activities pre-approved for Legal Specialist Continuing Legal Education (LSCLE) credit in the specialty area that you have attended or taught. Refer to Attachment B-1 for the type of documentation required.

ON ATTACHMENT B-2*, list the educational activities you have attended or taught that were **not** specifically approved for LSCLE credit, but were approved for MCLE credit and concern the direct legal subject matter in the specialty area. Refer to Attachment B-2 for a further explanation and the type of documentation required.

ON ATTACHMENT B-3, list any alternative educational activities that you have completed to satisfy the education requirement. Keep in mind that, with the exception of approved tapes, hours claimed for alternative educational activities are subject to approval and/or adjustment by the CBLS.

REMEMBER: Courses taken to fulfill the MCLE special topic requirements (legal ethics, substance abuse/competency, elimination of bias) CANNOT be used to satisfy the education requirement for certification unless they specifically discuss the substantive law of the specialty area.

Summarize your hours in the grid provided below.

HOURS ATTENDED OR TAUGHT** (total from B-1 + B-2)	HOURS OF ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION (total from B-3)	TOTAL (minimum of 45 hours)

SUMMARY OF EDUCATION ACTIVITIES (INCLUDING ALTERNATIVES)

*YOU MUST SUBMIT A CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE FOR EACH COURSE BEING CLAIMED ON

ATTACHMENTS B-1 & B-2. Applications received without certificates, or missing certificates, will be considered incomplete. Please note that the provider is required to give you a certificate of attendance. If you did not receive a certificate, contact the provider directly.

**You may claim four hours for each hour that you taught a new or substantially updated course.

LEGAL SPECIALIST CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT FOR CERTIFICATION Attachment B-1 – Education Approved for LSCLE Credit

Applicant Name: Bar Number:

On this attachment, list the educational activities you have attended or taught that were specifically pre-approved for legal specialist credit. Providers of approved LSCLE activities are subject to the same requirements as MCLE providers, so you should have been provided with a certificate of attendance indicating that the activity was approved for LSCLE credit and stating the number of hours of credit you received.

COPY THIS ATTACHMENT OR PROVIDE A SIMILAR TABLE IF ADDITIONAL LINES ARE NEEDED BELOW.

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED FOR EACH ACTIVITY: Certificate of attendance. The provider is required to give you a certificate of attendance. If you did not receive a certificate, contact the provider directly.

NAME OF PROGRAM SPONSOR OR APPROVED PROVIDER	NAME OF PROGRAM	HOURS ATTENDED	HOURS TAUGHT 1 st TIME*	HOURS TAUGHT REPEAT*	DATE COMPLETED

*Calculate credit for teaching as follows: Under Hours Taught First Time, record the actual number of hours of speaking time multiplied by four. On that same line, if there was also a portion of the class in which another speaker was teaching, claim actual hours for that time. If it was a repeat presentation that you have taught before with the same content, you may claim only actual speaking time. In that case, record your hours under Hours Attended.

LEGAL SPECIALIST CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT FOR CERTIFICATION Attachment B-2 – Education Approved for MCLE Credit Only

Applicant Name: ______ Bar Number: ______

On this attachment, list the educational activities you have attended that were approved for MCLE credit and specifically teaching the law of your specialty areas, but NOT specifically pre-approved for LSCLE credit. The CBLS has discretion as to whether to approve these courses.

COPY THIS ATTACHMENT OR PROVIDE A SIMILAR TABLE IF ADDITIONAL LINES ARE NEEDED BELOW.

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED FOR EACH ACTIVITY: Certificate of attendance, plus sufficient information for the CBLS to determine whether credit should be granted if the title and program sponsor do not make this clear (for example, promotional materials, a brief description of the program, course outline, list of instructors).

NAME OF PROGRAM SPONSOR OR APPROVED PROVIDER	NAME OF PROGRAM	HOURS ATTENDED	HOURS TAUGHT 1 st TIME*	HOURS TAUGHT REPEAT*	DATE COMPLETED

*Calculate credit for teaching as follows: Under Hours Taught First Time, record the actual number of hours of speaking time multiplied by four. On that same line, if there was also a portion of the class in which another speaker was teaching, claim actual hours for that time. If it was a repeat presentation that you have taught before with the same content, you may claim only actual speaking time. In that case, record your hours under Hours Attended.

LEGAL SPECIALIST CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT FOR CERTIFICATION Attachment B-3 – Alternative Education

Applicant Name: Ba	ar Number:

On this attachment, list the alternative methods you used to satisfy the LSCLE requirement. Your participation in these activities is self-verified, so the provider does not provide a certificate of attendance. Remember that no more than one-half (1/2) of your requirement can be satisfied in this manner, except for course under options 4 and 5.

Note that webinars and tapes can sometimes be participatory activities that should be reported on B-1 or B-2 if they involve some sort of independent verification of attendance, such as a test during or after the class; in this case, the provider will provide a certificate of attendance.

If you are submitting activities that require CBLS approval, please provide sufficient information to allow evaluation of the self-study. Reading of treatises on your own is generally not approved.

The CBLS may require additional information regarding alternative education activities.

	ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION	# HOURS REQUESTED
1.	Self-verified listening to and/or viewing of a complete audio or audio/visual reproduction of a program approved for legal specialist credit or MCLE credit if the subject is your substantive area of law. Such tapes must involve current law.	
	LIST THE ACTIVITIES AND HOURS REQUESTED FOR EACH ON A SEPARATE SHEET.	
2.	Self-verified participation in MCLE-approved audiovisual activities, including interactive video instruction or webinars, if the subject is your substantive area of law.	
3.	Authoring or co-authoring published articles, chapters or books in the substantive area of law. PLEASE SUBMIT A COPY OF THE MATERIALS FOR WHICH YOU ARE CLAIMING CREDIT. Credit generally will not be awarded for reading or editing.	
	The hours of credit to be allowed shall be determined by the CBLS after consideration of the amount and quality of the submitted materials. Estimate the time you spend preparing the materials, up to a maximum of half of your total educational requirement as noted above.	

(CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE)

	ALTERNATIVE EDUCATION	# HOURS REQUESTED
4.	Completion of an advanced postgraduate course at an accredited law school that includes education in your specialty, such as an LL.M.	
	The hours of credit to be allowed shall be determined by the CBLS based upon the amount and quality of professional education involved. Note that this option can be used to fully satisfy your educational requirement and it is not subject to the cap noted above.	
	NAME OF LAW SCHOOL:	
	COURSE COMPLETED:	
	DATE COMPLETED:	
5.	Teaching a course in the specialty area at an accredited law school.	
	The hours of credit to be allowed shall be determined by the CBLS based upon the amount and quality of professional education involved. If teaching a course as an adjunct or guest lecturer, claim four hours per speaking hour. If serving as the course professor, claim twelve hours per credit hour. Note that this option can be used to fully satisfy your educational requirement and it is not subject to the cap noted above.	
	NAME OF COURSE: BRIEF DESCRIPTION:	
	AUDIENCE (LAW STUDENTS, ATTORNEYS, ETC):	
	DATE COMPLETED:	

REFERENCE REQUIREMENT FOR CERTIFICATION Attachment C – Independent Inquiry and Review

Applicant Name: Bar Number:

Please submit the names of a minimum of three attorneys or judges who have had an opportunity to observe your work and who can attest to your proficiency in the practice of the specialty area under the laws applicable to the specialty in California.

To expedite your application, please include the following among your references if possible: opposing counsel, attorneys from other firms, and judges, commissioners, or magistrates before whom you have appeared. References may include attorneys who are clients, partners, associates, employers, or employees. Note, however, that references will be asked to disclose any such relationship.

References will be contacted by the State Bar of California via electronic questionnaire. The information gathered shall be the property of the State Bar of California and shall not be revealed to you.

Include each reference's California bar number to ensure that reference forms are sent promptly and to the right individual. Bar numbers can be found online at www.calbar.ca.gov under Attorney Search. If the reference does not have a California Bar number, is a judge, or licensed in another state, please provide a full address.

NAME AND BAR NUMBER	ADDRESS
1.	
2.	
3.	
4.	
5.	
6.	
7.	

LEGAL SPECIALIZATION APPLICATION Payment Authorization Form

State Bar Number:		
Applicant's Full Name:		
Mailing Address:		
Telephone:	Email:	
DESCRIPTION		FEE
□ Legal Specialization Post-Examination Application	on for Initial Certification Fee	\$300
□ Legal Specialization Application for Recertification	on Fee	\$350
	TOTAL*	
*For credit card payments, a processing fee of 2.5 p	ercent will be added to all cha	rges. There is no

All unsuccessful payments will be assessed on administrative fee equal to the amount charged by the State Bar's banking institution or \$20, whichever is greater.

This form may not be used to pay dues or other licensee fees; it may only be used to pay fees associated to the Legal Specialization program. **Please print legibly.**

Personal/Cashier's Check or Money Order (Make checks payable to The State Bar of California)

processing fee associated with payments by check.

□ Credit Card

Credit Card Number:					
Credit Card Security Code:	Expiration Date (Month/Year):				
Credit Card Type: 🛛 American Express	□ Discover	□ MasterCard	🗆 Visa		
Name on Card:					
Signature of Card Holder:		Date:			

By my signature on this document, I/we authorize the State Bar of California to charge my/our credit card account for the amount listed in the 'Total' box above.