
APPLICATION FOR RECERTIFICATION 
 
 

When is my application due? 
The application is due on or before the end of your current certification term. Applications may be 
submitted in advance but no earlier than six months prior to the end of your term. 
 
Where do I mail my application? 
Department of Legal Specialization 
State Bar of California 
180 Howard Street 
San Francisco, CA 94105-1617 
 
Have I included the correct fee? 
A $350* processing fee, payable either via check or credit card to the State Bar of California, is due with 
the application. 
 
What happens if I don’t fill out my application correctly? 
If your application is incomplete or insufficient on its face, you will receive notice to correct the deficiency. 
If you fail to correct the deficiency within 60 days from the date of the notice, the application shall be 
deemed withdrawn without a refund of the fee. We may request additional or supplemental non-
confidential information in order to show compliance with recertification requirements. 
 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR SELECTED QUESTIONS AND ATTACHMENTS 
 
Application Form 
 
Box 1.  Enter your official State Bar name and address of record. This is the information that appears in 
State Bar Membership Records. To verify that the information is current, go to www.calbar.ca.gov, 
Attorney Search. If the information is not current, you must update your information pursuant to section 
6002.1 of the B&P Code, through My State Bar Profile. 
 
Please be aware that all correspondence will be sent to you at your official address of record 
registered with the State Bar Office of Membership Records. 
 
Box 8.  Section 3.113 of the Rules provides that the Advisory Commission may take the following into 
account in considering your application: 
 
Final disciplinary actions imposed for professional misconduct by any court or body before whom you 
appear. Include: (1) title of disciplinary action; (2) action number; (3) nature of charge; (4) nature of 
sanction; (5) date sanction was imposed; and (6) date sanction was terminated. For non-attorney 
professional discipline (e.g., accountancy), provide information similar to above. 
 
Felony convictions. Provide the case number, title, date of conviction, and where it was filed. 
 
Resignation from any bar, court, or body before whom you appear. Provide the name of the entity, the 
effective resignation date, and the reason. 
 
Judgments of professional negligence. Include only if there were three or more judgments against you 
during the certification term. Provide the case number, title, date judgment was rendered, and where it 
was filed. 
 
Sanctions. Include only sanctions, other than discovery sanctions, of $1,000 or more. Provide a copy of 
the order. 
 
Findings of contempt. Provide a copy of the findings. 
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Attachments 
 
A. Task and Experience Requirement 

Refer to the Standards for your specialty area for the specific requirements. 
 

B. Education Requirement  
Note that your legal specialist education compliance is reported along with your MCLE Compliance 
Group, rather than as a part of this packet. For your convenience and benefit, this packet contains 
Attachment B in which you confirm that you are aware that you will report your compliance along with 
your reporting group, and that you know the compliance group to which you are assigned. Note that 
you must report in the MCLE Compliance Group to which you were assigned at the time of admission 
to the State Bar of California. 
 
As you are completing your education, please refer to www.californiaspecialist.org for information 
about qualifying courses and be sure to keep your certificates of attendance for at least one year from 
your compliance group reporting deadline. 
 

C. References 
When listing a reference, please include the attorney’s bar number. To find an attorney’s or judge’s 
bar number, go to www.calbar.ca.gov, Attorney Search. 

 
 
CHECKLIST 
 
Have you: 
 
 Read the declaration? 

 Provided all information requested on the application and attachments? 

 Signed and dated the application? 

 Attached additional sheets if you needed more space? 

 Put your name on the top of all attachments? 

 Made copies for your records? 

 Enclosed a check/payment information for the appropriate recertification fee*? 
 
 
RESOURCES 
 
Please refer to the Standards for your specialty area as you complete the application and attachments. 
 
The Rules, Standards, and list of approved legal specialization education providers are available online at 
www.californiaspecialist.org.  
 
 
*For credit card payments, a processing fee of 2.25% will be added to all charges. There is no processing 
fee associated with payments by check. 
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State Bar of California 

Program for Certifying Legal Specialists 

CONFIDENTIAL 

APPLICATION FOR RECERTIFICATION 
Workers’ Compensation Law 

Certified Specialist 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE.  CHECK ALL BOXES THAT APPLY. 

1. Name & Address (exactly as they appear on State Bar
membership records)

2.  Bar Number

3.  Daytime Phone Number 

4.  E-mail Address

5. I have been engaged in the practice of workers’ compensation law for at least 25% of the time spent in my
occupational endeavors during the previous five (5) years.

 Yes      No

IF NO, PLEASE EXPLAIN ON A SEPARATE SHEET AND ATTACH TO THIS APPLICATION

6. At the time of application for recertification, I am an active member of the State Bar of California.

 Yes      No

IF NO, STOP HERE.  You are not eligible to apply.
7. The following is a complete statement of my employment since my most recent application.  List most recent

employment first.  ATTACH SEPARATE SHEET IF NECESSARY.

 CHECK HERE IF ADDITIONAL SHEETS ARE ATTACHED.

Dates of 
Employment 

Employer 
Employer’s 

Address 
Nature of Employment 

(summarize nature of work performed) 

THE CALIFORNIA BOARD  
OF LEGAL SPECIALIZATION 
The State Bar of California 
180 Howard Street 
San Francisco, CA 94105-1617 
(415) 538-2120 
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8.  During the current certification term: 
   

  

a. Were you disbarred, suspended or disciplined by the State Bar of California or similar attorney 
disciplinary authority or any other authority that imposes professional discipline in California, or in 
another state or jurisdiction, including a foreign jurisdiction, or by any bankruptcy court, or do you 
have any discipline pending? 
 

 Yes       No      

b. Did you have any felony convictions? 
 

 Yes       No      

c. Did you resign form any bar, court or body before whom you appear? 
 

 Yes       No      

d. Were there three or more judgments of professional negligence against you?  (If yes, please 
attach the relevant documents.) 
 

 Yes       No      

e. Were any sanctions, other than discovery sanctions, entered against you by any court or body 
before whom you appear? 
 

 Yes       No      

f. Were any findings of contempt made against you by any court or body before whom you appear? 
 

 Yes       No      

IF YOU ANSWER YES TO ANY OF THE ABOVE, YOU MUST PROVIDE FULL DETAILS ON A 
SEPARATE SHEET.  A record of discipline or failure to disclose any of the information 
requested above may constitute grounds for denial of your application. 

  

 
DECLARATION 

 
I hereby authorize all educational institutions, governmental agencies and instrumentalities (including bar associations 
and bar examiners of other jurisdictions), employers and business and professional associates (past and present), to 
release to the State Bar of California Board of Legal Specialization (“CBLS”) and/or its agents or advisors any 
nonprivileged information, files or records requested for the purpose of processing this application. The foregoing release 
does not apply to matters communicated by me in confidence to any lawyer, spouse, physician, psychotherapist or 
clergyperson for which I have privilege of nondisclosure under the provisions of Chapter 4, Division 8 of the California 
Evidence Code. 
 
I further authorize the CBLS to conduct independent inquiry and review, including contacting the references I provide and 
other references within the discretion of the CBLS and agree that neither I nor my agents will seek to review the materials 
collected during the evaluation of my application. 
 
I agree to pay all fees required by the CBLS. 
 
I agree to abide by all rules and regulations of the CBLS as amended from time to time and to furnish to the CBLS such 
information as it may require to evaluate my application. 
 
I am the applicant herein for certification as a specialist under the State Bar of California Program for Certifying Legal 
Specialists. I fully understand that failure to make a truthful disclosure of any fact, item or information required may result 
in the denial of my application, revocation of my certificate of specialization, or disciplinary action by the State Bar of 
California. I have carefully read and answered each question completely and truthfully in the foregoing application and any 
attachments hereto, and certify that the information therein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 
 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct and that 
this declaration is executed on 
 
 
        
 DATE 
 
               
 TYPE OR PRINT NAME    SIGNATURE 
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TASK AND EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT 
ATTACHMENT A 

 
 

Applicant Name:     Bar Number:    
 
 
The Workers’ Compensation Law Advisory Commission may require additional evidence of completion of the 
tasks and experience as indicated in this Attachment A. 
 
CHECK ALL BOXES THAT APPLY 
 
Within the five years immediately preceding submission of this application, I have been substantially involved in 
the practice of workers’ compensation law and have handled matters in the following areas: 
 

 Pretrial practice and procedures 
 Trial 
 Appellate 
 Medical 
 Rating 

 
 
I have demonstrated substantial involvement by performance of the following activities: 
 

 1. 100 in combination of any of the following: 
 

a. Participation in depositions of witnesses other than physicians; 
b. Pretrial conferences; 
c. Petition for or opposition to discovery orders; 
d. Petition for removal (Labor Code section 5310) 

 
 2. 20 trials to submission of workers’ compensation cases; 

 
 3. Preparation of 5 of the following or any combination: 

 
a. petitions for reconsideration, or answers thereto; 
b. petitions for appellate proceedings, or answers thereto; 
c. amicus briefs; 
 

 4. 10 examinations of physicians by trial or deposition; 
 

OR 
 

 Other experience demonstrating substantial compliance with the foregoing requirements. (Refer to section 4.0 
of the Standards.) IF YOU CHECK THIS BOX, YOU MUST INCLUDE DETAILED INFORMATION ON A 
SEPARATE SHEET. 
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*NEW EDUCATION REPORTING SCHEDULE 
ATTACHMENT B 

 
 

Applicant Name:     Bar Number:    
 
 
The Legal Specialist Education requirement is no longer reported in the recertification application. Attorneys 
now report their Legal Specialist Education by submitting a Legal Specialization Education Compliance Card. The 
Compliance Card can be found online at www.californiaspecialist.org under the forms section. 
 
Specialists are required to complete a total of 36-hours of approved education every three years. Compliance Groups 
and reporting deadlines are listed below: 
 
 Compliance Group 1 (Last Name A-G at the time of Admission to the State Bar) 2/1/2019 
 Compliance Group 2 (Last Name H-M at the time of Admission to the State Bar) 2/1/2021 
 Compliance Group 3 (Last Name N-Z at the time of Admission to the State Bar) 2/1/2020 
 
 
Some FAQs about this process: 
 
Does the education reporting period affect my recertification deadline? 
No. You will still be due to recertify every five (5) years. Please do not submit a compliance card with your 
recertification application, if you have already submitted a compliance card or if you are not due to report your Legal 
Specialist Education. 
 
How do I submit my Legal Specialist Education Compliance Card? 
Once you have completed and signed the Legal Specialist Education Compliance Card, you can submit it to the 
Department of Legal Specialization either via mail, fax or e-mail. 
 
Isn’t reporting my Legal Specialist Education the same as reporting my MCLE compliance? 
No. Your Legal Specialist Education is reported on a compliance card, and your MCLE compliance is reported online 
on My State Bar Profile. 
 
What if I am certified in more than one specialty? 
During your compliance period, you will need to submit a Legal Specialization Education Compliance Card for each 
specialty. For example, if you are a dual specialist, you will have to submit a compliance card for each area of law in 
which you are a specialist. 
 
Can I submit my compliance card before my Compliance Group is due to report? 
No. Compliance cards will only be accepted for the Compliance Group due to report. Any other compliance cards sent 
to the Department of Legal Specialization will not be marked as received. 
 
How do I report my education if I was certified after they compliance group period? 
You will have a reduced and proportional educational requirement. You will have to report at least 1 hour for each 
month that you were certified. For example, if your compliance period is from February 1, 2016-January 31, 2019 and 
you were certified in September 2018, you would have to report at least 5 hours of legal specialist education. 
 
Do I need to send in my certificates of attendance? 
No. Please save them for one year after you report your education compliance in the event that you are audited. 
 
 
For more information, visit the MCLE Requirements for Certified Specialists page on www.californiaspecialist.org for 
full details, as well as potentially qualifying MCLE substitutions.  
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INDEPENDENT INQUIRY AND REVIEW 
ATTACHMENT C 

 
 

Applicant Name:     Bar Number:    
 
 
Please submit the names of a minimum of three attorneys or judges who have had an opportunity to observe your 
work and who can attest to your proficiency in the practice of the specialty area under the laws applicable to the 
specialty in California.  
 
To expedite your application, please include the following among your references if possible: opposing counsel, 
attorneys from other firms, and judges, commissioners or magistrates before whom you have appeared. References 
may include attorneys who are clients, partners, associates, employers or employees. Note, however, that references 
will be asked to disclose any such relationship.  
 
References will be contacted by the State Bar of California via questionnaire. The information gathered shall be the 
property of the State Bar of California and shall not be revealed to you.  
 
Include each reference’s California bar membership number to insure that reference forms are sent promptly and to 
the right individual. Bar numbers can be found online at www.calbar.ca.gov under Attorney Search. If the attorney does 
not have a California Bar number or is a judge, please provide a full address. 
 
 

 
NAME AND BAR NUMBER 

 
ADDRESS 

1. 
 
 
 
 

 

2. 
 
 
 
 

 

3. 
 
 
 
 

 

4. 
 
 
 
 

 

5. 
 
 
 
 

 

6. 
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CALIFORNIA BOARD OF LEGAL SPECIALIZATION 
OF THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA 
 

180 HOWARD STREET 
SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA 94105-1617 
TELEPHONE: (415) 538-2120 
FAX: (415) 538-2180 
E-MAIL: legalspec@calbar.ca.gov 
WEBSITE: www.californiaspecialist.org 
 

Legal Specialization Recertification Application 
Credit Card Authorization Form 

 
 

Attorney Name:      Bar Number:        
 
Address:          
 
City, State, Zip:         
 
Telephone:           E-mail Address:         
 
 

DESCRIPTION FEE 

Legal Specialization Recertification Application Fee $350 

Credit Card Payment Processing Fee* (2.25%) $7.88 

TOTAL $357.88 

 
 
*For credit card payments, a processing fee of 2.25% will be added to all charges. There is no processing fee associated 
with payments by check. 
 
This form may not be used to pay dues or other attorney fees; it only may be used to pay fees related to Legal 
Specialization. Please print legibly. 

 
 

 
 
Credit Card Number:              
 
Credit Card Security Code:       Expiration Date (Month/Year)        
 
Credit Card Type:  Visa  MasterCard  Discover       American Express      
 
Name on Card:           
 
Signature of Card Holder:      Date:       
      
 
By my signature on this document, I/we hereby authorize The State Bar of California to charge my/our Visa, 
MasterCard, Discover, or American Express account for the amount listed in the ‘Total’ box above. 
 

SUBMISSION INFORMATION 

 
MAIL TO: 
The State Bar of California 
Department of Legal Specialization 
180 Howard Street 
San Francisco, CA 94105 

 
 
 
OR 

 
FAX TO: 
 
(415) 538-2180 
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