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2014 Fee Waiver Application Form 
Please review the rules pertaining to available waivers of 2014 membership fees found in the Rules of the State Bar 
of California, Title 2, Division 2, Rule 2.16.  A member (or the member’s spouse, relative, law partner or associate, or 
legal representative) may apply for a waiver of payment of the member’s annual membership fees by submitting this 
completed application form along with the specified required documentation. 

All waiver application forms, accompanied by the required documentation and any applicable payment, must be 
received by The State Bar by February 3, 2014, to be considered for this membership year.  Incomplete applications 
will not be considered.  The current request will apply only to the membership fees accrued during the 2014 billing 
cycle.  Any membership fee waiver granted per State Bar Rule 2.16 has no effect on the member’s MCLE 
requirement. 

Member Information: 

Bar Number: ____________________ Name: __________________________________________________________ 

Requestor’s Name (if other than Member): ______________________________________________________________ 

Relationship to Member: ___________________________________ Requestor’s Phone Number: __________________ 

Eligible Reasons for Waiver Request  (Please select one): 

Financial  - Per Rule 2.16(C)3(c)
The member has a total gross annual household income from all sources of $20,000 or less, in which case the 
waiver is 50% of annual membership fees, calculated excluding all other optional deductions.  Send 
appropriate payment with your completed application by February 3, 2014, to avoid late penalties. See Attachment A 
for payment information.   
[NOTE: Total gross annual household income from all sources includes, but is not limited to, spousal 
income and any other income sources obtained outside of the practice of law.  Medical hardship alone does not grant 
eligibility for a fee waiver without accompanying financial hardship.] 

Required Documentation:  Copy of 2013 Tax Return Form 1040 or 1040A and any schedules.  If no tax 
return was filed, a completed “2014 Fee Waiver Application Form Attachment B (Financial Declaration)” must 
be submitted.  

Military – Per Rule 2.16(D)
The member is serving in the Army National Guard, the Army Reserve, the Naval Reserve, the Marine Corps 
Reserve, the Air National Guard of the United States, the Air Force Reserve, or the Coast Guard Reserve, provided 
that the member has been ordered to report to full-time active duty for more than thirty days.   
 Required Documentation:  Copy of the order to report for active duty.  Please underline, circle, or 
 otherwise note the sections of the order that show the status as a reservist and that the member is called to  
 active duty for at least 30 days in 2014.  

Magistrate, Commissioner, or Referee - Per Rule 2.16(C)3(a)
The member serves full-time as a magistrate, commissioner, or referee for a state or federal court of record. 
 Required Documentation:  Copy of the oath taken upon accepting the position. 

Sitting on Assignment – Per Rule 2.16(C)3(b)
The member is a retired judge who accepts assignments from the Chief Justice of California to act in a  
judicial capacity at least 90% of the calendar year. 
 Required Documentation:  Copy of the oath taken upon accepting the position. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and all attachments to it 
are true and correct. 

____________________________________________________ ___________________________________ 
Signature        Date
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2014 Fee Waiver Application - Attachment A 
Payment Information / Credit Card Authorization Form 
If applying for the financial fee waiver, send applicable payment with your completed 2014 Fee Waiver Application Form 
and required documentation postmarked no later than February 3, 2014, to avoid the late penalty.  After this date, even if 
you qualify for the 50% waiver, you will also owe 50% of the late penalty.  Please note:  The financial fee waiver is 50% of 
annual membership fees, calculated excluding all other optional deductions.  See fee statement regarding deductions.  If 
taking deductions, please indicate on the payment coupon.   

Active Status:   
· Payment on or before February 3, 2014:  

Ø $230 without optional deductions taken OR $190 with all optional deductions totalling $40 taken 
· Payment after February 3, 2014:  

Ø $280 without optional deductions taken OR $240 with all optional deductions totalling $40 taken 

Inactive Status:  Applies only to those members who are inactive by February 3, 2014 
· Payment on or before February 3, 2014: 

Ø $92.50 without optional deductions taken OR $52.50 with all optional deductions totalling $40 taken 
· Payment after February 3, 2014: 

Ø $107.50 without optional deductions taken OR $67.50 with all optional deductions totalling $40 taken  

PAYMENT INFORMATION 

Member Name:        Member Number: 

  Pay by Check:  Enclosed is my check, payable to the State Bar of California.  

  Pay By Credit Card    Visa   MasterCard (Note: The State Bar accepts only Visa and MasterCard)

  Card #:             -        -  -  Expiration Date (MM/YY):             / 

  Name on Card: 

  Billing Address: 

 
 
Amount $ 

By my signature below, I hereby authorize The State Bar of California to charge this Visa or MasterCard account for  
membership fees, as listed above. 

Signature:         Date: 

 
MAIL FORM TO:               FAX FORM TO:             EMAIL FORM TO: 
 

The State Bar of California      OR             (415) 538-2361  OR           MBSEMAIL@calbar.ca.gov  
Membership Billing 
180 Howard Street 
San Francisco, CA 94105 

Attach this form and all required documentation to the 2014 Fee Waiver Application Form. 
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2014 Fee Waiver Application Form - Attachment B
Financial Declaration
If you are requesting the waiver of 50% of your 2014 annual State Bar membership fees available per State Bar Rule 
2.16(C)3(c) based on poor financial condition, and you are unable to provide a copy of your 2013 tax return, please 
complete and submit this Financial Declaration with your Fee Waiver Application.  Waiver requests and documentation 
may be audited.  If you are later found ineligible, you must pay full membership fees and any applicable late fees.

1) MEMBER/REQUESTOR INFORMATION

Member Name:  Member Number:

Requestor’s Name (if other than member): Relationship:

E-mail:  Phone:

I am submitting this Financial Declaration in lieu of my 2013 Tax Return because:

 
2) FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Explain Financial situation (use additional sheets as necessary:

 
 
 

Please note that poor financial condition shall not apply if the member’s 2013 total gross annual household income from 
all sources exceeds $20,000 (See Rules of the State Bar, Title Two, Rule 2.16(C)3(c)).  This maximum amount has 
been set by the State Bar’s Board of Trustees and cannot be adjusted by the Member Services Center.  Please 
check the appropriate boxes below and list relevant dollar amounts.  If no income was collected, please enter “0” in the 
TOTAL box below.

1) Member is currently receiving financial assistance under the following programs:

  a) Welfare: attach supporting documentation  $

  b) Disability: attach supporting documentation $

2) Member’s 2013 total gross annual household income obtained from all other sources:
(Including, but not limited to: All employment income, spousal income, rental income, investment 
income, unemployment benefits, social security, child support, etc.)

 $

        _ $ ________________________ 

  $

$

 TOTAL $
        (from ALL sources)  (If no income, enter “0”)

3) DECLARATION

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that my total gross annual household income 
from all sources in 2013 was $20,000 or less and that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature: Date:

Attach this form and all required documentation to the 2014 Fee Waiver Application Form.

For Official Use Only
2014          FD

 
 

RCVD$ ___________   Staff:____


	2014 Fee Waiver Application Form
	Member Information:
	Eligible Reasons for Waiver Request  (Please select one):

	2014 Fee Waiver Application - Attachment A
	Payment Information / Credit Card Authorization Form

	CheckBox.1584: Off
	CheckBox.2496: Off
	CheckBox.3117: Off
	CheckBox.3386: Off
	CheckBox.5558: Off
	CheckBox.5659: Off
	CheckBox.5702: Off
	CheckBox.5728: Off
	CheckBox.5558: Off
	CheckBox.5659: Off
	CheckBox.5702: Off
	CheckBox.5728: Off
	Bar Number: 
	Name: 
	Requestors Name if other than Member: 
	Relationship to Member: 
	Requestors Phone Number: 
	Member Name: 
	Member Number: 
	Name on Card: 
	Billing Address 1: 
	Billing Address 2: 
	Amount: 
	Date_2: 
	Member Name_2: 
	Member Number_2: 
	Requestors Name if other than member: 
	Relationship: 
	Email: 
	Phone: 
	Date_3: 
	Date_1: 
	Card 1: 
	Card 2: 
	Card 3: 
	Card 4: 
	Exp 1: 
	Exp 2: 
	Reason for submitting Financial Declaration Line 1: 
	Reason for submitting Financial Declaration Line 2: 
	Explain Financial Situation Line 1: 
	Explain Financial Situation Line 2: 
	Explain Financial Situation Line 3: 
	Financial Assistance Option 1: Off
	Financial Assistance Option 2: Off
	Welfare Assistance Amount: 
	Disability Asistance Amount: 
	Total: 
	Enter other household income source 1: 
	Enter other household income source 2: 
	Enter other household income source 3: 
	Enter other household income source 4: 
	Other Income Amount 1: 
	Other Income Amount 2: 
	Other Income Amount 3: 
	Other Income Amount 4: 


