
The State Bar of California 

2016 Fee Scaling 

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers (FAQs) 

 

· What are the criteria for fee scaling? 

Any active member who can demonstrate total gross annual individual income from all sources of less 
than $40,000 may qualify for a 25 percent reduction in his or her annual membership fee.  

The State Bar may conduct a random audit of scaling applications during the billing year and applicants 
may be required to submit tax forms and other proof of financial condition.  

· How do I determine my total gross annual individual income? 

Calculate your total gross annual individual income for 2015 using your W-2’s, 1099’s, and any other 
source of gross income that would be included in your federal tax return.  For example, if you use Schedule 
C to calculate profit or loss from your business, then the gross income amount on line 7 would be included 
in your total gross annual individual income.    

· Could my spouse’s income affect my eligibility for fee scaling? 

It depends.  Do not include your spouse’s wages and salary in the calculation of your total gross annual 
individual income.  However, you must include 50 percent of any joint income (interest, dividends, 
business income, rent and royalties, for example) when determining your total gross annual individual 
income.   

· Can I qualify for fee scaling if I’m on inactive status for part of 2016? 

You must be on active status as of February 1, 2016 to qualify for fee scaling. 

· What is the deadline for scaling? 

Payment must be received by the State Bar of California or U.S. postmarked no later than February 1, 2016 
to qualify under the fee scaling criteria.     

· Do I need to sign a fee scaling declaration? 

The fee scaling declaration is included online for members who pay using My State Bar Profile.  Any 
other form of payment will require that a printed, signed declaration be received by the State Bar of 
California or U.S. postmarked no later than February 1, 2016.  (The form can be found on the State Bar’s 
web site.  Go to Member Services, then to Forms – listed under Member Services). 

Payment of appropriate annual fees must be included with the signed fee scaling declaration and received 
by the State Bar of California or U.S. postmarked no later than February 1, 2016.  If payment and the 
signed fee scaling declaration are received and U.S. postmarked February 2, 2016 or later, then the member 
owes the full active fee plus a late payment penalty.   

If you have any additional questions, please call the Member Services Center at 1-888-800-3400. 

https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx
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