
Attorney’s Request for Arbitration of a Fee Dispute

Mail this form and filing fee to:  The State Bar of California
 Mandatory Fee Arbitration
        180 Howard Street

         San Francisco, CA 94105-1639
             Telephone: (415) 538-2020

Please print or type.

1. (a) Attorney:   (b) Client:

_____________________________________            _________________________________________
Name    Name

_____________________________________            _________________________________________
P. O. Box or Street Address    P.O. Box or Street Address

_____________________________________            _________________________________________ 
City                              State              Zip Code                             City                              State              Zip Code         

____________________________________________           _____________________________________________
Area Code              Telephone Number                                 Area Code              Telephone Number

2.   If you are -or will be- represented by an attorney in the arbitration, please provide the attorney’s
     name, address, and telephone number:

_____________________________________             ________________________________________  
Name     City                               State                            Zip Code

____________________________________________                ________________________________________________

P.O. Box or Street Address     Area Code                    Telephone Number

3.   What county were most of the legal services provided in? ________________________

4.   (a) When did the legal services begin? ________/______/________
  Month         Date            Year

       (b)  When did the legal services end? _______/______/_________
  Month         Date            Year

5.   What type of case is involved in the dispute (divorce, criminal, etc.)?     _______________________

6.   Do you have a written fee agreement with the client? (If yes, attach a copy)  � Yes           � No

7.   (a) Did you give the client a written notice of their right to arbitration?  � Yes          
� No

(If yes, attach a copy of the Notice)
________/______/________

      (b) If yes, when was the Notice served?   Month          Date Year   

8.   Have you filed a lawsuit against the client to collect the fees? � Yes           � No

9.   If you have filed a lawsuit, has the client answered it? � Yes           � No
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10. Were the fees ordered by the court or set by law? � Yes           � No
        (If yes, explain on a separate sheet)

11. What are your reasons for using the State Bar instead of a local bar to arbitrate your dispute?
      _________________________________________________________________________________
      _________________________________________________________________________________
      _________________________________________________________________________________

12. What is the total amount of the fee charged? $_________________ 

13. How much of the fee has the client paid? $_________________

14. How much of the fee is in dispute? $_________________

15. Filing fee: (5% of the disputed amount shown on line 14, with a minimum
      fee of $50.00 and a maximum fee of $3,500.00).  Make your check or
      money order payable to the State Bar of California.  Do not send cash. $_________________

16. Please give a description of the fee dispute.  Attach additional sheets if necessary._______________
      _________________________________________________________________________________
      _________________________________________________________________________________
 
17. If the fee dispute is for less than $10,000, it is heard by one (1) arbitrator.  If it is for $10,000 or
      more, the dispute is heard by three (3) arbitrators.  If both you and the client agree, you can have the
      dispute heard by one (1) arbitrator even if the dispute is for $10,000 or more.

Do you agree to one arbitrator? � Yes           � No

18. Unless both you and the client agreed in writing to BINDING ARBITRATION, this arbitration is
      NON-BINDING.  This means that if you or the client are not satisfied with the award, either of you
      has the right to ask for a new trial in a civil court within thirty (30) days from the date the award is
      mailed to you.  If neither of you ask for a new trial within thirty (30) days, the award automatically
      becomes final and binding on both of you.

Do you agree to binding arbitration? � Yes           � No

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that my statements on this
request and any attachments are true and correct.

___________________________________________________                  ________________________ 
Attorney’s signature Date


