APPENDIX C

THE STATE BAR INTER-OFFICE

OF CALIFORNIA COMMUNICATION
DATE: November 7, 2005
TO: Members of the Board Committee on Regulation,

Admissions and Discipline Oversight
FROM: Scott J. Drexel, Chief Trial Counsel

SUBJECT: Proposed Amendmentsto the California Rules of Court Regarding
Permanent Disbarment, Minimum Waiting Period for Reinstatement
and Passage of the Attorney’s Bar Examination -- Request for
Release for 90-Day Public Comment Period

ISSUE

The issue presented by this agendaitem is whether the Board Committee on Regulation,
Admissions & Discipline Oversight (“RAD Committee”) should authorize the rel ease of proposed
amendments to the California Rules of Court (“Rules of Court”), in the form attached hereto as
Appendix A, for a90-day public comment period. The proposed amendments to the Rules of Court
would (1) provide for the permanent disbarment of members found culpable of specified types of
misconduct; (2) increase the minimum waiting period for seeking reinstatement following resignation or
non-permanent disbarment from five years to seven years; and (3) require an individual seeking
reinstatement to the practice of law following resignation or non-permanent disbarment to take and pass
the Attorney Bar Examination in order to demonstrate his or her present learning and ability in the
genera law.

RECOMMENDATION
The Office of the Chief Trial Counsal recommends that you authorize the publication of the

proposed amendments to the California Rules of Court, in the form attached hereto as Appendix A, for a
90-day public comment period.
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DISCUSSION

A. Background

Although the Supreme Court has previously held that disbarment is not necessarily permanent,* it
has also consistently held that maintaining public protection, the integrity of the profession, and the
administration of justice are primary goals of the disciplinary system. Individual rehabilitation isagoa,
but not the exclusive goal of the system.?

In 1996, the Board of Governors adopted proposed amendments to the Rules of Procedure that
would have required the State Bar Court, in any decision recommending disbarment, to specify whether
the minimum waiting period for seeking reinstatement should be five years or ten years or, alternatively,
whether the member should be permanently prohibited from seeking reinstatement. The proposed
amendments to the Rules of Procedure required the State Bar Court to weigh various factorsin
determining whether permanent disbarment or afive or ten-year waiting period should be imposed.®
The amendments also increased the minimum waiting period for seeking reinstatement following a
resignation with disciplinary charges pending from five years to ten years in those cases in which there
was a pending criminal investigation or proceeding for afelony involving moral turpitude that would
have qualified for summary disbarment pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 6102,
subdivision (c). Finaly, the amendments to the Rules of Procedure adopted by the Board of Governors
in 1996 required reinstatement petitioners to take and pass the Attorney Bar Examination as the required
means of demonstrating their present learning and ability in the general law.

In September 1996, shortly after the amendments to the Rules of Procedure were adopted, the
California Supreme Court requested that implementation of the amendments be suspended under further
order of the Court. Thereafter, in 1997 and 1999, at the Supreme Court’ s request, the State Bar provided
the Court with additional background information about its proposal and about the practice in other
states. In November 2001, the State Bar formally withdrew its proL.)osaI for reconsideration in light of
the Supreme Court’s opinionsin In re Paguirigan (2001) 25 Cal.4" 1 and In re Lesansky (2001) 25
Cal.4M 11 regarding the summary disbarment statute.

1 SeelnreTreadwell (1896) 114 Cal. 24, 26; In re Andreani (1939) 14 Cal.2d 736, 748-749; Maggart v. Sate Bar (1946)
29 Cal.2d 439, 442-443.

2 Seelnre Stevens (1925) 197 Cal. 408, 424; In re Andreani, supra, 14 Cal.2d at pp. 748-749; Maggart v. State Bar, supra,
29 Cal.2d at p. 442; Hippard v. Sate Bar (1989) 49 Cal.3d 1084.

® Thefactorsto be considered by the State Bar Court in determining whether to recommend a five-year or ten-year waiting
period or permanent disbarment included (&) the nature of the underlying misconduct; (b) the member’s prior record of
discipline; (c) the likelihood of the member’ s rehabilitation; (d) the existence of aggravating or mitigating circumstances
surrounding the underlying misconduct; (€) the protection of the public, the courts and the legal profession; and (f) the length
of any interim suspension following criminal conviction.
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In May 2005, the Supreme Court asked the State Bar to further consider its permanent disbarment
and other rule change recommendations and to provide the Court with atimeline for the submission of
its updated information and proposal to the Supreme Court.

B. TheCurrent Proposal

At the request of Executive Director Judy Johnson, aworking group consisting of representatives of
the Office of General Counsel, the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel and the State Bar Court”, met to
consider atimeline for submitting a proposal to the Supreme Court and to further consider the proposed
amendments to the Rules of Procedure previously approved by the Board of Governorsin 1996.

The proposed timeline devel oped by the working group anticipated the release of proposed rules for
a 90-day public comment period in October 2005, consideration of that public comment and the rules by
the RAD Committee in late January or early February 2006, consideration of the proposed rules by the
Board of Governorsin March 2006 and transmittal to the Supreme Court shortly thereafter.

The members of the permanent disbarment working group developed the concept for the proposed
amendments to the California Rules of Court, in the form attached as Appendix A, following a careful
evaluation of the prior proposed amendments and information regarding permanent disbarment in other
jurisdictions. The rationale for the working group’s proposal is set forth below:

1. Increasing the Minimum Waiting Period from Five Yearsto Seven Years

Historically, the requirement of a specific waiting period before a reinstatement petition can be
filed has not been established by the Supreme Court. Rather, such minimum waiting periods have been
defined by the Board of Governors through the Rules of Procedure.

In 1928, atwo-year waiting period for a renewed petition following an adverse decision was set
forth in the Rules of Procedure. No time limit for an original petition was mentioned in therules. In
1943, the Board of Governors, by Rule of Procedure, established atwo-year waiting period for a
disbarred attorney’sinitial petition for reinstatement. In 1947, the Board of Governors amended former
rule 54 to require a minimum waiting period of five years following the attorney’ s disbarment unless the
Board, in its discretion, shortened the waiting period to not less than two years. In 1980, the Board of
Governors further amended this rule to limit its discretion to shorten the waiting period to not less than
three years following the attorney’ s disbarment. 1n 1992, the discretion to shorten time for filing a
petition for reinstatement was transferred from the Board Committee on Discipline & Client Assistance
to the State Bar Court, but the applicable waiting periods remained the same. Effective January 1, 1995,
rule 662 of the Rules of Procedure was amended to eliminate the discretionary three-year filing period.

* Although George Scott, the Acting Administrative Officer/Chief Court Counsel of the State Bar Court, participated in the
deliberations of the working group, he emphasized and it was clear to everyone, that he was not speaking on behalf of the
Judges of the State Bar Court and that the views he may have expressed during the course of the working group’s
deliberations did not necessarily reflect the views of the State Bar Court Judges.
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Thereafter, rule 662 provided that for a minimum five-year waiting period following disbarment or
resignation with no discretion to shorten the waiting period.

The burden of proof on areinstatement petitioner is aheavy one. The petitioner bears the burden
of proving, by clear and convincing evidence, that he or she meets al of the requirements for
readmission, including rehabilitation. (Hippard v. Sate Bar (1989) 49 Cal.3d 1089, 1091-1092;
Calaway v. Sate Bar (1986) 41 Cal.3d 743, 745.) Although the petitioner need not demonstrate
perfection, “overwhelming proof of reform” is necessary. (Feinsteinv. Sate Bar (1952) 39 Cal.2d 541,
546.) A petitioner seeking reinstatement is required to present stronger proof of his or her present
honesty and integrity than a person seeking admission for the first time whose character has never been
in question. In determining whether the burden has been met, the evidence of present character must be
considered in light of the moral shortcomings that resulted in the petitioner’ s disbarment or resignation
with disciplinary charges pending. (Tardiff v. Sate Bar (1980) 27 Cal.3d 395, 403; Roth v. Sate Bar
(1953) 40 Cal.2d 307, 313.) In the reinstatement proceeding, the petitioner must be able to show, by
sustained exemplary conduct over an extended period of time, that he or she has reattained the standard
of fitnessto practicelaw. (Inre Giddens (1981) 30 Cal.3d 110, 116; In re Petty (1981) 29 Cal.3d 356,
362.)

An examination of the results of reinstatement proceedings filed since January 1, 1990, clearly
demonstrates that the vast majority of petitioners who seek reinstatement at or shortly after the
expiration of the minimum waiting period (i.e., five years) are unable to make the requisite showing of
rehabilitation, fitness to practice law and present learning and ability in the general law. The following
table graphically demonstrates the issue:

Time Since Disbarment/Resignation Reinstatement Granted Reinstatement Denied
Lessthan 7 Years 30 (33.3%) 60 (66.7%)
7 Yearsor More 42 (50.1%) 41 (49.9%)

Extending the minimum waiting period for seeking reinstatement from five years to seven years
will provide petitioners with additional time within which to establish and demonstrate adequate
rehabilitation from their prior acts of misconduct. The extended waiting period may aso reduce the the
number of casesin which a petitioner isinitially denied reinstatement and, as aresult, must file and
adjudicate a subsequent reinstatement proceeding.

2. Specifying Groundsfor Permanent Disbar ment

The rehabilitation of errant attorneysis a beneficial and noble goal. However, rehabilitation, in
the attorney discipline context, pertains to two distinct occurrences. (1) the extent to which an
individual redirects his or her future personal conduct away from his or her past misconduct; and (2) the
extent to which an individual has re-established the confidence, trust and fidelity of the profession he or
she denigrated by the earlier disregard of his or her professional responsibilities.
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Permanent disbarment recognizes that the most serious misconduct by an attorney pervasively
undermines confidence not only in that attorney, but also in the legal profession and in the
administration of justice. The personal rehabilitation of an individua does not address the taint upon
the profession and the administration of justice left by the most egregious misdeeds of an attorney. The
full restoration of an individual to the practice of law who has so abused that status as to diminish the
integrity of the profession in the minds of the public, only confirmsto the public that public protection is
not a serious priority of the attorney discipline system.

An attorney can achieve full and complete personal rehabilitation without restoration to the
profession. When an attorney has committed the most serious offenses, permanent disbarment should be
available, not as a punitive measure, but as recognition that the injury inflicted upon the profession by
such serious misdeedsisirreparable. While the individual may have overcome the errors of his or her
individual ways, the profession subscribes to a higher standard in protecting the public and preserving
the integrity of the administration of justice.

Unlike the prior proposa adopted by the Board of Governors, which merely established alist of
factors to be considered in determining whether permanent disbarment was warranted, the current
proposed amendments to rule 662 of the Rules of Procedure identifies specific offenses that should
result in permanent disbarment. These offenses either involve convictions of serious crimes against
individuals or conduct related to the practice of law that strike at the heart of the legal profession and the
administration of justice and demonstrate a lack of respect for the judicial system or the manifest
unfitness of the individual to practice law. Those offenses are as follows:

@ conviction of murder in thefirst or second degree;

(b) conviction of afelony involving rape, child molestation or the commission of alewd act or an act
of substantial sexual conduct with a child under the age of fourteen;

(© conviction of mayhem or of another felony involving the personal infliction of great bodily
injury on another person;

(d) conviction of kidnapping;
(e conviction of arson of an inhabited structure or inhabited property or of the taking of the property
of another by means of force or fear, including but not limited to, robbery and carjacking, with

the use of afirearm or other weapon;

()] conviction of acrimeinvolving malfeasance in public office which involved fraud or the
embezzlement or intentional misuse of public funds;

(9) engaging in multiple instances of the intentional theft or conversion of client funds, resulting in
substantial harm to one or more victims;
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(h) engaging in the intentional corruption of the judicial process, including but not limited to,
bribery, forgery, perjury or subornation of perjury;

) engaging in multiple instances of insurance fraud committed in the course of the practice of law,
including but not limited to, staged accidents, the submission of false or fraudulent claims for the
payment of aloss or injury or repeated instances of runner-based solicitation;

) engaging in the unauthorized practice of law when the member knew of his or her disbarment,
resignation or suspension from practice;

(k) the member was previously disbarred or resigned with disciplinary charges pending; and

() engaging in conduct, involving fraud, moral turpitude or a pattern of serious misconduct that is
S0 egregious that the member should be permanently disbarred.

Among the advantages of the more specific identification of offenses that would warrant
permanent disbarment is consistency in application. The prior permanent disbarment proposal could
potentially result in uneven application of the identified factors, with one State Bar Court judge
recommending permanent disbarment for an offense that another State Bar Court judge determines
warrants only aten-year or even afive-year reinstatement waiting period.

More importantly, with one exception (i.e., a second disbarment), each of the offenses set forth
above as warranting permanent disbarment involve either direct, serious harm to clients or the
administration of justice or, dternatively, involve extremely serious criminal conduct. It seriously
undermines the public trust in the integrity of the courts and the legal profession when individuals who
have committed such egregious acts are permitted to return to the practice of law.

3. Requiring Passage of the Attorney Bar Examination

In order to be reinstated to the practice of law, adisbarred or resigned attorney must demonstrate,
among other things, that he or she has present learning and ability in the general law. The Supreme
Court has never specified how much current knowledge of the law is required for reinstatement. (See
Calaway v. Sate Bar, supra, 41 Cal.3d at p. 756 (dis. opin. of Bird, C.J.).)

The showing required to adequately demonstrate present learning and ability in the general law
has varied considerably. In Calaway, supra, 41 Cal.3d at p. 756, for instance, it was found sufficient
that one of the petitioner’ s attorney acquaintances had consulted the petitioner in matters arising in his
practice, that a second attorney believed that the petitioner had maintained a “dedicated interest in the
law and the study thereof” and that athird attorney stated that the petitioner frequently spent timein his
office library, reading and acquainting himself with the current trends in the law and discussing cases
with attorneys in the office.

By contrast, in In the Matter of Ainsworth (Review Dept. 1998) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 894,
900-901, the State Bar Court Review Department recognized that the petitioner had taken many bar
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review and continuing legal education courses over aperiod of severa years and that he had increased
his knowledge of the law. Nevertheless, the Review Department concluded that the petitioner did not
understand the nature of proper litigation. Additionaly, in In the Matter of McCray (Review Dept.
1991) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 373, 385, the Review Department concluded that the petitioner had
failed to show sufficient proof of hislearning and ability in the general law because he failed to submit
documentary evidence in support of his claim that he had written legal memoranda or that he had
engaged in other activities to maintain knowledge of the law. In addition, the Review Department found
that the petitioner demonstrated only the most rudimentary knowledge of case presentation.

The Legidature has determined that an applicant’s learning and ability in the law is sufficient to
warrant his or her admission to the practice of law if, among other things, the applicant has “passed the
genera bar examination given by the examining committee.” (Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6060, subd. (Q).)

However, the conclusion that the applicant has present learning and ability in the law lasts for
only fiveyears. InrulelX of the Rules Regulating Admission to Practice Law in California, the Board
of Governors determined that the applicant must take the attorney’ s oath within five years of the last day
of the administration of the California Bar Examination that the applicant passed. If the applicant fails
to take the attorney’ s oath within that time, and the Committee of Bar Examiners has not extended the
time for good cause shown by clear and convincing evidence®, the applicant must take and pass the bar
examination a second time.

The requirement that a petitioner for reinstatement take and pass the Attorney Bar Examination
isintended to bring objectivity, predictability and consistency to the requirement of proposed rule
951.2(a) (current rule 951(f)) of the California Rules of Court that applicants for reinstatement establish
“present ability and learning in the general law.”

In light of the lengthy passage of time, currently averaging approximately ten years, which may
pass between an attorney’ s resignation or disbarment and reinstatement under the current system, this
requirement serves a number of legitimate interests: (1) it establishes a uniform way to measure current
learning and ability in the law; (2) it provides an objective standard by which present ability and
learning may be measured; (3) it promotes judicial economy by prohibiting reinstatement applications
where this showing is not made; and (4) it ensures that the best possible evidence on theissueis
presented to the Court.

Upon seeking admission in California, attorneys licensed in other states, who have no pre-
existing disciplinary record, are required to demonstrate appropriate learning and ability in the law by
taking and passing the Attorney Bar Examination, regardless of their actual professional knowledge.
Cdlifornia attorneys who have been disbarred or who have resigned with charges pending are no longer
members of the State Bar when seeking reinstatement. It is only appropriate that attorneys who have
lost their membership in the State Bar due to professional misconduct should be required to demonstrate
the same proficiency in the law as those individuals who seek admission from other states.

® Delay in satisfying admission requirements as a result of the applicant’s negligence or the applicant’s receipt of a negative
moral character determination does not constitute good cause for an extension of time.
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C. Permanent Disbarment and the Minimum Waiting Period in Other States

Attached as Appendix B is asummary sheet and comprehensive background chart setting forth the
practice of other states with respect to the permanency of disbarment and resignation with charges
pending and the minimum waiting period for reinstatement.

In Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, New Jersey, Ohio, Oregon and Washington, disbarments,
resignations or both are permanent. In Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Louisiana,
Minnesota and West Virginia, disbarments, resignations or both may be permanent at the court’s
discretion. In Kansas and lowa, while the applicable rules and statutes do not prohibit reinstatement,
reinstatement israrely, if ever, granted after either disbarments or resignations. The following states
permit reinstatement after disbarments or resignations. Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, DC, Delaware,
Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Maine, Maryland, M assachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska,
Nevada, New Y ork, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia,
Wisconsin and Wyoming.

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

If you agree that the proposed amendments to rule 951 and the proposed addition of new rules
951.2 and 951.3 of the California Rules of Court should be released for a 90-day public comment period,
your adoption of the following resolutions would be appropriate:

“RESOL VED, that the Board Committee on Regulation, Admissions

and Discipline Oversight hereby authorizes the rel ease of the proposed

amendmentsto rule 951 and the proposed addition of new rules 951.2 and 951.3 of the
California Rules of Court, in the form attached hereto as Appendix A, for a 90-day public
comment period; and

FURTHER RESOLVED, that authorization by the Board Committee
on Regulation, Admissions and Discipline Oversight for publication for
public comment is not, and shall not be construed as, a recommendation
or approval by the Board of Governors of the materials published.”




PROPOSED NEW RULES 951.2 AND 951.3,
CALIFORNIA RULES OF COURT

RULE 951 Authority of the State Bar Court

[ Subsections (a) through (e) remain unchanged.]

[ Subsection (g) is re-lettered as subsection ()]

RULE 951.2 Reinstatement after Resignation with Charges Pending
or Disbarment

@ [General Requirements]

Petitions for reinstatement must, in the first instance, be filed and heard by the State Bar
Court. Petitioners for reinstatement must: (1) pass a professional responsibility
examination; (2) establish their rehabilitation and present moral qualifications for
reinstatement; and (3) establish present ability and learning in the general law.

(b) [Passage of Attorney Bar Examination as Condition of Reinstatement]

Except as provided by order of the Supreme Court, a petitioner seeking reinstatement to
the practice of law in the State of California, following resignation with charges pending,
or an order of disbarment, must provide proof at the time of filing the petition for
reinstatement that he or she has taken and passed the Attorney Bar Examination,
administered by the Committee of Bar Examiners, within 3 years prior to the filing of a
petition for reinstatement. Proof of passage will, for purposes of reinstatement only, be
deemed to establish the requisite present ability and learning in the general law.

Appendix A
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(© [Payment of Discipline Costsand Client Security Fund Reimbur sement]

No petition for reinstatement following resignation with charges pending or an order of
disbarment may be filed unless and until the petitioner has provided satisfactory proof to
the State Bar Court that he or she has paid all discipline costs imposed pursuant to
Business and Professions Code section 6086.10(a) and all reimbursement for payments
made by the Client Security Fund as aresult of the petitioner’s conduct, plus applicable
interest and costs, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 6140.5(c).

(d) [Earliest Timefor Filing Reinstatement Petition Following Disbar ment or
Resignation with Char ges Pending]

Except as provided by order of the Supreme Court, no petition for reinstatement may be
filed within 7 years after the effective date of the petitioner’ s disbarment, interim
suspension following criminal conviction, the filing date of the petitioner’s resignation
with charges pending or the commencement of a period of inactive enrollment imposed
as aresult of the misconduct for which the petitioner was disbarred or resigned,
whichever occurred first.

(e [State Bar Court Recommendation Regarding Per manent Disbar ment]

Except as provided by order of the Supreme Court, the State Bar Court, in any
recommendation involving the disbarment of a member, must also recommend whether
the member should be permanently prohibited from filing a petition for reinstatement. In
making its recommendation, the State Bar Court must consider the following guidelines
that illustrate the types of conduct that warrant permanent disbarment:

M) conviction of murder of the first or second degree;

(i) conviction of afelony involving rape, child molestation or the commission
of alewd act or an act of substantial sexual conduct with a child under the
age of fourteen;

(iii)  conviction of mayhem or of another felony involving the personal
infliction of great bodily injury on another person. Theimposition of an
enhancement pursuant to Penal Code section 12022.7 constitutes
conclusive evidence of the personal infliction of great bodily injury within
the meaning of this guideling;

(iv)  conviction of kidnapping;

(V) conviction of arson of an inhabited structure or inhabited property or of
the taking of the property of another by means of force or fear, including
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but not limited to robbery and carjacking, with the use of afirearm or
other weapon;

(vi)  conviction of acrime involving malfeasance in public office which
involved fraud or the embezzlement or intentional misuse of public funds;

(vii)  engaging in multiple instances of the intentional theft or conversion of
client funds, resulting in substantial harm to one or more victims,

(viii) engaging in theintentional corruption of the judicial process, including but
not limited to bribery, forgery, perjury or subornation of perjury;

(ix)  engaging in multiple instances of insurance fraud committed in the course
of the practice of law, including but not limited to staged accidents, the
submission of false or fraudulent claims for the payment of aloss or injury
or repeated instances of runner-based solicitation;

(x)  engaging in the unauthorized practice of law when the member knew of
his or her disbarment, resignation or suspension from practice;

(xi)  the member was previously disbarred or resigned with disciplinary
charges pending; and

(xii)  engaging in conduct, involving fraud, moral turpitude or a pattern of
serious misconduct that is so egregious that the member should be
permanently disbarred.

()] [Subsequent Petitionsfor Reinstatement Following Disbar ment or
Resignation with Char ges Pending]

A subsequent petition for reinstatement following disbarment or resignation with charges
pending may not be filed earlier than 2 years after the effective date of an adverse
decision upon a prior petition and shall include afurther requirement that the petitioner
take and pass the Attorney Bar Examination administered by the Committee of Bar
Examiners, unless proof of passage with the prior 5 yearsis provided. Proof of passage
of the Attorney Bar Examination will establish, by clear and convincing evidence, that
petitioner possesses the requisite present ability and learning in the general law.

In any adverse decision on a petition for reinstatement following disbarment or
resignation with charges pending, the State Bar Court must order that the petitioner be
permanently prohibited from filing a subsequent petition for reinstatement if the State Bar
Court finds, by clear and convincing evidence, that (1) petitioner has engaged in conduct
subsequent to his or her disbarment or resignation with charges pending that would have
warranted permanent disbarment pursuant to subsection (e) of thisrule; or (2) the conduct
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that resulted in petitioner’ s resignation with charges pending would have warranted
permanent disbarment pursuant to subsection (€) of thisrule.

RULE 951.3 Readmission after Resignation without Charges
Pending

(@ [General Requirements|

Petitions for readmission must, in thefirst instance, be filed and heard by the State Bar
Court. Petitioners for readmission must: (1) pass a professiona responsibility
examination; (2) establish their rehabilitation and present moral qualifications for
readmission; and (3) establish present ability and learning in the general law.

(b) [Timefor Filing First and Subsequent Readmission Petitions Following
Resignation Without Char ges Pending]

Unless otherwise ordered by the Supreme Court, after resignation without charges
pending, afirst or subsequent petition for readmission may be filed at any time.

(©) [Passage of Attorney Bar Examination as Condition of Readmission]

Except as provided by order of the Supreme Court, a petitioner seeking readmission to
the practice of law in the State of California 5 years of more following resignation
without charges pending, must take and pass the Attorney Bar Examination, administered
by the Committee of Bar Examiners, within 2 years prior to the filing of the petition for
readmission. Proof of passage will, for purposes of readmission only, be deemed to
establish, by clear and convincing evidence, that the petitioner possesses the requisite
present ability and learning in the general law.
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation
Summary Sheet — All Jurisdictions

Disbar ment/Resignation
Permanent?

Reinstatement Waiting Period

Jurisdiction

Disbarment permanent
Resignation permanent

N/A

New Jersey, Ohio, Oregon

Disbarment de facto permanent 5 years for disbarment and resignation Kansas
Resignation de facto permanent No time period specified for disbarment lowa

No time period specified for resignation
Disbarment permanent No time period specified for non-permanent resignation Kentucky
Resignation may be permanent
Disbarment permanent 5 years for resignation Indiana
Resignation not permanent
Resignation permanent 5 years for non-permanent disbarment Louisiana
Disbarment may be permanent
Resignation permanent 6 years for disbarment Washington
Disbarment not permanent 3 yearsfor disbarment Mississippi

Disbarment may be permanent
Resignation may be permanent

7 years for non-permanent disbarment
7 years for non-permanent resignation

California (proposed)

5 years for non-permanent disbarment
5 years for non-permanent resignation

Alabama, Arkansas

No time period specified for non-permanent disbarment
No time period specified for non-permanent resignation

Minnesota

Disbarment may be permanent
Resignation not permanent

5 years for non-permanent disbarment
3 yearsfor resignation

Florida, lllinois

5 years for non-permanent disbarment West Virginia
No time specified for resignation
Resignation may be permanent No time period specified for disharment Connecticut
Disbarment not permanent No time period specified for non-permanent resignation
Disbarment not permanent 10 years for disbarment or resignation M assachusetts
Resignation not permanent 8 years for disbarment or resignation Colorado
7 years for disbarment or resignation New York
5 years for disbarment or resignation Alaska, Arizona,

California (currently),
Delaware, DC, Hawaii,
Idaho, Maine, Michigan,
Missouri, Montana,
Nebraska, North Carolina,
North Dakota, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island,
South Carolina,

South Dakota, Tennessee,
Texas, Utah, Vermont,
Virginia, Wisconsin,

Wyoming
3 years for disbarment and resignation Nevada
3 years for disbarment New Mexico

No time period specified for resignation

No time period specified for disbarment
No time period specified resignation

Georgia, Maryland,
New Hampshire
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation
Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

New Jersey

Disbarments and resignations are permanent

[E]very [Supreme Court] order of disbarment shall include a permanent
injunction from such practice. N.J. Court Rules, Part I, Rule 1:20-16(i).

[Dlisbarment by consent, if accepted by the Supreme Court, is tantamount
to disbarment and constitutes an absolute bar to reinstatement to the
practice of law. N.J. Court Rule Part I, 1:20-10(a)(2)(G).

Ohio

Disbarments and resignations are permanent

A person who is disbarred or who voluntarily has surrendered his or her
license to practice shall not be readmitted to the practice of law in Ohio.
Ohio State Government Bar Rule V, Section 6(C).

Oregon

Disbarments and resignations are permanent.

(This does not include resignations that arise
from a suspended status greater than five
years.)

An attorney disbarred as a result of a disciplinary proceeding commenced
by formal complaint after December 31, 1995, shall never be eligible to
apply and shall not be considered for admission under [Oregon Revised
Statute, Chapter 9.220] or reinstatement under Title 8 of these rules.
Oregon State Bar Rules of Procedure, Rule 6.1(e).

An attorney who has resigned membership in the Bar under Form B
[voluntary resignation] of these rules after December 31, 1995, shall never
be eligible to apply and shall not be considered for admission under ORS
9.220 or reinstatement under Title 8 of these rules. OSBRP, Rule 9.4.

An attorney who has been suspended from membership in the Bar for any
reason and has remained in that suspended status more than five years
prior to the date of an application for reinstatement, shall be deemed to
have resigned under Form A of these rules and shall be eligible for
reinstatement only as permitted by BR 8.1. OSBRP, Rule 9.5
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation
Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State Summary Detailed Explanation
Any attorney who is disbarred [by the court or by consent under Kansas
Supreme Court Rule 217] shall not be eligible to apply for reinstatement for
Kansas disbarments and resignations are de five years from the date of disbarment. Kansas Supreme Court Rule
facto permanent. There are no reported 219(e).
Kansas cases in which a disbarred or resigned
(disbarred by consent) attorney was reinstated | The court has held that certain ethical, moral, or criminal violations may be
to the practice of law in Kansas. S0 serious as to require permanent disbarment. In re Petition of Russo, 765
P.2d 166, 167 (Kan., 1988). However, there are no reported cases in which
a disbarred attorney was reinstated to the practice of law in Kansas.
An attorney subject to investigation or a pending proceeding involving
allegations of misconduct subject to disciplinary action may acquiesce to
disbarment. lowa Court Rules, Rule 35.15(1).
lowa’s reinstatement rule applies only to attorneys whose licenses were
suspended. ICR, Rule 35.13. There are no provisions in the lowa Supreme
Court Rules allowing for reinstatement after disbarment.
lowa Disbarments and resignations de facto However, the court has entertained such applications and, on very rare

permanent

occasions, has even granted them where “the need for permanent
revocation was debatable, and where there has been a demonstrated
reformation on the part of the lawyer so that the public interest would not be
compromised by readmission.” In re Rickabaugh, 661 N.W.2d 130, 132
(lowa 2003) (citing Comm. on Prof’l Ethics & Conduct v. Brodsky, 487
N.W.2d 674, 675 (lowa 1992)).

Although reinstatement is rare, a disbarred lawyer need not wait a minimum
period before seeking reinstatement.
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation
Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Kentucky

Disbarments are permanent; resignations may
be permanent

Upon findings of a violation of [the Kentucky Supreme Court] rules,
discipline may be administered by way of... permanent disbarment.
Kentucky Supreme Court Rule 3.380.

A member who has been engaged in unethical or unprofessional conduct
and desires to withdraw membership may seek reinstatement only after a
stated period of time under the provisions of Rule 3.510 (5 years in the case
of an entry of an order of suspension) or Rule 3.520 (in the case of an entry
of an order of disbarment), whichever is applicable, and under the
provisions of the rules in effect at the time of the filing of an application for
reinstatement. KSCR. 3.480(3).

Indiana

Disbarments are permanent; resignations are
not permanent

One of the following types of discipline may be imposed upon any attorney
found guilty of misconduct: permanent disbarment from the practice of
law.... Indiana Rule of Court, Rule 23, Section 3(a).

A person who has resigned as a member of the bar may petition for
reinstatement when five years have elapsed since the date of the order
accepting the resignation. Rule 23, Section 4(a).
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation
Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Louisiana

Discretionary permanent disbarment;
resignations are permanent

Where disbarment is not permanent, no lawyer may petition for readmission
until five years after the effective date of disbarment. Rule XIX, Section
24(A).

In any order or judgment of the court in which a lawyer is disbarred, the
court retains the discretion to permanently disbar the lawyer and
permanently prohibit any such lawyer from being readmitted to the practice
of law. [Amended effective August 1, 2001, see Appendix E, Guidelines
Depicting Conduct Which Might Warrant Permanent Disbarment,
Suggested by The Committee to Study Permanent Disbarment and
Commentary of the Court to accompany Order dated July 19, 2001
amending Rule XIX] Rule XIX, Section 10(A)(1).

A lawyer against whom formal charges of misconduct have or may be filed
may file a written request with the Louisiana Supreme Court seeking
permanent resignation from the practice of law in lieu of discipline. Rule
XIX, Section 20.1.

Washington

Disbarments are not permanent; resignations
are permanent

(The rationale for this distinction is that, by
resigning, the attorney deprives the State Bar
of the opportunity to conduct a full hearing and
to make complete findings of fact. Under this
rationale, it would be unfair to allow the
attorney to apply for reinstatement after
memories have faded and evidence is lost.)

No disbarred lawyer may be reinstated sooner than six years following
disbarment. Washington State Court Rules, Admission to Practice, Rule
21.1(b).

Resignation under this rule is permanent. A respondent who has resigned
under this rule will never be eligible to apply and will not be considered for
admission or reinstatement to the practice of law nor will the respondent be
eligible for admission for any limited practice of law. Rules for Enforcement
of Lawyer Conduct, Rule 9.3(e).
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation
Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Mississippi

Disbarments are not permanent; resignations
are permanent

The petition for reinstatement shall not be filed until three years after the
date the order of disbarment became final. Rules of Discipline for the
Mississippi State Bar, Rule 12.1.

An attorney may tender an irrevocable resignation to either the Court or the
Tribunal. Such a resignation shall acknowledge each and all disciplinary
matters then pending, provide the docket number or numbers, state that the
attorney does not desire to defend, and request permission to resign with
prejudice from the Bar. Upon receipt of such a resignation, and any
response that the Bar may elect to file, the disciplinary proceedings shall
terminate and either the Court or the Tribunal shall enter its order accepting
the resignation, revoking the attorney’s license, and barring forever
thereafter the attorney’s right to seek reinstatement to the privilege of
practicing law in this state. Such a resignation and order shall be
considered disciplinary action, and the resignation shall be considered
tantamount to the proof of guilt on the matter charged. Rule 10.5.

Alabama

Disbarment or resignation is permanent under
certain circumstances. (If itis a second
disbarment after disbarment or resignation
[disbarment by consent].)

Disbarment terminates the individual’s status as a lawyer and may result
from a hearing or by consent as provided in Rule 23. A person who has
been disbarred may not apply for reinstatement until the expiration of at
least five years from the effective date of disbarment. A lawyer who has
been disbarred after reinstatement following a prior disbarment shall not be
reinstated. Alabama Rules of Disciplinary Procedure, Rule 8(a)
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation
Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Arkansas

Disbarment or resignation is permanent under
certain circumstances. (If itis based on: (1)
conviction of a “Serious Crime” in any
jurisdiction is permanent or (2) grounds that
are of the character and nature of conduct that
reflects adversely on the individual’'s honesty
or trustworthiness, whether or not the
conviction of any criminal offense occurred.)

An attorney who has been disbarred or surrendered his or her law license in
this State may be readmitted to the Bar of Arkansas upon application.
Application for readmission to the Bar of Arkansas shall not be allowed in
any of the following circumstances: (1) Less than five years have elapsed
since the effective date of the disbarment or surrender; (2) The disbarment
or surrender resulted from conviction of a Serious Crime in any jurisdiction
other than commission of an offense for which the culpable mental state
was that of negligence or recklessness; or (3) Any of the grounds found to
be the basis of a disbarment or any grounds presented in a voluntary
surrender of law license are of the character and nature of conduct that
reflects adversely on the individual's honesty or trustworthiness, whether or
not the conviction of any criminal offense occurred. Procedures of the
Arkansas Supreme Court Regulating Professional Conduct of Attorneys at
Law, Section 24(A)-(B).

Serious crime is defined as: any felony or any lesser crime that reflects
adversely on the lawyer’s honesty, trustworthiness, or fithess as a lawyer in
other respects, or any crime a necessary element of which, as determined
by the statutory or common law definition of the crime, involves interference
with the administration of justice, false swearing, misrepresentation, fraud,
deceit, bribery, extortion, misappropriation, theft or an attempt, conspiracy
or solicitation of another to commit a "serious crime." Section 2.
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Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Minnesota

Discretionary permanent denial of
reinstatement after disbarment; resignations
must be approved and are not permanent

Disbarred attorneys may be reinstated under Minnesota Rules on Lawyers
Professional Responsibility, Rule 18.

There is no established minimum waiting period for seeking reinstatement.
In many cases, the order for disbarment contemplates reinstatement after a
specified period of time or if certain conditions are met. See Inre
Application of Swanson, 343 N.W.2d 662, 664 (Minn., 1984). However, the
court has held that "disbarment should not be considered permanent in
every case and one disbarred should not be considered irredeemable, for if
disbarment were permanent in all cases, the rule would be a cruel hoax." In
re Application for Reinstatement of Wegner, 417 N.W.2d 97 (Minn., 1987)
(Citations omitted).

This Court may at any time, with or without a hearing and with any
conditions it may deem appropriate, grant or deny a lawyer’s petition to
resign from the bar. MRLPR, Rule 11. Resigned attorneys may seek
reinstatement. MRLRP, Rule 26.
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Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Florida

Discretionary permanent disbarment;
resignations are not permanent

A judgment of disbarment terminates the respondent’s status as a member
of the bar. Permanent disbarment shall preclude readmission. Where a
former member has not been permanently disbarred, no application for
readmission may be tendered within five years after the date of disbarment
or such longer period as the court might determine in the disbarment order
and thereafter until all court-ordered restitution and outstanding disciplinary
costs have been paid. Rules Regulating the Florida Bar, Rule 3-5.1(f).
However, the court has the authority to grant leave for members that have
been permanently disbarred to reapply. Florida Bar re Hipsh, 586 So.2d
311, 314 (Fla., 1991) (distinguishing disbarment and permanent
disbarment, but permitting permanently disbarred member to apply for
reinstatement by leave of court).

In the case of a disciplinary resignation, no readmission application may be
filed until three years after the date of the order of the Supreme Court of
Florida that accepted such disciplinary resignation or such additional time
as the attorney may have stated in a petition for disciplinary resignation.
RRTFB, Rule 3-7.10(n)(2).
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Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

lllinois

Discretionary permanent denial of
reinstatement after disbarment (including
disbarment on consent)

An attorney who has been disbarred or disbarred by consent may seek to
be reinstated to the roll of attorneys admitted to practice law in this State.
No petition shall be filed within a period of five years after the date of an
order of disbarment, three years after the date of an order allowing
disbarment on consent, two years after the date of an order denying a
petition for reinstatement, or one year after an order allowing the petition for
reinstatement to be withdrawn. lllinois Supreme Court Rule 767.

“While our rules provide a method by which a disbarred attorney may
petition for reinstatement, there is no requirement that the petition be
granted. Clearly, there are certain infractions that are so serious that the
attorney committing them should never be readmitted to the practice of law.”
In re Rothenberg, 484 N.E.2d 289, 295 (lll., 1985) (respondent disbarred on
consent). See also In re Richman, 730 N.E.2d 45, 50 (lll., 2000)
(respondent disbarred on consent), citing Rothenberg.
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Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

West Virginia

Discretionary permanent denial of
reinstatement after disbarment; no statutory
language regarding reinstatement after
resignation

A lawyer who is the subject of an investigation into or a pending proceeding
involving allegations of misconduct may consent to disbarment. West
Virginia Rules of Lawyer Disciplinary Procedure, Rule 3.25.

After the expiration of five years from the date of disbarment, a person
whose license to practice law has been or shall be annulled in this State
and who shall desire reinstatement of such license may file a verified
petition reciting the cause of such annulment and what the person shall
have done in satisfaction of requirements as to rehabilitation, restitution,
conditions or other acts incident thereto, by reason of which the person
should be reinstated as a member of the state bar and his or her license to
practice law restored. WVRLDP, Rule 3.33(b).

Any member of the state bar may file a verified petition stating he or she
desires to voluntarily resign and have his or her name stricken from the
rolls. Such petition shall fully state the reasons for the request and whether
any disciplinary or criminal charges or proceedings are pending against the
petitioner or whether the petitioner apprehends the pendency of any such
charges or proceedings. WVRLDP, Rule 3.26.

Connecticut

No statutory permanent disbarment;
permanent resignation discretionary

Applications for readmission (after disbarment or resignation) will be
considered only after the attorney has successfully fulfilled all conditions
imposed as part of the applicant’s discipline. No minimum amount of time is
specified. Connecticut Superior Court Rule Section 2.53.

Upon resignation, the court will determine whether a resigned attorney has
waived the privilege of applying for readmission to the bar at any future
time. Section 2-52.

Massachusetts

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation

Any lawyer who is disbarred or who has resigned may not be reinstated
until after the expiration of at least ten years from the order of the court
finding that the lawyer has violated the provisions of this rule.
Massachusetts Court Rules, Section 17(8).
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State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Colorado

Permanent disbarment statute repealed.
Disbarred and resigned (disbarred by consent)
attorneys permitted to seek reinstatement.

Disbarment is the revocation of an attorney’s license to practice law in this
state, subject to readmission as provided by CRCP 251.29(a). CRCP Rule
251.6. At attorney may stipulate to disbarment. CRCP 251.22.

A disbarred attorney may not apply for readmission until at least eight years
after the effective date of the order of disbarment. CRCP 251.29(a).

[Prior to 1972, a Colorado statute (1963 CRS § 39-10-17) provided that a
person convicted of a felony was disqualified from practicing as an attorney
in the courts of this state. The constitutionality of this statute was upheld in
People v. Buckles, 453 P.2d 404 (Colo. 1969). The statute was repealed in
1972. CRS § 18-1-105(3) provides that any person convicted of a felony is
disqualified from practicing as an attorney in any Colorado court while
imprisoned, committed to imprisonment or on probation. The statue was
repealed in 2002.

The notes to CRS § 18-1.3-401 cite People v. Buckles, 167 Colo. 64 (1989),
stating, “This section declares that a person convicted of a felony shall also
suffer an additional penalty wherefore, namely, that he be disqualified from
holding any office of honor, trust, or profit under the laws of this state, and
that he be also disqualified from practicing as an attorney in any of our state
courts. This latter disqualification constitutes a part of the total penalty
prescribed by the general assembly for anyone convicted of a felony.”
However, as the Annotator’s note states, § 18-1.3-401 is similar to § 18-1-
105 as it existed prior to the 2002 relocation of certain criminal sentencing
provisions and former § 39-10-17, C.R.S. 1963 regarding permanent
disbarment; therefore, relevant cases construing those provisions have
been included in the annotations to § 18-1.3-401.]
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation
Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State Summary Detailed Explanation
1* Department: Any attorney who has been disbarred after a hearing or has
resigned may not petition for reinstatement until the expiration of seven
st i years from the effective date of the disbarment or removal. NY CLS Sup.
1™ Department: No statutory permanent
. . ) Ct. 8603.14.
disbarment or resignation
nd . . .
2" Department: No statutory permanent 2 Department: No attorney d|sbarr_ed after a hearing or on consent may
disbarment or resianation apply for reinstatement until the expiration of at least seven years from the
g effective date of the disbarment or removal. NY CLS Sup Ct § 691.11.
rd .
New York 3. Department: N.o statutory permanent 3" Department: An attorney who has been disbarred [or who resigned] may
disbarment or resignation (If the court accepts : . A
, : N not apply for reinstatement until the expiration of at least seven years from
an attorney’s resignation, it shall enter an . . .
order of disbarment) the effective date of the disbarment or removal. N.Y. Sup. Ct., App. Div.,
3rd Dept., Section 806.12(a).
th .
4. Department: N.O statutory permanent 4" Department: An attorney disbarred or who has resigned may apply for
disbarment or resignation . . o
reinstatement to practice after the expiration of seven years from the entry
of the order of disbarment or the order striking the attorney from the roll of
attorneys. 22 NYCRR 81022.28(a)(1).
An attorney who has been disbarred by order of the Court may not be
reinstated until the expiration of at least five years from the effective date of
No statutory permanent disbarment; Alaska the disbarment. An attorney who has been denied reinstatement by the
Alaska Bar Rules do not discuss reinstatement after Court from disbarment or suspension may not file a petition for

resignation

reinstatement until the expiration of at least two years from the effective
date of the Court’s most recent order denying reinstatement. Alaska Bar
Rules, Rule 29(b)(5).
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation
Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State Summary Detailed Explanation
EFFECTIVE UNTIL DECEMBER 1, 2005:
A lawyer who has been disbarred may apply for reinstatement, as set forth
in Rule 65, not sooner than ninety days prior to the five years after the
effective date of the disbarment, but may not be reinstated until after five
years after the effective date of the disbarment. Rules of the Supreme
Court of Arizona, Rule 64(b).
Starting December 1, 2005: There is a . .
X . Any member against whom charges have been made or a formal complaint
rebuttable presumption that a disbarred lawyer . . ;
: , filed may voluntarily consent to disbarment. Rule 56(f).
who has been convicted of a misdemeanor
Arizona mvolymg a serious crime or of any felony_ shall EFFECTIVE DECEMBER 1, 2005:
be disqualified for reinstatement. There is no . L .
o ; . . There shall be a presumption, rebuttable by clear and convincing evidence
provision for resignation (disbarment by . .
presented at the hearing, that a lawyer who has been convicted of a
consent). . : . ) . . .
misdemeanor involving a serious crime or of any felony shall be disqualified
for reinstatement. "Serious crime" includes any crime, a necessary element
of which, as determined by the statutory or common law definition of such
crime, involves interference with the administration of justice, false
swearing, misrepresentation, fraud, willful extortion, misappropriation, theft,
or moral turpitude, including a conspiracy, a solicitation of another, or any
attempt to commit a serious crime. Rule 64(b).
A lawyer who has been disbarred [by the court of by consent] may not apply
Delaware No statutory permanent disbarment or for reinstatement until the expiration of at least five years from the effective
resignation (disbarment by consent) date of the disbarment. The Delaware Lawyers’ Rules of Disciplinary
Procedure, Rule 22(c).
District of No statutory permanent disbarment or A dlsbarred attorney may not apply for reinstatement until the expiration of
) : . . at least five years from the effective date of the disbarment [by the court or
Columbia resignation (disbarment by consent)

by consent]. D.C. Bar Rule XI, Section 16.
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Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Hawaii

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation

An attorney who has been disbarred may not apply for reinstatement until
the expiration of at least five years after the effective date of the disbarment.
Rule 2.14(d). Resignation in lieu of discipline is a disbarment for all
purposes under these rules, including reinstatement. Rules of the Supreme
Court of the State of Hawal'i, Rule 2.17.

Idaho

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation

In no event shall a disbarred lawyer make application for admission to the
Bar sooner than five years from the effective date of disbarment [by the
court or by consent]. Idaho Bar Commission Rule 506.

Maine

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation

An attorney who has resigned [with charges pending] or who has been
disbarred may not be reinstated at least five years from the effective date of
the resignation or of the order of disbarment, unless otherwise ordered by
the Court. Maine Bar Rule 7.3(j)

Michigan

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation

An attorney’s request that his or her name be stricken from the official
register of attorneys may not be accepted while a request for investigation
or a complaint is pending, except pursuant to an order of revocation. Rule
9.123(B). An attorney whose license to practice law has been revoked is
not eligible for reinstatement until five years have elapsed since revocation
of the license. Michigan Court Rule 9.115(M).

Missouri

No statutory permanent disbarments or
resignations

Any person who is disbarred or who voluntarily surrendered a license may
seek reinstatement of the person’s license. Rule 5.28(e) Except for good
cause shown, no application for reinstatement for a person who is disbarred
shall be considered until after five years of the date discipline is imposed.
Rules Governing the Missouri Bar and the Judiciary, Rule 5.28.

Any order accepting the voluntary surrender may set forth conditions for the
acceptance and a time within which the applicant may seek reinstatement.
Rule 5.25.
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State Summary Detailed Explanation

No petition for reinstatement shall be filed by a disbarred lawyer until five
years after the effective date of disbarment [by the court or by consent].
Rules for Lawyer Disciplinary Enforcement, Rule 29(c)(3).

No statutory permanent disbarment or

Montana resignation (disbarment by consent)

No application for reinstatement from an order of disbarment shall be made
prior to the expiration of five years after the final order in such proceedings
shall have been entered.

Rule 15. Once a Grievance, a Complaint, or a Formal Charge has been
filed, suggested, or indicated against a member, the member may
voluntarily surrender his or her license. Nebraska Disciplinary Rule 10(T).
By voluntarily surrendering his or her license, the attorney waives his or her
right to notice, appearance or hearing prior to an entry of an order of
disbarment. See, e.g., State ex rel. Nebraska State Bar Ass'n v. Bartu, 608
N.W.2d 200 (Neb. 2000).

No statutory permanent disbarment or
Nebraska resignation (voluntary surrender of license
with order of disbarment)

No disbarred attorney may petition for reinstatement until the expiration of
at least five years from the effective date of the disbarment [by consent or
by the court]. North Carolina Discipline and Disability Rule .0125.

No statutory permanent disbarment or

North Carolina resignation (disbarment by consent)

A lawyer who has been disbarred may not apply for reinstatement until the
expiration of at least five years from the effective date of the disbarment.
North Dakota Supreme Court Rule 4.5(D).

No statutory permanent disbarment or

North Dakota | o i anation (disbarment by consent)

The applicant shall not be permitted to file an application for reinstatement,
after disbarment or resignation pending investigation or disciplinary
proceedings, within five years of the effective date of the order of the Court
disbarring the applicant or accepting the resignation, nor shall any applicant
be permitted to file an application for reinstatement within one (1) year after
the Supreme Court has denied an earlier application. Oklahoma Statutes,
Rule 11, 811.1(e).

No statutory permanent disbarment or

Oklahoma : )
resignation
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State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Pennsylvania

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation (disbarment by consent)

A person who has been disbarred may not apply for reinstatement until the
expiration of at least five years from the effective date of the disbarment,
except that a person who has been disbarred pursuant to Rule 216 (relating
to reciprocal discipline) may apply for reinstatement at any earlier date on
which reinstatement may be sought in the jurisdiction of initial discipline.
Pennsylvania Rules of Disciplinary Enforcement, Rule 218(b).

Rhode Island

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation (disbarment by consent)

A person who has been disbarred after hearing or by consent may not apply
for reinstatement until the expiration of at least five years from the effective
date of the disbarment. Rhode Island Supreme Court Rule 16(b).

South Carolina

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation (disbarment by consent)

A petition for reinstatement shall not be filed earlier than five years from the
date of entry of the order of disbarment. South Carolina Rules for Lawyer
Disciplinary Enforcement, Rule 33.

South Dakota

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation (disbarment by consent)

A person who has been disbarred after hearing or by consent may not apply
for reinstatement until the expiration of at least five years from the effective
date of the disbarment. South Dakota Codified Law, §16-19-83.

Tennessee

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation (disbarment by consent)

A person who has been disbarred after hearing or by consent may not apply
for reinstatement until the expiration of at least five years from the effective
date of the disbarment. Rules of the Supreme Court of Tennessee, Rule
19.2.
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State Summary Detailed Explanation

A disbarred person or a person who has resigned in lieu of discipline may,
at any time after the expiration of five years from the date of final judgment
of disbarment or the date of Supreme Court order accepting resignation in
lieu of discipline, petition the district court of the county of his or her
residence for reinstatement; provided, however, that no person who has
been disbarred or resigned in lieu of discipline by reason of conviction of or
having been placed on probation without an adjudication of guilt for an
Intentional Crime or a Serious Crime, is eligible to apply for reinstatement
until five years following the date of completion of sentence, including any
period of probation and/or parole. Texas Rules of Disciplinary Procedure,
No statutory permanent disbarment or Rule 11.01.

Texas . .
resignation
Rule 1.06(T) defines “Intentional Crime” as: (1) any Serious Crime that
requires proof of knowledge or intent as an essential element or (2) any
crime involving misapplication of money or other property held as a
fiduciary.

Rule 1.06(2Z) defines “Serious Crime” as: barratry; any felony involving
moral turpitude; any misdemeanor involving theft, embezzlement, or
fraudulent or reckless misappropriation of money or other property; or any
attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation of another to commit any of the foregoing
crimes.

No statutory permanent disbarment or No respondent may petition for readmission until five years after the

Utah resignation (disbarment by consent) effective date of disbarment. Utah Court Rule 25.

A person who has been disbarred or who has resigned may not apply for
reinstatement until the expiration of at least five years from the effective
date of the disbarment or resignation. Vermont Permanent Rules
Governing Establishment and Operation of the Professional Responsibility
Program, Rule 22.

No statutory permanent disbarment or

Vermont . .
resignation
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State Summary Detailed Explanation
No statutory permanent disbarment No petition for reinstatement may be filed sooner than five years from the
Virginia (revocation) or resignation (revocation by effective date of the Revocation (or disbarment). Virginia Supreme Court
consent) Rule 7.b.1.
. : A petition for reinstatement of a license that is revoked [by the court or by
No statutory permanent disbarment (license . . s .
: . ; . . . consent] may be filed at any time commencing five years after the effective
Wisconsin revocation) or resignation (consensual license d f . d for th lati f
revocation) a_te 0 r(_avocat|on. Procedures for the Lawyer Regulation System o
Wisconsin, Rule 22.29(2).
An attorney who has been disbarred [by stipulation or by the court] may not
petition for reinstatement for at least five years from the effective date of the
disbarment unless another period is specified in the order. Section 24(d).
. No statutory permanent disbarment or An attorney who has petitioned for reinstatement after disbarment and such
Wyoming . . . o o . . o .
resignation (stipulated discipline) application has been denied may not again petition for reinstatement for at
least three years from the date of the order denying the attorney’s last
petition for reinstatement unless another period is specified in the order.
Disciplinary Code for the Wyoming State Bar, Section 24(c).
No statutory permanent disbarment or A person who has bgen d|sbarreq after hearing or by consent may not apply
Nevada resignation (disbarment by consent) for reinstatement until the expiration of at least three years from the
9 y effective date of disbarment. Nevada Supreme Court Rule 116(2).
Any attorney whose resignation under this rule is accepted may apply for
readmission or reinstatement to the bar of this state by leave of the
Supreme Court. No time period is specified. New Mexico Rules Governing
Discipline, Rule 17-209. Unless otherwise stated in the order of
No statutory permanent disbarment or disbarment, a motion for permission to apply for reinstatement may not be
New Mexico yp filed for a period of at least three years from the effective date of the

resignation

disbarment. If the motion for reinstatement is denied by the Supreme
Court, no further motion for reinstatement may be filed prior to the
expiration of a twelve month period commencing the date that the motion is
denied by the Supreme Court, unless a shorter interval is directed in the
order denying the motion. Rule 17-214.
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Permanent Disbarment/Resignation

Comprehensive Background Chart — All Jurisdictions

State

Summary

Detailed Explanation

Georgia

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation

After the issuance of a formal complaint a Respondent may submit a
petition for voluntary discipline seeking any level of discipline. Rules and
Regulations of the Georgia State Bar, Rule 4-227.

There is no procedure outlined for reinstatement after disbarment or
resignation (voluntary discipline); however, case law demonstrates that
reinstatement is permitted after resignation, see, e.g., In the Matter of
Mullman, 603 S.E.2d 217 (Ga. 2004), and disbarment, see, e.g., In the
Matter of Oellerich, 596 S.E.2d 156 (Ga. 2004). No minimum amount of
time is specified.

Maryland

No statutory permanent disbarment or
resignation (consensual disbarment)

An attorney may not resign while the attorney is the subject of a disciplinary
investigation, action, or proceeding involving allegations of professional
misconduct. Maryland Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 16-775. An
attorney may consent to disbarment. No amount of time is specified. Rule
16-772.

New
Hampshire

No statutory permanent disbarment; no
procedure outlined for reinstatement after
resignation

A disbarred attorney may only apply for readmission to the bar of this State
upon petition to this court, after having complied with the terms and
conditions set forth in the disbarment order promulgated by the court which
shall include all requirements applicable to applications for admission to the
bar, including passing the bar examination and a favorable report by the
professional conduct committee and the character and fithess committee.
There is no time period specified. Rules of the Supreme Court of the State
of New Hampshire, Rule 2.

An attorney who is the subject of an investigation into allegations of
misconduct may file a request to resign. Rule 11.
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