
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE 
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AND TO THE RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE STATE BAR 
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CALIFORNIA RULES OF COURT 

Rule 9.21. Resignations of Members of the State Bar With Disciplinary Charges 
Pending  

(a) [General Provisions] 

A member of the State Bar against whom disciplinary charges are pending may tender a 
written resignation from membership in the State Bar and relinquishment of the right to 
practice law. The written resignation must be signed and dated by the member at the time 
it is tendered and must be tendered to the Office of the Clerk, State Bar Court, 1149 
South Hill Street, Los Angeles, California 90015. The resignation must be substantially 
in the form specified in (b) of this rule. In submitting a resignation under this rule, a 
member of the State Bar agrees to be transferred to inactive membership in the State Bar 
effective on the filing of the resignation by the State Bar.  Within 30 days after filing of 
the resignation, the member must perform the acts specified in rule 9.20(a)(1)–(4) and (b) 
and within 40 days after filing of the resignation, the member must file with the Office of 
the Clerk, State Bar Court, at the above address, the proof of compliance specified in rule 
9.20(c).  No resignation is effective unless and until it is accepted by the Supreme Court 
after consideration and recommendation by the State Bar Court Board of Governors of 
the State Bar. 

(b) [Form of Resignation] 

The member’s written resignation must be in substantially the following form:  

“I, [name of member], against whom charges are pending, hereby resign as a member of 
the State Bar of California and relinquish all right to practice law in the State of 
California.  I agree that, in the event that this resignation is accepted and I later file a 
petition for reinstatement, the State Bar will consider in connection therewith all 
disciplinary matters and proceedings against me at the time this resignation is accepted, 
in addition to other appropriate matters.  I also agree that the Supreme Court may 
decline to accept my resignation unless I reach agreement with the Chief Trial 
Counsel on a written stipulation as to facts and conclusions of law regarding the 
disciplinary matters and proceedings that were pending against me at the time of 
my resignation.  I further agree that, on the filing of this resignation by the Office of the 
Clerk, State Bar Court, that I will be transferred to inactive membership of the State Bar.  
On such transfer, I acknowledge that I will be ineligible to practice law or to advertise or 
hold myself out as practicing or as entitled to practice law.  I further agree that, within 30 
days of the filing of the resignation by the Office of the Clerk, State Bar Court, I will 
perform the acts specified in rule 9.20(a)–(b) of the California Rules of Court, and within 
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40 days of the date of filing of this resignation by the Office of the Clerk, State Bar 
Court, I will notify that office as specified in rule 9.20(c) of the California Rules of 
Court.” 

(c) [Consideration of Resignation by State Bar Court Board of Governors and 
Supreme Court] 

When the Office of the Clerk of the State Bar Court receives a member’s resignation 
tendered in conformity with this rule, it must promptly file the resignation. The Board of 
Governors of the State Bar Court must thereafter consider the member’s resignation and 
the stipulated facts and conclusions of law, if any, agreed upon between the member 
and the Chief Trial Counsel, and must recommend to the Supreme Court whether the 
resignation should be accepted.  The State Bar Court’s recommendation must be 
made in light of the grounds set forth in subsection (d) of this rule and, if the State 
Bar Court recommends acceptance of the resignation notwithstanding the existence 
of one or more of the grounds set forth in subsection (d), the State Bar Court’s 
recommendation must include an explanation of the reasons for the recommendation 
that the resignation be accepted. and, if so, whether testimony should be preserved. The 
Office of the Clerk of the State Bar Court must transmit to the Clerk of the Supreme 
Court three certified copies of the Board’s State Bar Court’s recommendation together 
with the member’s resignation, when, by the terms of the Board’s State Bar Court’s 
recommendation, the resignation should be transmitted to the Supreme Court.  

(d) [Grounds for Rejection of Resignation by the Supreme Court] 

The Supreme Court will make such orders concerning the member’s resignation as it 
deems appropriate. The Supreme Court may decline to accept the resignation based on a 
report by the State Bar Court Board of Governors that: 

(1) Preservation of necessary testimony is not complete; 

(2) After transfer to inactive status, the member has practiced law or has advertised or 
held himself or herself out as entitled to practice law; 

(3) The member has failed to perform the acts specified by rule 9.20(a)-(b); 

(4) That the The member has failed to provide proof of compliance as specified in 
rule 9.20(c); 

(5) The Supreme Court has filed an order of disbarment as to the member; or 

(6) The State Bar Court has filed a decision or opinion recommending the 
member’s disbarment; 

(7) The member has previously resigned or has been disbarred and reinstated to 
the practice of law; 
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(8) The member and the Chief Trial Counsel have not reached agreement on a 
written stipulation as to facts and conclusions of law regarding the 
disciplinary matters and proceedings that were pending against the member 
at the time the resignation was tendered; or 

(9) On such other evidence as may show that acceptance Acceptance of the 
resignation of the member will reasonably be inconsistent with the need to protect 
the public, the courts, or the legal profession. 

 
 

RULES OF PROCEDURE OF 
THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA 

 
 
RULE 658. CONSIDERATION AND TRANSMITTAL OF RESIGNATIONS 

WITH DISCIPLINARY CHARGES PENDING 
 
(a) The written resignation of a member against whom disciplinary charges are 

pending shall be submitted to the Clerk of the State Bar Court in Los 
Angeles. The Clerk shall file the resignation if it is dated, bears the original 
signature of the member and is in the form required by rule 9.21(b) of the 
California Rules of Court.  Upon the filing of the resignation, the Clerk shall 
serve a copy of the resignation upon the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel. 

 
(b) Within sixty (60) days from the date upon which the member’s resignation is 

filed, the member and the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel shall enter into a 
written stipulation as to facts and conclusions of law regarding any 
disciplinary complaints, investigations or proceedings that are pending 
against the member at the time his or her resignation was filed with the 
Clerk of the State Bar Court.  If the member and the Office of the Chief 
Trial Counsel have not entered into such stipulation, the Office of the Chief 
Trial Counsel shall report that fact and the reasons therefor to the State Bar 
Court Review Department within the aforementioned 60-day period.  Such 
report shall be served upon the member pursuant to rule 61.  Within sixty 
(60) days of the date upon which the member’s resignation is filed, the Office 
of the Chief Trial Counsel shall also file with the State Bar Court Review 
Department and serve upon the member pursuant to rule 61, a report setting 
forth the extent, if any, to which any of the factors enumerated in rule 9.21(d) 
of the California Rules of Court are present and whether, in light of the 
application of those factors, the member’s resignation should be accepted. 

 
(c) Within thirty (30) days of service of the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel’s 

report regarding the acceptance of the member’s resignation, the member 
may file with the State Bar Court Review Department a response to the 
Office of the Chief Trial Counsel’s report and shall serve such response on 
the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel. 
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(d) Within thirty (30) days of the filing of the member’s response to the report of 

the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel’s report or the expiration of the period 
for filing such response, which occurs first, the Presiding Judge or the State 
Bar Court Review Department shall file an order or decision pursuant to 
rule 9.21(c) of the California Rules of Court recommending, in light of the 
factors enumerated in rule 9.21(d) of that rule, whether the member’s 
resignation should be accepted by the Supreme Court and the reasons for the 
Presiding Judge’s or Review Department’s recommendation.  

 
(e) Within fifteen (15) days of the filing of the Presiding Judge’s or Review 

Department’s order regarding the member’s resignation, the Clerk of the 
State Bar Court shall transmit the member’s resignation to the Clerk of the 
Supreme Court, together with the Presiding Judge’s or Review Department’s 
recommending regarding acceptance or rejection of the resignation. 
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