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What other steps should | take?

The Fund can reimburse you only if a lawyer lost
your money or property through an act of theft and
has been disciplined through the State Bar
discipline system. Depending on the seriousness
of the offense, a lawyer can be given a warning, put
on probation, suspended from practicing law for a
period of time, or disbarred - prohibited from
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practicing law in California.
The processing of an application for reimbursement C I ’ I l ’ I
from the Fund is separate from the handling of any
discipline complaint you may have filed. The Client
Security Fund is responsible for handling your
application for reimbursement; the Office of the
Chief Trial Counsel is responsible for your discipline
complaint.
If you have not already done so, you need to file l ]
a discipline complaint against the lawyer. For a F ND
discipline complaint form, write or call toll-free:
The State Bar of California - Intake Unit
1149 South Hill Street
Los Angeles, CA 90015-2299
Telephone: (800) 843-9053
Also depending on the circumstances, you may be able
to take the lawyer to court or seek criminal charges i () l | ‘)
against the lawyer. Since the law does not allow the )
State Bar to give you legal advice, you may want to
consult a new lawyer about these matters. The filing of
a CSF application does not stop any statute of limitations
from running so you should continue to explore other
remedies available to you. For example, any legal
deadline for filing a lawsuit is not stopped or extended
because you filed an application. In case a deadline is
approaching, you should act promptly. If you do not
know a lawyer who can help, call a Lawyer Referral

Service in your area; the services are listed in the Yellow
Pages of the telephone directory.




Can the Client Security
Fund help you?

l What is the Client Security Fund?
What kind of losses are covered?

Who can apply?

Who decides whether an application will
be paid?

How can | apply?
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This brochure is only a summary of the CSF Rules.
Eligibility for reimbursement is determined under the
complete rules; please refer to the CSF Rules for
complete details.
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1 What is the Client Security Fund?

The Fund reimburses clients who have lost money or
property due to theft or acts tantamount to theft
committed by a California lawyer acting in a professional
capacity. This is a State Bar program supported entirely
by California lawyers. The Client Security Fund
reimburses eligible applicants up to $50,000, or
$100,000 for losses occurring on or after January 1,
20009.

2 What kind of losses are covered?

The fund can reimburse you up to $50,000, or $100,000
for losses occurring on or after January 1, 2009, for
thefts by a lawyer. It covers money or property lost
because a lawyer was dishonest. It does not cover a
loss simply because the lawyer acted incompetently or
failed to take a certain action.

Typical losses covered:

theft of personal injury settlement funds or other
funds entrusted to the lawyer;
failure to refund fees when the lawyer performed
no services;
the borrowing of money from a client without the
intention or the reasonably anticipated ability to
repay it;

+ obtaining money or property from a client by
representing that it would be used for investment
purposes when no investment is made.

By law, the Fund is only allowed to reimburse for
dishonest conduct. The Fund does not cover “interest,”
“incidental or consequential losses” or “expenses”
caused by the attorney. Examples of incidental or
consequential losses would include fees you paid another
attorney or damages caused by the attorney’s
malpractice, negligence or incompetence.

To qualify for reimbursement from the fund, you must
be able to show that the money or property came into
the lawyer’s hands.

3 Who can apply?

If you believe your loss is covered, you can apply for
reimbursement. You do not have to be a United States
citizen.

However, under our rules, certain applicants are
excluded. If you are the spouse or other close relative
of the lawyer in question, or the lawyer’s business
partner, employer or employee, or a business
controlled by the lawyer, the fund cannot reimburse
you. Also, the fund cannot reimburse for losses
suffered by government entities or agencies.

4 Who decides whether an

application will be paid?

The Client Security Fund Commission decides
whether you qualify for reimbursement from the fund,
and, if so, whether part or all of your application will
be paid. The Commission is made up of seven
volunteers - four lawyers and three non-lawyers -
appointed by the State Bar Board of Governors.

5 How can | apply?

For a CSF application form, write or call:

The State Bar of California - Client Security Fund
1149 South Hill Street
Los Angeles, CA 90015-2299
Telephone: (213) 765-1140
http://www.calbar.ca.gov

Filing an application is free. You do not need a lawyer
to apply but you may hire one if you wish.



