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REFUND OF FEES POLICY 
 

The following schedule has been adopted for the refund of fees associated with the 
filing of the Registration form, an Application to Take the California Bar Examination, an 
Application to Take the First-Year Law Students' Examination, an Application for 
Determination of Moral Character, or an Application for Extension of Determination of 
Moral Character.  Applicants must be registered prior to submitting any application.  The 
Registration form may be filed simultaneously with the application; however, the 
application and fees will be returned if the registration is not approved within ten days of 
receipt of the application. 
 
The transfer of fees from one examination to another is prohibited. 
 
WITHDRAWALS 
 
In order for a refund to be processed according to the schedule, an express withdrawal 
must be in writing and actually received in the State Bar’s Office of Admissions no later 
than the established deadlines.  STOPPING PAYMENT ON A CHECK, OR 
DISHONORING A CHECK, OR DISPUTING A CREDIT CARD CHARGE, DOES NOT 
CONSTITUTE WITHDRAWING FROM AN EXAMINATION. 
 
Application to Take the California Bar Examination/First-Year Law Students' 
Examination 
 
1. Withdrawal of applications and requests for refunds received within 30 days after the 

deadline for timely filing, both by first time and repeater applicants, will be honored 
with a 60% refund of all fees paid in conjunction with the subject examination. 

 
2. Withdrawal of applications and requests for refunds received within 45 days after the 

deadline for timely filing, by first-time applicants, will be honored with a 30% refund 
of all fees paid in conjunction with the subject examination.  This deadline also 
applies to those applicants who have previously taken an examination but who did 
not take the most recent examination.  Withdrawal of applications and requests for 
refunds received within 35 days after the deadline for timely filing by applicants 
seeking to repeat the examination having been unsuccessful on the examination last 
administered preceding the examination into which current admission was sought 
will be honored with a 30% refund of all fees paid in conjunction with the subject 
examination. 

 
3. Requests for refunds filed in excess of 45 days after the deadline for timely filing, by 

first-time applicants, and applicants who have previously taken an examination but 
who did not take the most recent examination, will not be considered. 
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Requests for refunds filed in excess of 35 days after the deadline for timely filing by 
applicants seeking to repeat the examination, having been unsuccessful on the 
examination last administered preceding the examination into which current 
admission was sought, will not be considered. 

 
Application for Determination of Moral Character 
 
1. Withdrawal of Applications for Determination of Moral Character and requests for 

refunds received within 30 days of the online submittal date, for online applications, 
or the received date, for paper form applications, will be honored with a 60% refund 
of all fees paid in conjunction with the Application for Determination of Moral 
Character. 

 
REGISTRATION/EXAMINATION INELIGIBILITY 
 
1. Applicants for registration found to be ineligible due to a lack of pre-legal education 

will qualify for a 100% refund of all fees paid in conjunction with registration. 
 
 In order for an examination ineligibility refund to be processed according to the 

schedule, certified transcripts or certificate(s) of good standing for attorney 
applicants to the Attorneys’ Examination must be received in the State Bar’s Office 
of Admissions no later than the established deadlines, which are published as part of 
the application materials. 

 
2. Applicants who applied to take the General Bar Examination found to be ineligible 

due to a lack of the requisite legal education will qualify for a 60% refund of 
qualifying fees paid in conjunction with the subject examination. 

 
3. Attorney applicants who applied to take the Attorneys’ Examination found to be 

ineligible due to a lack of the requisite qualifications will qualify for a 60% refund of 
qualifying fees paid in conjunction with the subject examination.   

 
4. Applicants who applied to take to the First-Year Law Students' Examination found to 

be ineligible due to a lack of the requisite legal education will qualify for a 60% 
refund of qualifying fees paid in conjunction with the subject examination. 

 
DEATH OR PHYSICAL INCAPACITY 
 

Refunds in the amount of 95% of all fees paid in conjunction with the subject 
examination will be made according to the following schedule for those situations 
wherein any of the following prevents an applicant from taking the First-Year Law 
Students’ Examination or the California Bar Examination.  In the case of physical 
incapacity, the refund will be made only in instances of severe, unavoidable and 
incapacitating circumstances.  Documentation relative to death or physical incapacity 
must accompany any request for refund according to the following schedule. 
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1. Death, serious illness or disabling injury of a member of the applicant's immediate 
family that occurred after submittal of an application for the examination but prior to 
the administration of the subject examination and which death, illness or injury is 
certified on a copy of a death certificate or the Committee's form; 

 
2. Applicant's serious disabling illness or injury that occurred after submittal of an 

application for the examination but prior to the administration of the subject 
examination and which illness or injury is certified on the Committee's form under 
penalty of perjury; and, 

 
3. Calamitous occurrences involving the applicant such as unanticipated call to active 

duty in the armed forces, loss of freedom due to terrorist acts, or disorientation due 
to fire, flood or other severe disaster over which the applicant had no control and the 
existence of which had not terminated 30 days or less prior to the administration of 
the subject examination. 

 
APPLICATION ABANDONMENT 
 
Registrations that are not brought to a complete and approved status within 60 days of 
receipt will be abandoned.  A registration will be deemed approved when the requisite 
fees, signature, properly executed declaration, and all required documentation verifying 
eligibility have been provided. 
 
First-Year Law Students’ Examination and California Bar Examination applications not 
brought to a complete and filed status by the final filing deadline will be abandoned.  
This includes:  (1) applications not signed, (2) application declarations not received, (3) 
application fees not received or incomplete, (4) applications incomplete, and (5) 
approved registrations not on file.  Applications with fee payments found to be invalid 
after the final filing deadline will be abandoned. 
 
First-Year Law Students’ Examination and California Bar Examination applications 
without eligibility determinations by the final eligibility deadline will be abandoned. 
 
Moral character determination applications that are not brought to a complete and filed 
status within 60 days of the online submittal date, for online applications, or the received 
date, for paper form applications, will be abandoned.  This includes the lack of requisite 
fees, signature, or required information/documentation.  Once the moral character 
determination application is in filed status, if the applicant receives notice to provide 
information, but does not provide such information within 90 days of the request, the 
application will be abandoned. 
 
No refund of fees will be paid in the event a registration or application is abandoned.  If 
the registration or application has an outstanding balance at the time of the 
abandonment, the outstanding balance must be paid before any future registration or 
application is processed. 
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NET REFUND AMOUNT 
 
If an applicant qualifies for a refund in accordance with this Refund of Fees Policy for a 
registration or application, but has an outstanding balance due for subject registration or 
application, the net refund amount will be the qualifying refund amount minus the 
corresponding portion of the fees owed. 
 
If an applicant qualifies for a refund in accordance with this Refund of Fees Policy for a 
registration or application, but has an outstanding balance due for other transactions, the net 
refund amount will be the qualifying refund amount minus the balance due for the other 
transactions. 
  

 


