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Law Corporation Certificate of Registration 

IMPORTANT NOTES

LAW CORPORATION ADDRESS
The official address of a limited liability partnership is maintained by the State Bar’s Law 
Corporation administration unit. To report a change of address, complete Contact Information on 
the Renewal OR send us your request in writing on your letterhead, signed by an authorized 
shareholder.  Changing an individual member's address with the State Bar’s Office of 
Membership Records WILL NOT automatically change the official Law Corporation’s 
address.

LAW CORPORATION NAME/ NAME CHANGES 
The exact registered name is the only name under which a law corporation may practice law.  In 
order for this office to issue a new Certificate of Registration under the corporation’s new name, we 
require the original certified documentation of the change from the Secretary of State, as well as a 
revised Guarantee showing New Name and original signatures of all shareholders.  Please see 
Law Corporation Name Definitions & Abbreviations to assist in determining your Law Corporation 
name.

FILING FEE
A filing fee of $75 must be submitted when filing the Law Corporation Annual Report.  Please make 
checks payable to The State Bar of California.  If the Report and fee are not postmarked by 
specified deadline, a late fee of $110 will attach, for a total filing fee of $185.  Please note that we 
are unable to accept credit card payments at this time.

LAW CORPORATION GUARANTEE (completed initially at the time of application) 
The Standard Law Corporation Guarantee (FORM “C-1") will be returned if: the dollar amounts are 
below the minimum requirements; the guarantee is not executed by all shareholders; or if the 
guarantee does not list a Date Effective and/or Date Executed. Law Corporations practicing in 
partnership with other registered law corporations may file FORM “C-2" - Guarantee for Law 
Corporations Practicing in Partnership with Other Law Corporations to satisfy their guarantee 
requirements. Only one guarantee with original signatures of all shareholders of the respective 
corporations need be executed and returned to us. Photocopies of this guarantee should be provided 
and filed with each of the corporations' Annual Reports. (Rule 3.157).

This is initially completed at the time of application, but will need to be updated if: there is a change in 
shareholder, change in name of Law Corporation or change in total number of attorneys covered.

REVOCATION REQUEST
A law corporation's Certificate of Registration remains active until it is revoked by The State Bar of 
California.  Please follow the revocation procedural instructions available on our web site at 
www.calbar.ca.gov.  Be advised that you must ensure that your request for revocation is 
received in our office by the annual filing deadline.

 If your law corporation ceased to practice prior to January 1 of the current year, and 
you will be requesting a backdated revocation of the Certificate of Registration, you are 
NOT required to file a Law Corporation Annual Report for that current year.

 If your law corporation ceased to practice on or after January 1 of that current year, 
you ARE required to file a Law Corporation Annual Report and pay the filing fee, before 
proceeding with your request for revocation.

For additional questions, Call Member Services at 1-888-800-3400 or email lawcorp@calbar.ca.gov

*Click here for Law Corporation Rules.
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