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GOVERNOR SCHWARZENEGGER
SWORN IN

Actor/businessman Arnold Schwarzenegger was
sworn in this morning as the 38th Governor of
California by Chief Justice Ronald George. In a
heavily-idealistic inaugural address reaffirming his
commitment to working with both Republicans and
Democrats and the end of “politics as usual,”
Schwarzenegger promised to immediately sign an
executive order repealing the recent 300% increase
in the Vehicle License Fee (see story below) and to
call the Legislature into special session to deal with
the state’s massive budget deficit and to repeal SB
60, the bill enacted last September to permit illegal
immigrants to obtain California drivers licenses.

In anticipation of the promised proclamation, the
Assembly was scheduled to meet in special session
at 4:00 p.m. Tuesday, November 18. The Senate
was also anticipating meeting at the same time,
though no official announcement had yet been
made.

Capitol sources suggested that the Legislature
would meet briefly this week in special session, then
recess until the first week in December.

MORE KEY STAFF POSITIONS FILLED

Governor Schwarzenegger last week appointed
Margita Thompson as Press Secretary and Cynthia
Bryant as Chief Deputy Legislative Secretary.

P Thompson, 36, was most recently a

4 1 producer of CNN’s “Larry King Live.”
' i . She worked in the past for two of

Schwarzenegger's primary advisers —
former Gov. Pete Wilson and former
Los Angeles Mayor Richard Riordan.

Bryant, 44, is a 20-year Capitol veteran, and is
currently the director for the Senate Republican
Office of Policy. She has been legal counsel to the
Assembly Republican Caucus and deputy chief
administrative officer and legal counsel to the
Assembly Rules Committee.

VEHICLE LICENSE FEES

Governor Schwarzenegger’s inaugural address
restatement of his intent to repeal the recent
tripling of the state’s Vehicle License Fee (VLF) was
perhaps the major applause line of the speech. The
question is how the repeal will be achieved.
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The vehicle license fee is a fee on the ownership of a
registered motor vehicle in California, in lieu of a
personal property tax on vehicles. Originally, motor
vehicles were subject to a property tax, which is
administered by local governments. In 1934, in
order to simplify the tax administration, vehicles
became subject to a state-imposed VLF and were
specifically exempted from property tax levies.
However, the revenues derived from the VLF were
returned to local governments for their
discretionary use.

In 1998, with the state experiencing a revenue
surplus of over $4 billion, then-Governor Wilson
and the Legislature were eager to provide
Californians with some form of tax relief after the
fiscal constraints and substantial tax increases of
the early 1990’s. The VLF had become a popular
target for tax cuts when Virginia repealed its vehicle
license fee. Thus, as part of the 1998-99 budget, the
VLF was reduced permanently by 25 percent, with
potential additional reductions tied directly to state
General Fund revenue growth. If specified revenue
forecasts (triggers) were attained, reductions would
increase to 35 percent in 2001 and further increase
up to 67.5 percent in future fiscal years. Each time
the VLF was reduced, the statute provided that
cities and counties would continue to receive the
same amount of revenues as under prior law, with
the reduced VLF amounts supplanted by state
General Fund dollars.

However, the legislation implementing the VLF also
contained a provision for increasing the fee when
state revenue forecasts declined. Such forecast
came into play earlier this year as the state sought to
deal with a massive budget deficit estimated to be as
high as $38 billion. The Dept. of Finance, in early
June, notified the DMV that, as of June 20, 2003,
the state would not have sufficient moneys available
to be transferred from the General Fund to fund the
VLF offsets. Since such funding was guaranteed
under Proposition 47 of 1986, the DOF letter thus
“pulled the trigger” to restore the VLF to its full
prior level, without the need for legislative action.

Given the nature of the trigger mechanism, there
has been considerable debate regarding whether the
Governor can unilaterally rescind the VLF increase
by executive order. The questions are how many
lawsuits will be filed in a effort to block the return to
lower vehicle license fees, and where the state will
find the money — roughly $3 billion — to backfill
VLF revenues slated for allocation to local
governments.
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