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DATE ISSUED: December 1, 2010

MEMBER NUMBER: 400001

A Sample Member

A Sample Law Firm

STATUS: Active
ACCESS CODE: AB013227

The State Bar of California

180 Howard St. Fifth Floor MBS
San Francisco CA 94105-6151

MCLE GROUP: 3
MCLE DUE(SEE INSERT): 02/01/2011

2011

FEES & COSTS

OPTIONAL
DONATIONS

See reverse

SECTIONS AND
LEGAL
SPECIALISTS

Provide an opportunity

for attorneys to learn
about new developments in
the law, participate in
educational programs and
network with colleagues

OPTIONAL
DEDUCTIONS

TOTAL PAYMENT
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10.

11.

13.

14.

16.

17.
18.

19.
20.

2

-

22.

23.

24.

25.

MEMBER FEES & MCLE COMPLIANCE DUE FEB. 1, 2011. PENALTIES ATTACH FEB. 2, 2011.

Detach this portion of the statement

and return with payment. No copies accepted.
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Use for sections Only
(lines 19 & 20)

calbar.ca.gov/feestatement 1-888-800-3400
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. 2011 Membership Fee Active 1 $410.00
. Late Payment Penalty ($100 for active lawyers. $30 for inactive lawyers. Attaches Feb. 2) 2
. MCLE Non-Compliance Fee ($75) and/or
Reinstatement Fee ($200 for prior non-compliance) 3
. Client Security Fund Reimbursement 4
. Discipline Costs 5
. Mandatory Fee Arbitration Administrative Penalties 6
. Past Due and/or Reinstatement Fee 7
. Payments/Credits/Adjustments 8
SUBTOTAL lines 1-8 9 $410.00
Access to Justice. Helps close the justice gap for needy Californians by voluntary donations to legal aid, 5
pursuant to AB 2301. Visit calbar.org/justicegapfund. Recommended donation: $100 10 $100.00 -g
SUBTOTAL with Recommended Access to Justice Donation 11 $510.00 < ©
If you wish to enter a different amount from line 10 or make no donation, write that amount here. 12 < =
If line 12 completed, SUBTOTAL with different or no Voluntary Access to Justice Donation. <C o
Add lines 9 and 12 and enter that value here. 13 - o
California Bar Foundation. Visit calbarfoundation.org. Recommended donation: $50 14 $50.00 © £
. Conference of California Bar Associations (CCBA). Visit calconference.org. Recommended donation: $35 15 $35.00 8 (‘B
California Supreme Court Historical Society (CSCHS). Visit cschs.org. Recommended donation: $25 16 $25.00 g <
Certified Legal Specialist Fee Estate 17 $295.00
Current Section Membership
Visit calbar.ca.gov/sections. A, B, C 18 $225.00
A. Antitrust & Unfair Competition $75 |. Law Practice Management & Technology $75
B. Business Law $75 J. Litigation $75 [ Add
C. Criminal Law $75 K. Public Law $75 (@)
D. Environmental Law $75 L. Real Property Law $75 0
E. Family Law $75 M. Solo Practice & Small Firm $75 0
F. Intellectual Property Law $75 N. Taxation $75
G. International Law $75 O. Trusts & Estates $75 0
H. Labor & Employment Law $75 P. Workers' Compensation $75 O
Add a Section Shade the bubbles(s) and add the increased amount $ 19. + 0
Drop a Section Shade the bubble(s) and subtract the reduced amount $( 20, - (@)
0
. Legislative Activity Members who do not want to fund the State Bar's lobbying and 0]
other legislative activity may deduct $5. (see B&P § 6140.05) $ ( 21 0
Bar Relations & Elimination of Bias Members who do not want to fund programs that 0
support voluntary bar associations or address bias in the legal profession may deduct $5.
(see Keller v. State Bar of California (1990) 496 U.S. 1) $( 22 O
Temporary Emergency Legal Services Voluntary Assistance Option Members who do 0
not want to support nonprofit organizations that provide free legal services to indigent and disadvantaged 0
persons may deduct $10. (See B&P§6140.01) $( 23
Fee scaling Declaration on reverse must accompany payment (active members only). Deadline (@)
to scale Feb. 1, 2011 $( 24 0
TOTAL PAYMENT. Choose line 11 or line 13 as subtotal and add to it lines 14-24. Pay online,
with no bank fee, at calbar.ca.gov or make checks payable to the State Bar of California and
mail in the enclosed envelope by Feb.1, 2011 to avoid penalty. U.S. dollars only $ 25

ENCLOSED TOTAL (blue or black ink only) $
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2011 Annual Fee Statement

1.2011 Membership Fee Must be paid online or post-
marked by Feb. I, 2011 (Bus. & Prof. Code §§6140, 6141).
Failure to pay will lead to penalties and suspension (§6143).

Active Membership Fee $410.To transfer from
inactive to active status, submit the required form
(calbar.ca.gov/active) by fax or mail. 201 | Active Fee:
General Fund, $315 (B&P §6140); Client Security Fund,
$40 (§6140.55); Discipline, $25 (§6140.6); LAP, $10
(§6140.9); IT Special Assessment, $10 (§6140.35); and
Building Fund, $10 (§6140.3). The IT assessment will be
used to upgrade the information technology system,
including purchasing and maintenance costs and both
computer hardware and software. Expires Jan. |, 2014.

Inactive Membership Fee $125. For current active
members to change status and qualify for the 201 |
inactive fee, the required status change form
(calbar.ca.gov/inactive) must be completed and post-
marked by Feb. |, 201 1. The membership fee for inactive
attorneys 70 years or older is waived. 201 | Inactive Fee:
General Fund, $75 (B&P §6141); Client Security Fund,
$10 (§6140.55); Discipline, $25 (§6140.6); LAP, $5
(§6140.9); and Building Fund, $10 (§6140.3).

Multijurisdictional Practice (MJP) Fee $410.
Applies to out-of-state attorneys registered with the
State Bar as legal services attorneys or in-house counsel.

2. Late Payment Penalty If fees are not paid online or
postmarked by Feb. |, 2011, members will be subject to a
penalty {$100 for active members/$30 for inactive members).

3. MCLE Non-Compliance Fee Members of Group 3 (last
names N-Z) whose MCLE compliance is not submitted online
or postmarked by Feb. |, 2011, will be subject to a $75 non-
compliance fee. Those who fail to comply will be placed on
administrative inactive status and assessed a $200 reinstate-
ment fee.

4. Client Security Fund Reimbursement Amount owed
to Client Security Fund (Bus. & Prof. Code §6140.5(c)).

5. Discipline Costs The cost of disciplinary proceedings
against 2 member awarded to the State Bar (Bus. & Prof. Code

§§6086.10, 6140.7).

6. Mandatory Fee Arbitration Administrative Penalties
Members who do not pay an arbitration award may be assessed
administrative penalties {Bus. & Prof. Code §6203(d)(3)).

7. Past Due and/or Reinstatement Fee Amount from
prior year(s). A reinstatement fee of $100 will be assessed to
any member suspended for non-payment.

8. Payments/Credits/Adjustments Adjustments from
changes in status, overpayments from previous years, or
payments made and applied in current year.

9. SUBTOTAL Lines |-8. Mandatory fees, must be paid by
Feb. 1,2011.

10.Voluntary Access to Justice Donation Contributions
will be placed in the Justice Gap Fund for distribution to eligible
legal services programs (Bus. & Prof. Code §6033).
Contributions are deductible as charitable contributions to the
extent provided by law. Visit calbar.org/justicegapfund.
Members may contribute more or less than the recommended
donation or elect to make no donation.

1 1. SUBTOTAL with Voluntary Access to Justice
Donation Your mandatory fees plus the $100 recommended
donation to the Justice Gap Fund.

12. If you want to change the amount of the Voluntary Access
to Justice Donation or make no donation, write in the appropri-
ate amount.

13. SUBTOTAL with different or no Voluntary Access
to Justice Donation If you entered an amount on line 12,
please add lines 9 and 12 and enter the amount of your subtotal.

14. California Bar Foundation Contributions are deductible
as charitable contributions to the extent provided by law. Visit
calbarfoundation.org.

I15. Conference of California Bar Associations (CCBA)
Contributions are not deductible as charitable contributions, but
any portion of the contribution not allocated by CCBA for lob-
bying expenditures may be deductible as an ordinary and neces-
sary business expense (IRC §162(e)). CCBA estimates that
approximately 50 percent of any contribution will be spent on
lobbying. Visit calconference.org.

16. California Supreme Court Historical Society
(CSCHS) Contributions are deductible as charitable contribu-
tions to the extent provided by law. Visit cschs.org.

17. Certified Legal Specialist Fee Certified Specialists pay
this fee to cover the costs of the Legal Specialization Program.
Fees paid after Feb. | will be subject to a $50 penalty.

18. Current Section Membership For information on
sections, visit calbar.ca.gov/sections.

19-20. Renew Section Membership Add or drop a section.

21. Legislative Activity Members who do not want to fund
lobbying and other legislative activity may deduct $5 (Bus. &
Prof. Code §6140.05).

22. Bar Relations & Elimination of Bias Members who do
not want to fund activities with voluntary bar associations or
programs that address concerns of access and bias in the legal
profession and the justice system may deduct $5 (Keller v. State
Bar of Cdlifornia (1990) 496 US.I).

23.Temporary Emergency Legal Services Voluntary
Assistance Option Members who do not want to support
nonprofit organizations that provide free legal services to indi-
gent and disadvantaged persons may deduct $10 (Bus. & Prof.
Code §6140.01).

24. Scaling Active members with qualifying income only. See
Fee Scaling Criteria and Scaling Declaration (right). If eligible,
deduct $102.50. If the State Bar determines you are ineligible,
you will be responsible for the full fee and any applicable late
payment penalty.

25.TOTAL PAYMENT Choose line || or line 13 as sub-
total and add to it lines 14-24 (U.S. dollars only).

OVERPAYMENT/UNDERPAYMENT

Overpayment If a member pays too much, the bar may either
return the overpayment or contact the member to determine
its allocation.

Underpayment Payments received will be used to first satisfy
the annual membership fees, costs and penalties, regardless of
any other optional designations made, such as section member-
ship or donations.

OPT OUT

The State Bar may provide members’ names and addresses to
outside entities that offer programs, services, benefits and other
information to members. Members may choose to remove
their names and addresses from these lists. Those opting out
will not receive information about special programs, services
and benefits. The State Bar will continue to maintain certain
membership information as public record, and opting out will
not affect the use of such information for regulatory purposes.

Members may opt out {l) on the Web — go to My State Bar
Profile>Account Information>Update My Mailing Preferences
{opt out); or (2) by e-mailing a request to memrec@calbar.ca.gov
(include your bar numbery).

FEE SCALING CRITERIA

An active member who can demonstrate total gross annual
individual income from all sources of less than $40,000 pre-
sumptively qualifies for a waiver of 25 percent of the annual
membership fee.

In general, gross annual income is based on the total income
(not adjusted gross income) as listed on your federal income
tax form. For 2011, gross annual income should be based
on your earnings for 2010. For joint return filers, exclude
wages and salary earned by your spouse. For other income
jointly earned (i.e., interest, dividends, business income, rents
and royalties), include 50 percent of joint earnings in the calcu-
lation of individual gross income.

Members who scale may be audited and required to submit recent
tax returns or other proof of eligibility. Members found to be
ineligible must pay full fees and applicable late payment penalty.

Scaling does not apply to new admittees admitted on June |,
2011, and after.

For additional information regarding the fee scaling criteria,
refer to the State Bar’s Web site at calbar.ca.gov.

OFFICIAL ADDRESS & E-MAIL REQUIREMENTS

Under Bus. & Prof. Code §6002.1, members have 30 days to
notify the State Bar of a change of address. California Rule of
Court 9.7 now requires members to report such changes
through the State Bar’s online self-service feature, “My State
Bar Profile.” The rule also requires members to provide and
maintain an e-mail address for receiving State Bar communica-
tions. First-time users of ‘““‘My State Bar Profile” will need
the personal Access Code printed on the front of this state-
ment. Returning users should use their personal password.
Please call the Member Services Center at |-888-800-3400
with any questions.

calbar.ca.gov/feestatement

1-888-800-3400

SCALING DECLARATION

Active members with qualifying income levels are eligible for a 25 percent reduction ($102.50) in their annual membership fee and may pay an adjusted

fee of $307.50 (Business & Professions Code §6141.1(b)). For members who qualify, make the deduction on line 24.

| am an active member of The State Bar of California. To the best of my information and belief, in tax year 2010 my total gross annual individual income

from all sources was less than $40,000. | will maintain financial records for a minimum of two years supporting my declaration and will provide them to
the State Bar in the event of an audit (Business & Professions Code §6141.1(a)). If | am found ineligible, | will pay full fees and any applicable late payment

penalty.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

400001

Bar Number:

Name: A Sample Member

Date (deadline is Feb. 1,201 1)

Signature

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE






