TITLE 2. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF MEMBERS

DIVISION 1. MEMBER RECORD

Rule 2.1 Roll of attorneys

The State Bar maintains, on the official membership records of the State Bar, the roll
of all attorneys admitted to practice in California.*

Rule 2.2 Public information
A member record contains public information, including the following:

(A) last name, first name, and any middle names;
(B) State Bar member number;
c)_d ™  birth:?
(D) address and telephone number;
(E) e-mail address;
(F) date of admission in California;

(G) places and dates of admission in other jurisdictions before admission in
California;

(H) membership status;
() date of any transfer from one membership status to another;
(J) date and period of any discipline; and

(K) any other information as directed by the Supreme Court or otherwise
required by law.

Rule 2.3 Duty to update member record

(A) A member must inform the State Bar of a change of address, telephone
number, or e-mail address no later than 30 days after making the change.

! California Rule of Court, Rule 9.6. 950.5;-states-that “The-State-Bar shall-maintain,-as-part-of- the-official

% Rule 2.2 iis a selective rather than an exhaustive list of member record items that are public record. Although member
date and place of birth are public information and are disclosed upon request, staff proposes eliminating date and place of
birth from this list so as not to facilitate identity theft. If the board accepts this recommendation and subpart C is
eliminated, the other subparts of the rule would be put into sequence.
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The member must report a change of address or telephone humber online
or using the State Bar Address Change Form.® The member must make a
change of e-mail address online.

(B) A member must inform the State Bar of a change of name no later than 30
days after making the change. The member must report the change using
the State Bar Name Change Form.*

Rule 2.4 Confidential treatment of address history®

Every member must maintain with the State Bar a non-confidential current address,® but
upon the request of a member, the State Bar will not publicly disclose a member’s prior
address.

DIVISION 2. ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP FEES AND PENALTIES

Rule 2.10 Definitions

(A) “Annual membership fees” are those fees that any member must pay to
maintain active or inactive membership in a calendar year. These fees may
include additional assessments and costs prescribed by law.’

(B) “Penalties” are the surcharges assessed any member who fails to pay
annual membership fees on time.

Rule 2.11 Due date

A member must pay the annual membership fees set forth in the Schedule of
Charges and Deadlines each calendar year no later than February 1.

Rule 2.12 New members

A new member must be enrolled as active and pay initial fees within 39 45 days® of
the invoice date for the fees as follows:

(A) full annual membership fees if admitted between January 1 and May 31;

(B) half the annual membership fees if admitted between June 1 and
November 30;

(C) the administrative fee for admission set forth in the Schedule of Charges
and Deadlines if admitted in December.

-ca-gov/sta 4Sp~ : - This and all other
URLSs should be deleted because they are apt to change and because the online version of the rules will include
Qyperlinks to any forms referenced in the rules.

® Such a provision was previously included in Article | and inadvertently omitted in Title 2.
® See Business and Professions Code § 6002.1 (a)(1).
” See Business & Professions Code §§ 6140.5, 6140.7.

8 This change was made by the board.
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Rule 2.13 Late payment penalties

Late payment of annual membership fees is subject to the penalties set forth in the
Schedule of Charges and Deadlines.

Rule 2.14 No refund

Unless these rules provide otherwise, a member is not entitled to a refund of annual
membership fees because of death, resignation, disbarment, transfer to inactive
status, entering judicial office, or for any other reason.

Rule 2.15 Scaling

(A) An active member who has a total gross annual individual income from all
sources of less than $40,000 may request to-scale-er+educe a 25%
reduction of® annual membership fees by-25%. The request must be
submitted by the date set forth in the Schedule of Charges and Deadlines
and include

(1) the Active Member Fee Scaling Declaration;20-a-declaration
signed™! under penalty of perjury; and

(2) payment of the reduced fee.

New members admitted after May 31 do not qualify for scaling. but-must
pay-halfthe-annual-membership-fees.*

(B) An employer that receives State Bar Legal Services Trust Fund grants and
is a qualified legal services project or qualified support center as defined by
statute’® may seale-orreduce request a reduction of annual membership
fees by 25% for an active member employed on a continuous full-time
basis. The request must be submitted by the date set forth in the Schedule
of Charges and of Deadlines and include

(1) the Qualified Employer Fee Scaling Declaration;-a-declaration
signed under penalty of perjury that the employer is qualified and
pays annual membership fees on the member’s behalf; and

(2) payment of the reduced fee.
(C) Members who scale are subject to audit and upon request must provide the

State Bar with past federal and state income tax returns or other acceptable
documentation of financial condition.

® This change eliminates the possibility of reading “scale or reduce” as alternative possibilities. The change has also been
H]\ade to part B of this rule.

Y This change eliminates the possibility of reading the rule as referring to two different declarations. The change has also
been made to part B of this rule.

12 Rule 2.12, on new members, makes this point. The deleted words are redundant.

'3 See Business & Professions Code § 6210 et seq.
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(D) If the State Bar determines that a member is ineligible to scale, the member
must pay full annual membership fees and any late payment penalties.

Rule 2.16 Waivers

(A) Inthis rule, “annual membership fees” and “penalties” are construed
narrowly and do not include

(1) disciplinary costs*or monetary sanctions,*®
(2) Client Security Fund disbursements and costs,*
(3) mandatory fee arbitration award penalties and costs,*’

(4) Minimum Continuing Legal Education (“MCLE”") noncompliance or
reinstatement penalties,® or

(5) any other charges that may be added to annual membership fees
for failure to comply with obligations imposed by court order,
statute, or rule.

(B) To be considered for the current year, a request must be submitted by
February 1. Requests submitted after February 1 must be accompanied by
full payment of any outstanding charges, which will be refunded if the
request is granted.

(C) The Secretary may waive up to $1,000 in annual membership fees and
related penalties for the year in which they are due, provided that the
request is

(1) inwriting;
(2) supported by satisfactory documentation; and
(3) for any of the following reasons:
(a) the member is prevented or greatly impaired from pursuing
a livelihood for a substantial part of the membership year
because of a physical or mental condition, natural disaster,

or family emergency;

(b) the member has a total annual income from all sources of
$20,000 or less;

! See Business and Professions Code § 6086.10.

!5 See Business and Professions Code § 6086.13.

16 See Business and Professions Code § 6140.5.

7 See Business and Professions Code § 6203(d)(3).

'8 See Business and Professions Code § 6070 and the State Bar's MCLE rules.
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(c) the member serves full-time as a magistrate,

commissioner, or referee—erin-anecthersimilarcapacity™®

for a state or federal court of record;

(d) the member is a retired judge who accepts assignments
from the Chief Justice of California to act in a judicial
capacity at least 90% of the calendar year;

(e) the State Bar has erroneously assessed the annual
membership fees or related penalties; or

()  for any other reason, on a one-time-only basis, if the
member has no previous record of discipline, suspension

or involuntary inactive enrollmentadministrative
20

suspension.

(D) The Secretary may waive annual membership fees and related penalties for
a member serving in the Army National Guard, the Army Reserve, the
Naval Reserve, the Marine Corps Reserve, the Air National Guard of the
United States, the Air Force Reserve, or the Coast Guard Reserve provided
that

(1) the member has been ordered to report to full-time active duty for
more than 30 days;

(2) a request for waiver is submitted in writing by the member,
member's spouse, relative, law partner or associate, or legal
representative and accompanied by:

(a) a copy of the order to report for active duty, or
(b) a copy of the order to report for active duty and a certified
declaration by a JAG officer that the member has served

on active duty for more than 30 days.

A member granted a waiver under this rule must notify the State Bar
within 30 days upon termination of the assignment to active duty.

(E) Annual membership fees are waived for the year in which a judicial officer
leaves office and returns to membership in the State Bar.

19 This deletion eliminates the possibility that the provision will be read as applying to an administrative law judge.
20 staff suggests that the change is more precise than “administrative suspension.”
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(G) Annual membership fees are waived for inactive members who are 70
years of age on February 1.

(H) Annual membership fees may be waived for a member who is an emeritus
attorney.

()  The board reserves the right for good cause?

(1) to grant requests for waivers denied by the Secretary i#-there-is
goeod-cause; and

(2) to consider all other requests for waivers.

(J) A waiver granted under this rule does not remove a court-ordered
suspension for nonpayment of fees or penalties.

2.17 Keller deductions and challenges

(A) Keller v. State Bar of California (1990) 1 U.S. 490 prohibits the State Bar
from charging members for State Bar expenses for lobbying and certain
other activities deemed political and ideological and unrelated to the Bar's
purpose of regulating the legal profession or improving the quality of legal
services. Business and Professions Code § 6140.05 authorizes members
to take a deduction for lobbying activities. The Board of Governors may
also identify each year additional deductions that it deems to be outside the
scope of Keller. The State Bar restricts its spending on lobbying and other
activities it deems outside the scope of Keller to fees paid voluntarily by
members not taking the deductions. When the State Bar mails invoices for
annual membership fees, it must post on its Web site the annual Statement
of Expenditures of Mandatory Membership Fees showing the most recent
audited expenses charged to mandatory membership fees; the State Bar
must also publish notice of its posting in the California Bar Journal.
Members may request a copy of the statement by mail.

(B) Members who believe that the annual Statement of Expenditures and
Mandatory Membership Fees inappropriately includes an expenditure
disallowed by Keller may object to the expenditure. The objection must be
filed using the Challenge to Mandatory Membership Fees Form. The board
may allow the objection or promptly refer it to arbitration. Filing an objection
does not relieve a member of the obligation of paying the invoiced annual
mandatory membership fees on time.

(C) For purposes of this rule, “arbitration” means that the State Bar will refer the
challenge to an arbitrator selected by the American Arbitration Association.
The State Bar may consolidate multiple challenges. The arbitration
procedure is specified in the instructions to the Challenge to Mandatory
Membership Fees Form.

2L wpor good cause” applies to both the possibilities that follow. Relocating the phrase makes this clear.
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(D) If an arbitrator determines that a challenged expense is outside the scope
of Keller and is allowable as a deduction, the State Bar will refund the
amount of the deduction to any public agency that has paid the amount on
behalf of a member.

DiviSION 3. MEMBER STATUS

Rule 2.30 Inactive membership

(A) Any member not under suspension, who does not engage in any of the
activities listed in (B) in California, may, upon written request, be enrolled
as an inactive member. The Secretary may, in any case in which to do
otherwise would work an injustice, and subject to any directions which may
be given by the board permit retroactive enrollment of inactive members.

(B) No member practicing law, or occupying a position in the employ of or
rendering any legal service for an active member, or occupying a position
wherein he or she is called upon in any capacity to give legal advice or
counsel or examine the law or pass upon the legal effect of any act,
document or law, shall be enrolled as an inactive member.

(C) Notwithstanding (A) and (B) a member serving for a court or any other
governmental agency as a referee, hearing officer, court commissioner,
temporary judge, arbitrator, mediator or in another similar capacity is
eligible for enroliment as an inactive member if he or she does not
otherwise engage in any of the activities listed in (B) or hold himself or
herself out as being entitled to practice law.

Rule 2.31 Change of membership status

(A) A member may apply to change from active to inactive status or vice versa
by submitting the Transfer to Active Status Form? or the Transfer to
Inactive Status Form? with the transfer fee indicated in the Schedule of
Charges and Deadlines. A change to inactive by February 1 entitles the
member to pay the annual fees of an inactive member. A change to inactive
after that date is permissible, but the member must pay annual fees at the
active rate and is not entitled to a refund because of the change to inactive
status. dees-neotentitle the-memberto-arefund-of active fees*

(B) While suspended, a member cannot change membership status.

Rule 2.32 Inactive enrollment for failure to comply with Minimum Continuing Legal
Education (MCLE) requirements

(A) A member who fails to meet requirements for Minimum Continuing Legal
Education (MCLE) will be involuntarily enrolled as inactive.

2 The original version assumed that active fees had in fact been paid after February 1, but in fact they may not be. The
proposed change should eliminate this problem.
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(B)

To terminate inactive enroliment for MCLE noncompliance, a member must
comply with the MCLE rules governing reinstatement.”

(C) Annual membership fees centinde-to accrue at the inactive rate.

Rule 2.33 Suspension for failure to pay annual membership fees and outstanding
penalties or costs

(A)

(B)

(©)

(D)

A member who fails to pay annual membership fees or any outstanding
penalties or costs will be sent a final delinquency notice at the member’s
address of record. If the State Bar fails to receive full payment of the
amount due within two months of sending the final delinquency notice, the
State Bar will recommend that the Supreme Court suspend the member
from the practice of law.?®

Annual membership fees eentinde-te accrue according to the member’'s
status prior to suspension.

To terminate suspension for nonpayment, a member must pay
(1) all current and accrued fees, penalties, and costs; and

(2) the reinstatement fee set forth in the Schedule of Charges and
Deadlines.

The payment must be made by a credit card accepted by the State Bar, in

cash, or inguarahteed-funds by cashier's check, money order, bank
certified check, or wire transfer.

The State Bar will seek by an amendment nunc pro tunc to retroactively
strike the name of a member from the Supreme Court Order of Suspension
for Nonpayment if the suspension resulted from State Bar error.

Rule 2.34 Suspension for failure to comply with a family or child support obligation

(A)

(B)

(©)

A member identified under the terms of Family Code § 17520 as failing to
comply with a judgment or court order for child or family support will be
suspended from the practice of law by the Supreme Court.*’

The State Bar will send a written notice of suspension for failure to pay child
or family support to the member’s address of record. The suspension will
be effective on the date ordered by the Supreme Court.

The State Bar will ask the Supreme Court to reinstate a member if it
receives statutory notice®® that the obligation has been discharged and if

% See MCLE Rules and Regulations (http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/certification/MCLE_Rules 05 _03.pdf), rule 13.1:
Enroliment As Inactive Member: “A member failing to comply with the requirements after the 60-day period for compliance
has expired shall be enrolled as an inactive member by the Board of Governors or an officer of the State Bar or his or her
designee.” Reinstatement is governed by MCLE Rules and Regulations § 14.

% Bysiness and Professions Code § 6143.

%7 California Rules of Court, Rule 962.

8 Family Code § 17520.
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the member has paid annuat-membership-fees-and any surcharge

authorized by statute.”

(D) If a reinstated member subsequently fails to comply with a judgment or
court order for child or family support,® the State Bar will request that the
Supreme Court suspend the member within 30 days and will send written
notice of its request to the member’s address of record.

(E) Annual membership fees eentinue-te accrue according to the member’s
status prior to suspension.

Rule 2.35 Suspension for disciplinary violations

A member on actual rather than stayed suspension for disciplinary violations for

part of a year must pay full annual membership fees. Annual membership fees to
not accrue during periods of suspension that last an entire year.**

Rule 2.36 Multiple accrual rates for annual membership fees®

If under these rules there is a conflict in the rate at which a member accrues
fees, the active rate applies.

DIVISION 4. MINIMUM CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION

Chapter 1 Purpose and scope

Rule 2.50 Purpose of MCLE

Rules for Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) require active members
of the State Bar of California to remain current regarding the law, the obligations
and standards of the legal profession, and the management of their practices. A
member’s involuntary enroliment as inactive for failing to comply with these rules
is public information available on the State Bar Web site.

? Family Code § 17520 (n).
% Family Code § 17520.
The revision is more concise and accurate than the original.

%2 This rule would clarify the rate applicable to members who are suspended for multiple reasons or who are suspended
and involuntarily enrolled as inactive for MCLE noncompliance.
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Rule 2.51 Definitions

(A) An “activity” is legal education that the State Bar approves as meeting
standards for MCLE credit.

(B) A “provider” is an individual or entity approved by the State Bar to grant
MCLE credit for an educational activity.

(C) “MCLE credit” is the number of credit hours that a member may claim to
meet the requirements of these rules.

(D) A “credit hour” is sixty minutes actually spent in an educational activity,
less any time for breaks or other activities that lack educational content.
A credit hour is reported to the nearest quarter hour in decimals.

(E) An “approved jurisdiction” is recognized by the State Bar as having
MCLE requirements that substantially meet State Bar standards for
educational activities and computing MCLE credit hours in a manner
acceptable to the State Bar. Approved jurisdictions are listed on the
State Bar Web site.

Rule 2.52 Standards

To be approved for MCLE credit, an educational activity must meet State Bar
standards.

(A) The activity must relate to legal subjects directly relevant to members of
the State Bar and have significant current professional and practical
content.

(B) The presenter of the activity must have significant professional or
academic experience related to its content.

(C) Promotional material must state that the activity is approved for MCLE
credit or that a request for approval is pending; specify the amount of
credit offered; and indicate whether any of the credit may be claimed for
required MCLE in legal ethics, elimination of bias, or the prevention,
detection, and treatment of substance abuse or mental illness that
impairs professional competence.

(D) If the activity lasts more than an hour, the provider must make
substantive written materials available either before or during the
activity. Any materials provided online must be available online for at
least thirty calendar days following the activity.

(E) Programs and classes must be scheduled so that participants are free
of interruptions.

Rule 2.53 New members
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(A) A new member is permanently assigned to a compliance group on the
date of admission.

(B) The initial compliance period for a new member begins on the first day
of the month in which the member was admitted. It ends when the
period ends for the compliance group. If the initial period is less than the
period for the compliance group, the required credit hours may be
reduced as provided in these rules.®®

(C) A new member may not claim credit for education taken before the
initial compliance period.

Rule 2.54 Exemptions

(A) The following active members are exempt from MCLE requirements,
provided they claim the exemption in their assigned compliance periods
using My State Bar Profile online or an MCLE Compliance Form:

(1) officers and elected officials of the State of California;

(2) full-time professors at law schools accredited by the State Bar
of California or the American Bar Association;

(8) those employed full-time by the State of California as attorneys
or administrative law judges on a permanent or probationary
basis, regardless of their working hours, who do not otherwise
practice law; and

(4) those employed full-time by the United States government as
attorneys or administrative law judges on a permanent or
probationary basis, regardless of their working hours, who do
not otherwise practice law.

(B) Members whom this rule exempts by reason of their employment with
the State of California or the United States government may provide pro
bono legal services through a qualified legal services project or a
qualified support center.?*

Rule 2.55 Modifications

A member prevented from fulfilling the MCLE requirement for a substantial part
of a compliance period because of a physical or mental condition, natural
disaster, family emergency, financial hardship, or other good cause may apply for
modification of MCLE compliance requirements. The State Bar must approve any
modification.

* See Rule 2.72 (C).

% Business & Professions Code § 6213.
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Chapter 2. Compliance

Rule 2.70 Compliance groups

A member is permanently assigned to one of three compliance groups on the
basis of the first letter of the member’s last name at the date of admission.*® The
three groups are A-G, H-M, and N-Z. The member remains in the compliance
group despite any subsequent change of last name.

Rule 2.71 Compliance periods

A compliance period consists of 36 months. It begins on the first day of February
and ends three years later on the last day of January. The three compliance
groups begin and end their compliance periods in different years. A member
must report Minimum MCLE compliance no later than the day following the end
of the compliance period. The report must be made online using My State Bar
Profile or with an MCLE Compliance Form. Fees for noncompliance are set forth
in the Schedule of Charges and Deadlines.

Rule 2.72 Requirements

(A) Unless these rules indicate otherwise, a member who has been active
throughout a 36-month compliance period must complete 25 credit
hours of State Bar approved education. No more than 12.5 credit hours
may be self-study.® Total hours must include:

(1) atleast four hours of ethics in the legal profession;

(2) atleast one hour dealing with the elimination of bias in the
legal profession by reason of but not limited to sex, color, race,
religion, ancestry, national origin, physical disability, age, or
sexual orientation; and

(3) atleast one hour of education designed to prevent, detect, and
treat substance abuse or mental iliness that impairs
professional competence

(B) Required education in legal ethics, elimination of bias, or the prevention,
detection, and treatment of substance abuse or mental illness that
impairs professional competence may be a component of an approved
educational activity that deals with another topic.

(C) A member may reduce the required 25 hours in proportion to the
number of full months the member was inactive or exempt in the 36-

% A historical exception exists. When the MCLE program was established in 1992, members were
permanently assigned to compliance groups on the basis of their last names at the time, regardless of any
different last names they might have used previously.

% See Rule 2.83.
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month compliance period. Up to half the reduced hours may be self-
study.®” A tool for applying this formula is available at the State Bar Web

site.
(D) Excess credit hours may not be applied to the next compliance period.*

Rule 2.73 Record of MCLE

For a year after reporting MCLE compliance, a member must retain and provide
upon demand and to the satisfaction of the State Bar

(A) aprovider's certificate of attendance;

(B) arecord of self-study that includes the title, provider, credit hours, and
date of each activity; or

(C) proof of exempt status.

Chapter 3 Activities approved for MCLE credit

Rule 2.80 Attending programs and classes

A member may claim MCLE credit for attending a MCLE activity, such as a
lecture, panel discussion, or law school class, in person or by technological

means.

Rule 2.81 Speaking

A member may claim MCLE credit for speaking at an approved educational
activity.

(A) A principal speaker, who is responsible for preparing and delivering a
program or class and its related materials, may claim

(1) actual speaking time multiplied by four for the first
presentation; or

(2) actual speaking time only for each time a presentation is
repeated without significant change.

(B) A panelist may claim

(1) either of the following for the first panel presentation:

37 See Rule 2.83.

% But see Rule 2.93.

Title 2: Proposed April 2007 13 of 16



(@) scheduled speaking time multiplied by four, plus the
actual time spent in attendance at the remainder of the
presentation; or

(b) when times have not been scheduled for individual
speakers, an equal share of the total time for all
speakers multiplied by four plus the actual time spent
in attendance at the remainder of the presentation.

(2) actual speaking time only for each time a presentation is
repeated without significant change.

(C) A member who introduces speakers or serves as a moderator may
claim only the MCLE credit available to any attendee.

Rule 2.82 Teaching
A member may claim MCLE credit for teaching a law school course.

(A) A member assigned to teach a course may claim no more than the
credit hours granted by the law school multiplied by twelve or actual
speaking time for required MCLE in legal ethics, elimination of bias, or
the prevention, detection, and treatment of substance abuse or mental
illness that impairs professional competence.

(B) A guest lecturer or substitute teacher may claim

(1) actual speaking time multiplied by four for the first
presentation; or

(2) actual speaking time only for each time a presentation is
repeated without significant change.

Rule 2.83 Self-study

A member may claim up to half the credit hours required in a compliance period
for

(A) completing_activities for which attendance is not verified by a provider;

(B) taking an open- or closed-book self-test and submitting it to a provider
who returns it with a grade and explanations of correct answers; or

(C) authoring or co-authoring written materials that
(1) have contributed to the member’s legal education;

(2) have been published or accepted for publication; and
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(3) were not prepared in the ordinary course of employment or in
connection with an oral presentation at an approved
educational activity.

Rule 2.84 Legal specialization

A member may claim MCLE credit for educational activities that the Board of
Legal Specialization approves for certification or recertification.

Rule 2.85 Education taken while physically out of state

(A) A member may claim MCLE credit for an educational activity authorized
by an approved jurisdiction if it meets the requirements of these rules
and if the member attends or does the activity outside California. A
member may not claim credit for such an activity, including self-study,
when physically present in California unless the State Bar has
specifically approved it.

(B) A member who qualifies for MCLE authorized by an approved
jurisdiction may claim the amount of credit authorized by the jurisdiction.
No special procedure is required to claim the credit.
Rule 2.86 Member credit request
A member may apply for credit for an activity directly relevant to the member’s
practice but not otherwise approved if the activity substantially meets State Bar
standards. The application must be submitted with the appropriate fee.

Rule 2.87 Bar examinations and MPRE

A member may not claim MCLE credit for preparing for or taking a bar
examination or the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE).

Chapter 4. Noncompliance

Rule 2.90 Definition
Noncompliance is failure to

(A) complete the required education during the compliance period or an
extension of it;

(B) report compliance or claim exemption from MCLE requirements;
(C) keep a record of MCLE compliance®; or

(D) pay fees for noncompliance.

% See Rule 2.73.
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Rule 2.91 Notice of noncompliance

(A) A member who is sent a notice of noncompliance must comply with its
terms or be involuntarily enrolled as inactive. An inactive member is not
eligible to practice law.

(B) If the notice requires the member to complete credit hours for the
previous compliance period, any excess credit hours may be counted
toward the current compliance period.

Rule 2.92 Enroliment as inactive for MCLE noncompliance
A member who fails to comply with a notice of noncompliance is enrolled as
inactive and is not eligible to practice law. The enrollment is administrative and
no hearing is required.

Rule 2.93 Reinstatement following MCLE noncompliance
Enroliment as inactive for MCLE noncompliance terminates when a member

submits proof of compliance and pays noncompliance fees. Credit hours that
exceed those required for compliance may be counted toward the current period.
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