
PROPOSED MODIFICATIONS TO THE RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE 
STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA 

RULES 600 - 605 
 
 
D. CONVICTION PROCEEDINGS  
 
RULE 600.  NATURE; INITIAL PLEADING 
 
(a) These rules apply to proceedings that result from a member’s criminal conviction 

and are held pursuant to Business and Professions Code sections 6101 and 6102, 
California Rules of Court, rule 9.10, and these Rules of Procedure of the State 
Bar. 

 
(b) Conviction proceedings are initiated in the Review Department of the State Bar 

Court by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel’s filing of a certified copy of the 
record of conviction.  If the conviction is not final as defined in California Rule of 
Court, rule 9.10(a), at the time of the initial filing, the Office of the Chief Trial 
Counsel shall thereafter file a supplemental record of conviction that contains a 
certified copy of evidence showing that the conviction has become final. Any 
record of conviction filed under this subsection shall be served on the respondent 
pursuant to rule 60.  

 
Rule 601.  INTERIM SUSPENSION; RELIEF 
 
(a) The Review Department shall examine the record of conviction and if it appears 

therefrom that any ground for suspension set forth in Business and Professions 
Code section 6102(a) is present, the Review Department may suspend the 
respondent pending final disposition of the conviction proceeding or further order 
of the Review Department.  

 
(b) Within 10 days of service of the initial record of conviction either party may file a 

brief which may include evidence from the record of the proceedings resulting in 
the conviction, including a transcript of any testimony, addressing whether 
grounds for interim suspension under Business and Professions Code section 
6102(a) are present.  The opposing party shall have 10 days from the date of 
service of the brief to file and serve a written response.  

 
(c) In cases involving misdemeanor convictions, the Review Department, on its own 

or on motion of any party, may direct the Hearing Department to conduct a 
hearing for the sole purpose of resolving factual issues as to whether there is 
probable cause to believe that the conviction involved moral turpitude and to 
make a recommendation whether interim suspension should be imposed.  
Proceedings pursuant to this paragraph shall be conducted as follows: 

 



(1) No discovery shall be conducted except by leave of the court for good 
cause shown. 

 
(2) Within 30 days after the referral order, each party must file and serve: (i) a 

list of all witnesses to be called at the hearing, except for impeachment or 
rebuttal; and (ii) copies of all exhibits to be offered. 

 
(3) A hearing shall be held within 45 days of service of the referral order.  The 

court shall file and submit its report to the Review Department no more 
than 15 days after the conclusion of the hearing. 

 
(4) Rules 200-206 shall not apply to these proceedings.  If a respondent fails 

to appear at the hearing in person or by counsel, the hearing shall proceed 
unless for good cause the hearing is continued. 

 
(5) A recommendation under this paragraph shall be reviewable pursuant to 

rule 300. 
 
(d) At any time during the pendency of a conviction proceeding within the State Bar 

Court, a respondent may file a motion in the Review Department to vacate, delay 
the effective date of, or temporarily stay the effect of an order of interim 
suspension.  Such motions are governed by rule 321 of these Rules.    
 

RULE 602.  SUMMARY DISBARMENT 
 
The Office of the Chief Trial Counsel may file a motion seeking the summary disbarment 
of a respondent pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 6102(c).  The motion 
shall be filed concurrently with the filing of the record of conviction showing that the 
conviction is final.  The respondent shall have 10 days from the date of service of the 
motion to file a written response.    
 
RULE 603.  FINAL CONVICTIONS 
 
(a) After a conviction that is not subject to summary disbarment becomes final, the 

Review Department shall refer the case to the Hearing Department to conduct a 
hearing and file a decision regarding the issue(s) set forth in the order of 
reference.   

 
(b) At any time prior to a conviction becoming final, a respondent may file a notice 

waiving finality of the conviction and requesting that the Review Department 
refer the case to the Hearing Department for a hearing and decision as set forth in 
subsection (a) of this rule. 

 
 
 



RULE 604.  HEARING DEPARTMENT PROCEEDINGS 
 
(a) Upon referral of a conviction proceeding to the Hearing Department pursuant to 

rule 603, the Clerk shall serve and file a notice of hearing on conviction.  Service 
shall be made pursuant to rule 60.  A copy of the order of reference shall be 
attached as an exhibit to the notice of hearing on conviction. The notice of hearing 
on conviction shall include the following notice: 

 
IF YOU FAIL TO FILE AN ANSWER TO THIS NOTICE WITHIN THE 
TIME ALLOWED BY THE RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE STATE 
BAR, INCLUDING EXTENSIONS, OR IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR AT 
THE STATE BAR COURT TRIAL: (1) YOUR DEFAULT SHALL BE 
ENTERED; (2) YOU SHALL BE ENROLLED AS AN INVOLUNTARY 
INACTIVE MEMBER OF THE STATE BAR AND WILL NOT BE 
PERMITTED TO PRACTICE LAW UNLESS THE DEFAULT IS SET 
ASIDE ON MOTION TIMELY MADE UNDER THE RULES OF 
PROCEDURE OF THE STATE BAR; (3) YOU SHALL NOT BE 
PERMITTED TO PARTICIPATE FURTHER IN THESE 
PROCEEDINGS UNLESS YOUR DEFAULT IS SET ASIDE; (4) THE 
FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS SET FORTH IN THE OFFICE OF THE 
CHIEF TRIAL COUNSEL’S STATEMENT OF FACTS AND 
CIRCUMSTANCES SURROUNDING THE CONVICTION, FILED 
PURSUANT TO RULE 604(c), SHALL BE DEEMED ADMITTED; 
AND (5) YOU SHALL BE SUBJECT TO ADDITIONAL DISCIPLINE. 
 
THE RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE STATE BAR REQUIRE YOU 
TO FILE YOUR WRITTEN RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE WITHIN 
TWENTY DAYS AFTER SERVICE. 
   
IF YOUR DEFAULT IS ENTERED AND THE DISCIPLINE IMPOSED 
BY THE SUPREME COURT IN THIS PROCEEDING INCLUDES A 
PERIOD OF ACTUAL SUSPENSION, YOU WILL REMAIN 
SUSPENDED FROM THE PRACTICE OF LAW FOR AT LEAST THE 
PERIOD OF TIME SPECIFIED BY THE SUPREME COURT.  IN 
ADDITION, THE ACTUAL SUSPENSION WILL CONTINUE UNTIL 
YOU HAVE REQUESTED, AND THE STATE BAR COURT HAS 
GRANTED, A MOTION FOR TERMINATION OF THE ACTUAL 
SUSPENSION.  AS A CONDITION FOR TERMINATING THE 
ACTUAL SUSPENSION, THE STATE BAR COURT MAY PLACE 
YOU ON PROBATION AND REQUIRE YOU TO COMPLY WITH 
SUCH CONDITIONS OF PROBATION AS THE STATE BAR COURT 
DEEMS APPROPRIATE.  SEE RULE 205, RULES OF PROCEDURE 
OF THE STATE BAR. 
 

(b) The respondent in a conviction proceeding shall file and serve a response to the 
notice of hearing on conviction within 20 days after service thereof, subject to any 



extension of time granted by order of the Court.  The response shall state 
respondent’s position on the issues stated in the order of reference and shall 
contain an address for service on the respondent in the proceeding. 

 
(c) If the respondent fails to file a response to the notice of hearing on conviction or 

fails to appear at trial, the default procedures set forth in rules 200-206 shall 
apply, except that: 

 
(1) References in these rules to “notice of disciplinary charges” shall be 

deemed to be references to “notice of hearing on conviction” and the 
wording of the notices required by the rules shall be modified accordingly.  
References to factual allegations having been “deemed admitted” shall be 
deemed to be references to the factual allegations set forth in the Office of 
the Chief Trial Counsel’s statement of facts and circumstances 
surrounding the conviction filed pursuant to subsection (c)(3) of this rule. 

  
(2) Reference in rule 200(a)(3) to “if culpability is found” shall be deemed to 

read “if moral turpitude or other misconduct warranting discipline is 
found.” 

 
(3) In addition to the items specified in rule 200(a), the motion for entry of 

default shall recite the facts and circumstances surrounding the conviction 
that the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel contends it has clear and 
convincing evidence to prove the issue(s) stated in the order of referral. 

  
 (4) Upon entry of the respondent’s default, the factual allegations set forth in  
  the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel’s statement of facts and   
  circumstances surrounding the conviction, filed pursuant to subsection  
  (c)(3) of this rule, shall be deemed admitted unless otherwise ordered  
  by the court based on contrary evidence, and no further proof shall be  
  required to establish the truth of such facts. 
 
(d) The State Bar Court record includes all court orders and documents on file with 

the Clerk of the State Bar Court in the proceeding, whether or not introduced in 
evidence. The evidence introduced may include that permitted by Business and 
Professions Code section 6102(g). 

 
RULE 605.  APPLICABLE RULES 
 
Rules which by their terms apply only to other specific proceedings shall not apply in 
conviction proceedings.  All other rules shall apply, except that rules 200-206 (default) 
shall apply as modified by these conviction proceedings rules. 
 


