
QUALIFICATION FOR ADMISSION TO PRACTICE LAW IN CALIFORNIA
THROUGH STUDY IN A LAW OFFICE OR JUDGE'S CHAMBERS

The requirements for admission to practice law in California are contained in the Rules Regulating Admission

to Prac tice La w in C aliforn ia (Ru les). The fol lowing is a summary of the requirements for qualifying for

admission to practice law in California through study in a law office or judge's chambe rs. F or the  spe cif ic

requirements, refer to Sections 2 and 3 of Rule VII of the Rule s. 

To be admitted to practice law in California, an applicant must comply with the requirements outlined in Rule

II of the Rule s, which include: 1) completion of the requisite pre-legal and legal education; 2) registration as

a law student; 3) passage or exemption from the First-Year Law Students' Examination; 4) a positive moral

character determination; 5) passage of the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination; and, 6)

passage of the  Cal ifornia B ar Exam ination. Ad ditional ly, an ap plican t mu st not be certified  by the S tate

Department of Social Services as being in non-compliance with a court ordered child or family support

obliga tion. 

Appl icants  for admission must register as law students in accordance with Sections 1 and 2 of Rule V of the

Rules. Transcripts indicating all pre-legal education com pleted must accom pany the registration form so that

compliance with the pre-legal requirements as indicated in Section 1, Rule VII of the Rules can be confirmed.

Any law study c om plete d prior  to fulf illing the  pre-l ega l edu cation  requ irem ents will  not be  accepted . 

Appl icants  intending to pursue their legal education through the law office/judge's chamber program, must file

an initial report on the designated form within 30 days of the date the law office study commenced.

Subsequent reports on the designated form and examinations must be submitted within 90 days after

com pletion  of ea ch six-m onth s tudy pe riod. 

A $40.00 fee mu st accompany the Notice of Intent to Study in a Law Office or Judge's Chambers, w hich is

the initial report. A fee of $30.00 mu st acc om pany each  sem i-annu al report su bm itted ther eafte r. All re ports

mu st include the Law Office Study Report cover sheet and must be submitted by certified mail with return

rece ipt requ ested  or de livered  in perso n to eithe r the Los Angele s or Sa n Fra ncisco  Office  of Ad missions. 

Appl icants  are qualified to take the First-Year Law Students' Examination after completing one year of law

stud y. Certain applicants are exempt from the examination as specified in Section 11 Ru le VIII of the Rules.

Appl icants  required  to take the  First-Year Law Stud ents' Examination, which includes students participating

in the  law  off ice /ju dge's  cham bers p rog ram , who pass  the  exam ination w ithin th ree  con secutive

administrations of first becoming eligib le  to ta ke  it, wil l re ce ive c red it fo r la w study complete d up to  the  tim e

the exam ination is pa ssed ( calc ulate d to the  date th e exam ination is ad min istered  rathe r than  to the d ate the

resul ts are relea sed). A pplica nts who  pass it the reaf ter will o nly rec eive cre dit for one yea r of la w study. 

For furthe r inform ation, please c ontact the Lo s Angele s office of Ad missions.
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