This page summarizes all reporting requirements for attorneys, including information that comprises a licensee’s record with the State Bar, annual licensing fees, MCLE compliance, and attorney conduct.
Attorneys are responsible for maintaining the accuracy of the information in their State Bar record. Any changes must be reported within 30 days. To make changes, please visit My State Bar Profile. View this guide for help accessing your profile. View this tip sheet to learn about the new online reporting features available in your profile.
Attorneys are required to report:
Additionally, pursuant to Rule 2.2(c) of the Rules of the State Bar of California, attorneys are required to verify the required information listed above by February 1 of each year during the annual license renewal process.
Attorneys may also report the following optional information for display on their public profile: area(s) of practice and languages spoken by you or your office staff. To make changes, please visit My State Bar Profile.
State Bar annual licensing fees must be paid by February 1 and penalties will be imposed for nonpayment of fees. To pay annual licensing fees, please visit My State Bar Profile. For information about licensing fees and waivers, please visit Attorney Regulation.
California attorneys must report compliance with the requirement to take 25 hours of continuing legal education every three years. To report MCLE compliance, please visit My State Bar Profile. Find out more about the State Bar's legal education requirements.
For questions related to your attorney record, annual licensing fees, or MCLE compliance, please email AttorneyRegulation@calbar.ca.gov.
Imposition of discipline by a professional or occupational disciplinary agency or licensing board, whether in California or elsewhere
Attorneys are required to notify the State Bar if they have been disciplined in another jurisdiction or by any licensing agency. To report discipline in another jurisdiction or by any licensing agency, please visit the forms webpage.
Entry of judgment in a civil action for professional misconduct
Attorneys must self-report an entry of judgment in a civil action for fraud, misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty or gross negligence committed in a professional capacity.
Settlement, judgment, or arbitration award resulting from fraud, misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, or negligence committed in a professional capacity
Attorneys who do not possess professional liability insurance are required to self-report the occurrences listed above within 30 days of receipt.
Imposition of judicial sanctions
Attorneys are required to self-report the imposition of judicial sanctions ($1,000 or more).
Felony indictment, felony, or misdemeanor conviction
Attorneys are required to self-report felony charges by indictment or information, as well as all felony convictions and certain misdemeanor convictions as specified in the statute. To report criminal charges/conviction, complete a criminal proceedings form.
Reversal of judgment in a proceeding for professional misconduct
Attorneys are required to self-report the reversal of a judgment based on misconduct, gross incompetence, or willful misrepresentation.
Filing of three or more lawsuits for malpractice in 12 months
An attorney must notify the State Bar if three or more lawsuits dealing with malpractice issues are filed against them in a 12-month period.
Employment and termination of an attorney who is not eligible to practice
When employing or terminating a disbarred, suspended, or involuntarily enrolled inactive lawyer, an attorney must comply with restrictions and inform the State Bar and clients by completing a Notice to the State Bar form, and a Notice to the client form.
For questions related to attorney conduct reporting requirements, please contact:
Office of Chief Trial Counsel
845 South Figueroa Street
Los Angeles, CA 90017
For all other questions, please contact Attorney Regulation at AttorneyRegulation@calbar.ca.gov.