

2023 Minimum Cumulative Five-Year Bar Examination Pass Rates for California Accredited Law Schools (MPR)

Five-Year Reporting Period for Graduates Completing JD: August 1, 2017–July 31, 2022

California Accredited Law Schools (CALS) must "maintain a minimum, [five-year] cumulative bar examination pass rate" of 40 percent or more, as calculated under Rule 4.160(D)(6) of the Accredited Law School Rules. CALS report this minimum pass rate (MPR) on July 1 and the State Bar posts these figures in August after they are verified and presented to the Committee of Bar Examiners. Unaccredited law schools are not required to maintain a minimum bar pass rate.

Law schools approved by the American Bar Association must maintain a 75 percent two-year cumulative pass rate under <u>standard 316</u>.

	2018	2019	2020	2021	2022	2023
California Accredited Law School	MPR	MPR	MPR	MPR	MPR	MPR
	(%)	(%)	(%)	(%)	(%)	(%)
Cal Northern School of Law	72.9	73.9	71.1	75.7	67.5	69.2
Concord Law School at Purdue University	NA	NA	NA	56.3	58.5	69.6
Global	FF 4	46.0	46.4	FO 2	50.3	65.2
Empire College School of Law*	55.4	46.9	46.1	59.3	58.2	65.3
Glendale University College of Law*	66.7	62.2	64.3	77.1	71.1	68.7
Humphreys College Laurence Drivon School of Law	45.6	41.9	46.0	52.3	54.1	50.7
Lincoln Law School of Sacramento	66.7	60.8	60.1	66.3	69.6	68.0
Lincoln Law School of San Jose (Now an unaccredited fixed-facility law school)	56.1	44.1	31.5	36.5	36.1	NA
Monterey College of Law	47.9	54.3	53.7	53.8	55.1	55.8
Northwestern California University School of Law	NA	NA	NA	58.3	65.0	65.9
JFK School of Law at National University	48.8	44.4	39.7	41.9	42.0	41.2
San Francisco Law School**	46.2	41.7	36.0	39.0	35.4	36.7
San Joaquin College of Law	77.4	72.4	68.8	77.7	76.3	79.7
The Colleges of Law	58.9	57.7	58.0	65.4	62.4	57.2
St. Francis School of Law	NA	NA	NA	59.3	66.6	69.4
Thomas Jefferson School of Law	70.5	67.4	61.7	65.6	65.7	64.6
Trinity Law School	44.6	44.7	44.1	47.3	47.3	51.2
University of La Verne College of Law		69.0	66.0	75.1	72.4	69.9
University of West Los Angeles	54.1	50.0	41.8	49.4	49.3	43.5

^{*}Voluntarily closing and no longer admitting students.

^{**} Now a registered, unaccredited distance learning law school effective August 18, 2023