

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS: PRACTICAL TRAINING OF LAW STUDENTS

These FAQs are a living document. They are subject to revision and will be supplemented and updated as needed.

What is the Practical Training of Law Students (PTLS) Program? Can I participate?
 The PTLS Program certifies law students to provide legal services on a restricted basis under the supervision of a licensed California attorney who is active and in good standing.

You can participate in the program if you are studying law at a law school in a juris doctor (J.D.) program. You must also meet the eligibility criteria for certification pursuant to rule 9.42(c) of the California Rules of Court.

You are ineligible to participate in the program if you are licensed to practice law in any U.S. or foreign jurisdiction, have failed to take the first California Bar Examination you were eligible for or if you have taken and received the results for your first eligible administration of the California Bar Exam.

- 2. What can I do as a certified law student through the PTLS Program?

 Once you have been certified by the State Bar, you may engage only in the activities permitted by rule 9.42(d) of the Rules of Court under supervision.
- 3. How long will it take for my PTLS application to be processed?

 Generally, the State Bar will process your PTLS application within 30 days of receipt if you submit a complete and accurate application.

Incomplete applications will take longer to process. If your application is deemed incomplete, you will have 60 days from the date you submitted your application to provide the missing information or documentation. If your application is not deemed complete within this period, your application will be abandoned without a refund of any fees paid.

- 4. Can I call myself an "Attorney," "Associate," "Counsel," or "Esquire" once I am approved as a certified law student through the PTLS Program?
 No. You may only use the title "Certified Law Student" in connection with your activities performed under the program. You may not claim in any way to be a licensee of the State Bar of California.
- 5. If I am a certified law student through the PTLS Program, can I take the California Bar

Frequently Asked Questions: Practical Training of Law Students

November 13, 2023

Exam and still participate in the program?

Yes. To remain in the program, you must take your first eligible administration of the California Bar Exam and your certification in the program will continue only until you receive the results for that examination.

6. Who qualifies to be a supervising attorney?

Your supervising attorney must be an active licensee of the State Bar of California in good standing for at least two years before beginning supervision. They must also have practiced law in California or taught law in a law school during this period. Please refer to rule 3.7 of the Rules of the State Bar.

7. How do I change or add a supervising attorney?

You may request to change your supervising attorney at the same employer/agency by submitting a PTLS Extension – Supervising Attorney Change application, a declaration form from each new supervising attorney, and the required fee in the <u>Applicant Portal</u> prior to the commencement of the supervision period.

You may add an additional supervising attorney at the same employer/agency at any time during the certification period by submitting a PTLS Extension – Supervising Attorney Change application, a declaration form from each new supervising attorney, and the required fee in the Applicant Portal prior to the commencement of the supervision period.

You may change or add an attorney at a separate employer/agency by submitting an original Practical Training of Law Students Application, a declaration form from each new supervising attorney and the required fee in the Applicant Portal prior to the commencement of the supervision period.

8. How do I extend my certification period under my current supervising attorney(s)? You must submit a PTLS Extension – Date Only application in the Applicant Portal.

If you are supervised by more than one attorney and you want to extend your certification period under each of your supervisors, you must submit a declaration form from each supervising attorney.

9. How do I notify the State Bar that I am no longer eligible for the PTLS Program?

Once you become ineligible for the PTLS Program, you must promptly inform the State Bar and cease any activity a certified law student can perform.

You must notify the State Bar by submitting a general request through your Applicant Portal.

10. My certification was revoked for noncompliance. How do I request review of the revocation?

You may submit a written request to the State Bar to review the revocation. The State

Frequently Asked Questions: Practical Training of Law Students November 13, 2023

Bar must receive the request no more than 15 days from the transmission date of the notice of revocation.

You may submit the request and any arguments or evidence in support of the request via the <u>Applicant Portal</u>. The State Bar will send you a written decision within 60 days of receiving your request.