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Application for Transfer to Inactive Status R OFFICIAL STATE BAR USE ONLY

1. TRANSFER TO INACTIVE INSTRUCTIONS Amt Revd 5
¢ NOTE: Only ACTIVE attorneys may transfer to INACTIVE status. Check
e Transferring to Inactive status after February 3, 2020 will not reduce ACTIVE fees Rec'd CC
owed or paid for 2020. Over 70
e Transferring to inactive status after February 3, 2020 is permissible, however, the Initials

attorney must pay annual fees at the active rate, and is not entitled to a refund
because of the change to inactive status.

¢ Once you have submitted your application, allow 2-3 business days for processing.
Once processed, you will receive an email confirming your status change. At this time, if you have not already initiated payment, please log in to your
My State Bar Profile to complete payment by June 30, 2020 to avoid suspension for nonpayment of fees.

¢ Submission of payment is not contingent on receipt of the confirmation email. It is your responsibility to complete a timely payment to avoid
suspension for nonpayment. If you do not receive an email confirming your status change within 2-3 business days, go to My State Bar Profile to

confirm that your status change has been processed.
¢ Please log on to My State Bar Profile, on the State Bar’s website calbar.ca.gov, to verify your address and update if necessary.

¢ Inactive attorneys should close any open IOLTA bank account as soon as possible and update the IOLTA account status through My State Bar Profile.
e Under California Rule of Court 9.9.5, all Inactive licensed attorneys are required to comply with the fingerprinting requirement PRIOR to any return to
Active status. For more information, please log in to My State Bar Profile.

2. ATTORNEY INFORMATION & DECLARATION

Effective date of INACTIVE status wil automatically be the date this <:|
form is received by the State Bar, unless a later date is indicated here:

(MM/DD/YYYY)

State Bar No.: First Name: Last Name:

E-mail: Phone Number:

Pertinent Sections of The State Bar Act
“Section 6004. Every licensee of the State Bar is an active licensee until...at the licensee’s request, he is enrolled as an
inactive licensee.”

“Section 6005. Inactive licensees are those licensees who have requested that they be enrolled as inactive licensees...”
“Section 6006. Active licensees who retire from practice shall be enrolled as inactive licensees at their request...”
“Section 6125. No person shall practice law in California unless the person is an active licensee of the State Bar.”
“Section 6126. Any person advertising or holding himself or herself out as practicing or entitled to practice law or otherwise
practicing law who is not an active licensee of the State Bar, or otherwise authorized pursuant to statue or court rule to
practice law in this state at the time of doing so, is guilty of a misdemeanor...”
“Section 6127. The following acts or omissions in respect to the practice of law are contempts of the authority of the courts:

(a) Assuming to be an officer or attorney of a court and acting as such, without authority.

(b)  Advertising or holding oneself out as practicing or as entitled to practice law or otherwise practicing law in any

court, without being an active licensee of the State Bar...”
Pertinent Sections of The Rules of the State Bar of California, Title Two, Rights and Responsibilities of Licensees.

Rule 2.30 Inactive license status

(A) Any licensee not under suspension, who does not engage in any of the activities listed in (B) in California, may, upon written request, be enrolled as an
inactive licensee. The Secretary may, in any case in which to do otherwise would work an injustice, and subject to any directions which may be given by
the board permit retroactive enrollment of inactive licensees.

(B) No licensee practicing law, or occupying a position in the employ of or rendering any legal service for an active licensee, or occupying a position wherein
he or she is called upon in any capacity to give legal advice or counsel or examine the law or pass upon the legal effect of any act, document or law, shall
be enrolled as an inactive licensee.

(C) Notwithstanding (A) and (B) a licensee serving for a court or any other governmental agency as a referee, hearing officer, court commissioner, temporary
judge, arbitrator, mediator or in another similar capacity is eligible for enrollment as an inactive licensee if he or she does not otherwise engage in any of
the activities listed in (B) or hold himself or herself out as being entitled to practice law.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that | have reviewed the Rules of the State Bar of California and | am eligible
to enroll as an INACTIVE attorney of the State Bar of California. | agree to comply with the State Bar Act and the Rules of the State Bar of California.

Attorney Signature: Today’s Date:
(MM/DD/YYYY)
FAX COMPLETED FORM TO: OR EMAIL COMPLETED FORM TO:
415-538-2576 AttorneyRegulation@calbar.ca.gov
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https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx
http://www.calbar.ca.gov/
https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx
http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Attorneys/Conduct-Discipline/Client-Trust-Accounting-IOLTA
https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx
https://members.calbar.ca.gov/login.aspx

Application for Transfer to Inactive Status Instructions
Effective Date of INACTIVE Status

The effective date of your inactive status will be the date that your request is received by the State Bar, or a
future date if so indicated. You may not transfer retroactively to inactive status.

To qualify for the inactive fee, you must formally transfer to inactive status by submitting this completed
form no later than February 3, 2020. Inactive status is maintained by payment of the inactive annual fee.
If you practice law or perform any other service described on the inactive application (Rules of the State
Bar Title Two, Rule 2.30), you must remain on active status and pay the active fee.

Applications for Transfer to Inactive Status must be submitted and effective no later than February 3,
2020, to be eligible for the inactive rate for 2020. A change to inactive status after February 3, 2020, is
permissible; however the attorney must pay annual fees at the active rate, and is not entitled to a refund
because of the change to inactive status.

Inactive Status Information

Please review this inactive information carefully. If you qualify, complete and sign the application form. When
considering transfer to inactive status, please be advised that transferring from active to inactive status may
have significant consequences. For example, transferring to inactive status:

e precludes an attorney from practicing law in California, or occupying a position in the employment of or rendering any
legal service for an active attorney, or occupying a position wherein he or she is called upon to give legal advice or counsel
or examine the law or pass upon the legal effect of any act, document or law. (Rules of the State Bar, Title 2, Rule 2.30)

e may affect an attorney's qualifications for appointment to judicial office — for further information please contact the
jurisdiction(s) directly.

e may affect an attorney's qualifications for admission to practice law in other jurisdictions — for further information please
contact the jurisdiction(s) directly.

e does not affect an attorney's status or payment obligations as a certified legal specialist unless you resign permanently from
that program using the form located at californiaspecialist.org.

e may affect an attorney's eligibility to participate in the Pro-Bono Practice Program. Please review rule 3.327.

e precludes an attorney from voting in any election or plebiscite conducted by the State Bar.

e precludes an attorney from engaging in certain activities in California including, but not limited to, working as a private
arbitrator, mediator, referee or other dispute resolution provider, a law clerk, paralegal, real estate broker or CPA. This is
based on the presumption that these activities call upon an attorney to give legal advice or counsel or examine the law or pass
upon the legal effect of any act, document or law.

Inactive attorneys do, however, retain certain rights and benefits of active attorneys, including:

ability attend meetings of the State Bar

e receipt of the State Bar bar card

o eligibility, if not under suspension, to transfer back to active status (not retroactively), at any time upon written
request andpayment of the difference between the active and inactive fee for the current year

While on inactive status, you are still subject to the disciplinary authority of the State Bar of California.

Should you determine to apply for transfer from active to inactive status, please be advised that the use of
“Attorney-at-Law” on stationery, envelopes or check stock after becoming an inactive attorney could be
considered as advertising or holding out that you are practicing or entitled to practice law, which is prohibited
by Sections 6126 and 6127 of the State Bar Act.

PLEASE NOTE: YOU WILL REMAIN ON ACTIVE STATUS UNTIL YOUR COMPLETED AND SIGNED APPLICATION
TO TRANSFER TO INACTIVE STATUS IS RECEIVED.

Phone: 888-800-3400 Fax: 415-538-2576  Mailing Address: The State Bar of California
Attorney Regulation & Consumer Resources
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
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http://www.californiaspecialist.org/
http://www.calbar.ca.gov/AboutUs/CenteronAccesstoJustice/ProBonoPracticeProgram.aspx
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