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Rule 2605. Vexatious Complainants 

 
 

(a) The Office of Chief Trial Counsel may designate a person a vexatious complainant if, in 
the preceding two‐year period, the complainant has submitted to the State Bar 10 or 
more communications alleging attorney misconduct that have been finally closed at  
the inquiry stage without investigation because the communications did not allege 
sufficient factual or legal grounds to indicate a potential disciplinary violation. The 
Office of Chief Trial Counsel will mail notice of the designation and a copy of this rule to 
the complainant at the complainant’s last known address. 

 
 

(b) For purposes of this rule, a complainant’s communication has been “finally closed” if: 
(i) the complainant failed to seek reopening of the complaint by the Complaint Review 
Unit of the Office of General Counsel within 90 days of the closure of the 
communication; or (ii) the Complaint Review Unit denied the complainant’s request to 
reopen the communication and the complainant did not timely file an accusation 
arising from the communication with the Supreme Court in compliance with California 
Rules of Court, rule 9.13(d) through (f); or (iii) the Supreme Court denied an accusation 
arising from the communication. 

 
 

(c) A complainant designated as vexatious under this rule may seek review of the 
designation by filing a request for review with the Presiding Judge of the Review 
Department of the State Bar Court within 30 days of the mailing of the notice issued 
pursuant to subdivision (a). The request for review must include a copy of the 
vexatious complainant designation notice and be accompanied by proof of service on 
the Office of Chief Trial Counsel, Intake Unit, at the Los Angeles office of the State Bar, 
and on the Clerk of the State Bar Court at the Los Angeles office. The Office of Chief 
Trial Counsel may file and serve an answer to the complainant’s request for review 
within 20 days of service of the complainant’s request for review. Based upon these 
written submissions, the State Bar Court will confirm whether the complainant has, in 
the two‐year period preceding the notice of vexatious complainant designation, 
submitted 10 or more communications alleging attorney misconduct that have been 
finally closed. If the State Bar Court finds that the requirement of 10 or more finally 
closed communications, as specified in subdivision (a), was not met, the vexatious 
complainant designation will be vacated; otherwise, the designation will remain in 
place. The State Bar Court will not review the merits of the 10 or more 
communications on which the vexatious complainant designation is based. The 
Executive Committee of the State Bar Court may adopt rules of practice for these 
proceedings. 
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(d) The Office of Chief Trial Counsel may decline to review and process any subsequent 
communications from a person designated a vexatious complainant under this rule 
unless the communication is verified by the complainant under penalty of perjury and 
the communication is submitted on the complainant’s behalf by an attorney who 
holds an active license to practice law in the State of California and is not currently in 
disciplinary proceedings or on disciplinary or criminal probation. If the vexatious 
complainant is an attorney licensed to practice law in the State of California, the 
communication must be submitted on the vexatious complainant’s behalf by another 
attorney who is actively licensed to practice law in the State of California and is not 
currently in disciplinary proceedings or on disciplinary or criminal probation and is not 
designated as a vexatious complainant pursuant to this rule. 

 
 

(e) This rule shall apply retroactively to January 1, 2018. 
 

 
(f) This rule does not apply to complaints filed pursuant to Business and Professions Code 

section 6158.4. 


