Individuals, Firms and Legal Organizations to be Honored at State Bar’s Annual Meeting

Contact: Laura Ernde 


SAN FRANCISCO, Sept. 3, 2014 – More than two dozen individuals, firms and legal organizations will be honored for their extraordinary work during the State Bar’s Annual Meeting Sept. 11 through 14 in San Diego.
Most of the honorees – the recipients of the Loren Miller Legal Services Award, the President’s Pro Bono Service Awards and the Jack Berman Award of Achievement – will be recognized during an awards reception on Sept. 12. The Bernard E. Witkin Medal, Diversity and Education Pipeline Awards and honors given for the first time this year, the Presidential Recognition Awards, will be presented on Sept. 13.
Here’s a list of the honorees:
Loren Miller Legal Services Award

  • Betty Nordwind (Los Angeles)

President’s Pro Bono Service Awards

  • Recently admitted: Thomas P. Feledy (San Carlos)
  • Recently admitted: Lindsey E. Martínez (Costa Mesa)
  • Solo practitioner: Keith David Hiatt (Sunnyvale)
  • Solo practitioner: Ciarán O’Sullivan (San Francisco)
  • Individual from a Law Firm: Charles Crompton (San Francisco)
  • Individual from a Law Firm: Michael T. O’Halloran (San Diego)
  • Law Firm Branch Office: Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP Orange County office
  • Law Firm Branch Office: McDermott Will & Emery LLP Los Angeles office
  • Distinguished Pro Bono Service: Alison H. Hong (San Francisco)

Jack Berman Award of Achievement (recognizing public service achievements by a young lawyer)

  • Aaron J. Fischer (San Francisco)

Bernard E. Witkin Medal (given to someone who has helped to shape the legal landscape through an extraordinary body of work)

  • University of California Irvine School of Law Dean Erwin Chemerinsky

Diversity and Education Pipeline Awards

  • Contra Costa County Superior Court Judge Judy Johnson
  • Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
  • San Diego La Raza Lawyers Association
  • California Minority Counsel Program
  • Judicial Intern Opportunity Program
  • California JusticeCorps
  • University of California Davis School of Law, King Hall Outreach Program

Presidential Recognition Awards (selected by outgoing State Bar President Luis J. Rodriguez)

  • Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego)
  • Jeanne Rubin (Bakersfield)
  • Paul Kiesel (Beverly Hills)
  • Niall P. McCarthy (Burlingame)
  • University of La Verne College of Law Dean Gilbert Holmes


The State Bar of California is an administrative arm of the California Supreme Court, protecting the public and seeking to improve the justice system for more than 80 years. All lawyers practicing law in California must be members of the State Bar. Membership now stands at about a quarter million.