The State Bar of California's Practical Training of Law Students (PTLS) program certifies law students to provide legal services under the supervision of an attorney.
Students interested in the PTLS program should read the Rules Governing the Practical Training of Law Students and all instructions for certification (below). For additional assistance, send an email to PTLS@calbar.ca.gov.
An applicant intending to file a PTLS application must first be registered as a law student with the State Bar of California’s Office of Admissions. Begin your registration if you are not already registered.
Your application for certification must include four items that must be uploaded at the same time. Your online application must include the following uploaded documents:
All items must be submitted before an application can be considered complete.
The PTLS Application should only be used if you have NOT been previously certified by your current employer. If you have been previously certified and need to extend your certification under your current supervising attorney, submit the Extension of Period of Supervision form online ONLY. No fee is required.
If your supervising attorney and your current employer changes, you must complete the appropriate form and submit a $25 fee online. A fee of $25 is required for each supervising attorney.
You will receive a reply by email (sent in care of your supervising attorney) within one month of the date the State Bar receives a complete and accurate application. If the application is not completed accurately, it will delay your participation in the program.
Practical Training of Law Students Application
Retain a copy of the rules governing the PTLS program.
For questions contact the program at:
Practical Training of Law Students (PTLS)
The State Bar of California
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105