The State Bar approves providers and education activities for California Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) credit.
A "provider" is an individual or entity approved by the State Bar to grant MCLE credit for an education activity.
To qualify as legal education, a program must be directly relevant to active attorneys licensed by the State Bar. A significant portion of the program's content must enhance the professional ability to practice law and be directly relevant to the attorney's current knowledge of the law, including their obligations and professional standards.
There are two types of providers:
A “single activity provider" is approved to grant credit for one MCLE activity. The provider must have an approved application in accordance with State Bar procedures. There is a $75 fee for processing this application.
A "multiple activity provider" is approved to grant credit for any MCLE activity that complies with the terms of the multiple activity provider agreement. These providers should have a history of providing more than four activities before applying.
There is a $200 fee for processing the application and a $300 fee for renewal.
To be a provider of education for certified specialists, you may have to apply separately for credit depending on your course content.
Search for an approved provider
The State Bar of California
180 Howard St.
San Francisco, CA 94105