In an effort to provide assistance in avoiding common ethical and client trust accounting mistakes, the Ethics and Client Trust Account Schools are available to all California attorneys.
Attorneys who have not been disciplined by the State Bar but seek information to aid their law practice are eligible to attend. Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) credit is available.
Attorneys who have been disciplined are required to attend the daylong course in ethics covering the Rules of Professional Conduct and selected provisions of the State Bar Act.
Ethics School identifies issues and solutions to common ethical situations faced by practitioners. Instructors are experienced prosecutors who interact with attorneys in the class, discussing such topics as:
Client Trust Account School is required of attorneys who are disciplined for client trust account violations. A separate three-hour course, it focuses specifically on managing client trust accounts and related duties.
Please note that the remainder of the Ethics and Client Trust Accounting classes in 2020 will be offered via Zoom webinar or another similar online platform. There will be no further in-person classes offered at the Los Angeles or San Francisco offices in 2020. Materials for the class including a PowerPoint, handbook and exam as well as the Zoom link will be sent to the email address you use to register prior to the scheduled date for the class. Further information will be provided after you register.
Ethics School is an all-day program (9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.) with a lunch break. The fee for the course is $150. Six hours of MCLE credit are available where the State Bar matter was concluded by an Agreement in Lieu of Discipline. Credit is also available if the licensee has voluntarily agreed to attend the class with regard to a complaint.
Client Trust Account School is held for three hours (9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.). The fee for the course is $100. Three hours of MCLE credit are available where the State Bar matter was concluded by an Agreement in Lieu of Discipline. Credit is also available if the licensee has voluntarily agreed to attend the class with regard to a complaint.
Fees must be submitted with the print out of the application in order to secure a seat in the class. Classes for some dates may fill up quickly. Payment for classes must be in the form of a personal check, money order or cashier’s check. Cash payments will not be accepted.
On the online application, please click the appropriate button to indicate your reason for attending the class; whether as a result of a decision of the court after a hearing, as a result of a Stipulation, pursuant to an Agreement in Lieu of Discipline, or voluntarily by letter agreement with a Deputy Trial Counsel or the Committee of Bar Examiners for State Bar applicants.
If you have a question about probation, please direct your inquiries in writing to the Office of Probation:
The State Bar of California 845 South Figueroa StreetLos Angeles, CA 90017-2515