Important notice to newly admitted attorneys
If you were recently admitted and are attempting to confirm receipt of your mailed registration card, we regret that we are unable to confirm receipt of individual registration cards. We sincerely understand your wish to have your bar number assigned as quickly as possible, and we are processing incoming oath cards as expeditiously as possible. Your registration card will be processed within 3–4 weeks of receipt. You will not be advised directly when your bar number has been assigned. Instead, please use the Attorney Search option to search for your name, which will provide you with your bar number once your oath card has been processed. However, as soon as you have put your completed oath card in the mail to us, you are eligible to practice law in California.
After your bar number has been assigned, your fees will be assessed within 2–3 weeks, at which time you will receive notification along with the access code required to setup your My State Bar Profile by mail to the address you provided. If you would like to obtain your My State Bar Profile access code now, please contact us direct at 888-800-3400.
If the oath card that you received is lost, missing, or damaged before you are sworn in, please contact our Admissions Office at Admissions@calbar.ca.gov about obtaining a replacement.
My State Bar Profile and contact information
Transfer to active status
Transfer to inactive status
To change your name on your licensee record
To voluntarily resign
Obtain a Certificate of Standing
Fingerprinting rule requirements
Lawyer Assistance Program
Managing your law office
You can calculate your annual State Bar fees and costs through your My State Bar Profile, and then pay by credit card or electronic check from a checking/savings account (ACH). You can also print the invoice available after you calculate your fees to mail with a payment by check. Mailed payments must include a copy of the generated invoice.
Annual fees for active licensees
Annual fees for inactive licensees
View frequently asked questions about paying fees.
To review any fee scaling eligibility, refer to the Rules of the State Bar of California, Rule 2.15. Fee scaling applies only to licensees on active status with qualifying income. Payment and the fee scaling declaration must be received by the State Bar no later than February 1, 2021, to qualify. The fee scaling declaration is available through your My State Bar Profile. View Frequently Asked Questions about fee scaling.
To review any waiver eligibility, refer to the Rules of the State Bar of California, Rule 2.16. A licensee may apply for a waiver of payment of the annual fees by submitting the required Licensing Fee Waiver Application form.
The State Bar conducts an annual Attorney Census to gather demographic and employment data from the state’s licensees. The Attorney Census contains questions on demographic characteristics, including race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, disability, and veteran’s status. Questions? Visit our Frequently Asked Questions about the Attorney Census.
California Business and Professions Code section 6002.1 requires all licensees, regardless of their status, to maintain a current publicly available mailing address on the official records of the State Bar of California. California Rule of Court 9.9 requires licensees to use My State Bar Profile to report changes to contact information and provide a private email address for State Bar communications.
Log in to My State Bar Profile to make address changes, pay fees, and report Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE).
Forgot your My State Bar Profile password? You may reset your password online or contact Attorney Regulation at 888-800-3400.
Under California Rule of Court 9.9.5, all inactive licensed attorneys must be in compliance with fingerprinting requirements prior to being placed on active status. A status change will be effective upon the State Bar's receipt of the Request to Transfer to Active Status form and compliance with the fingerprinting requirement. Additionally, if applicable, once the annual fees have been adjusted, payment will be expected promptly. View more information and access the required form.
Submit the Application for Transfer to Inactive. Transferring to inactive status after February 1 will not reduce active fees owed. View more information and access the required form.
Submit a Name Change Form to process your name change request. View more information and access the required form.
The State Bar does not have a retired status option; the only voluntary statuses are active, inactive, or resigned. Notification of retirement is not sufficient to change your status. Submission of the Voluntary Resignation Form is required. View more information on voluntary resignation.
A Certificate of Standing must be ordered online. The State Bar issues a single-page Certificate of Standing to verify a licensee's name, bar number, admission date, current status, any name or status changes, and any public discipline, as of the date of the certificate.
Order a Certificate of Standing and view more information about the types of Certificates of Standing available.
Find more information on how to obtain a California Supreme Court Certificate of Standing.
Under California Rule of Court Rule 9.9.5, active attorneys licensed in California and multijurisdictional practitioners must be re-fingerprinted following the instructions posted online. See the full fingerprinting rule requirements.
Learn about becoming a certified legal specialist.
The State Bar has a confidential program for attorneys facing substance abuse or mental health issues. The Lawyer Assistance Program is also part of the State Bar's regulatory mission, providing services to lawyers facing disciplinary charges.
Find information about mandatory arbitration hearings with clients.
Register a law corporation or LLP. Find State Bar resources on managing or closing a law practice.
See FAQs on everything from how to file your MCLE report to where to find ethics opinions.