Beginning in 2017, the State Bar launched a new online billing and payment application for annual fees. As a result, paper billing statements are no longer mailed to attorneys. Instead, statements are available online through My State Bar Profile.
Once an attorney’s State Bar fees are paid, a paper bar card can be downloaded through My State Bar Profile. Plastic bar cards will be available upon request and can also be ordered through My State Bar Profile.
Payment of annual fees is due by Feb. 1, 2019.
Individual attorneys can make payments online through My State Bar Profile. Attorneys should make sure that the email provided for communications from the State Bar is current.
Law firms and agencies can now use the State Bar’s new agency billing system to calculate billing costs and make payments for a group of attorneys.
2019 Annual State Bar fees are due Feb. 1, 2019. Your payment must be completed electronically through My State Bar Profile or postmarked by Feb. 1, 2019. If you miss the payment deadline, a penalty will attach on Feb. 2, 2019 ($100 for active attorneys, $30 for inactive attorneys). Contact us with questions at 888-800-3400 or AttorneyRegulation@calbar.ca.gov.
Attorneys are only eligible to pay at the inactive rate if they transfer to voluntary inactive status by Feb. 1, 2019. A change to inactive status after Feb. 1 is permissible, however the attorney must pay annual fees at the active rate and is not entitled to a refund because of the change to inactive status.
Report any change in an address. If an address or contact information has changed, log on to My State Bar Profile to update it.
Note: California Rule of Court 9.9 makes it a requirement to use My State Bar Profile as the means to report changes to contact information, as well as to provide and maintain an email address for State Bar communications. If you have not already done so, please register today to ensure your compliance.
If trust account information has changed in the past year, notify the State Bar. This requirement only applies to active attorneys living in California. To update or change trust account information, log on to My State Bar Profile.