On June 23, 2020, the State Bar denied the application for certification of LegalMatch.com, a lawyer referral service (LRS). LegalMatch was found not to meet the minimum standards required to operate as an LRS in California. LegalMatch does not require its attorney panel members to maintain legal malpractice insurance as required by law, and LegalMatch has not developed qualifications for attorneys to be on their panels nor does it ensure competence of its panel members. Under California law an LRS may not operate in California without certification from the State Bar. The State Bar has advised LegalMatch that it must cease and desist referring potential clients to LegalMatch panel attorneys until LegalMatch satisfies the legal minimum standards for certification as an LRS.
The State Bar certifies all lawyer referral services. An LRS is an individual or organization that refers potential clients to lawyers. Certification is a requirement for all LRSs who operate in California. Since LRSs must demonstrate that they meet established standards, certification protects the public.
Nonprofit services: $1,000 for the first county in which the service will operate, $500 for the second county, and $250 for each remaining county in which the service will operate (maximum of $10,000).
For-profit services: $5,000 for the first county in which the service will operate, $2,500 for the second county, and $1,250 for each remaining county in which the service will operate (maximum of $10,000).
Nonprofit services: 1 percent of gross revenue up to a maximum of $10,000, regardless of number of counties served.
For-profit services: 1 percent of gross revenue up to a maximum of $10,000, regardless of number of counties served.
For questions about LRS Provider Certification and fees, please contact LRS@calbar.ca.gov.