Many people attend law school as part of their journey to practice law. But you can also fulfill your legal studies in a law office or judge's chamber.
Applicants intending to pursue their legal education through the law office/judge’s chambers program must file an initial report on the designated form within 30 days of the date the law office study commenced. Subsequent reports on the designated form and examinations must be submitted within 90 days after completion of each six-month study period.
A $158 fee must accompany the Notice of Intent to Study in a Law Office or Judge’s Chambers, which is the initial report. A $105 fee must accompany each semi-annual report submitted after that. All reports must include the Law Office Study Report cover sheet and must be submitted by certified mail with return receipt requested or delivered in person to either the Los Angeles or San Francisco Office of Admissions.
Applicants are qualified to take the First-Year Law Students’ Examination after completing one year of law study. Certain applicants are exempt from the examination as specified in Rule 4.55 of the Admissions Rules. Applicants required to take the First-Year Law Students’ Examination, which includes students participating in the law office/judge’s chambers program, who pass the examination within three consecutive administrations of first becoming eligible to take it, will receive credit for law study completed up to the time the examination is passed (calculated to the date the examination is administered rather than to the date the results are released). Applicants who pass it thereafter will only receive credit for one year of law study.
For more information, the requirements for admission to practice law in California are contained in the Rules of the State Bar of California, Title 4 - Admissions and Educational Standards.
The following is a summary of the requirements for qualifying for
admission to practice law in California through study in a law office or
judge’s chambers. For the specific requirements, refer to Title 4,
Division 1, Chapter 3, Rule 4.29.