This page summarizes all reporting requirements for attorneys, including information that comprises a licensee’s record with the State Bar, annual licensing fees, compliance with Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) requirements, compliance with Client Trust Account Protection Program (CTAPP) reporting, and attorney conduct that must be reported.
Attorneys are responsible for maintaining the accuracy of the information in their State Bar record. Any changes must be reported within 30 days. Attorneys are required to report:
Additionally, pursuant to rule 2.2(b) of the Rules of the State Bar of California, attorneys are required to verify the required information listed above by February 1 of each year during the annual license renewal process.
To make changes, please use My State Bar Profile. For help accessing your profile, view this guide.
Attorneys may also report optional information for display on their public profile: areas of practice and languages spoken by you or your office staff.
State Bar annual licensing fees must be paid by February 1, and penalties will be imposed for nonpayment. You may pay annual licensing fees by logging in to My State Bar Profile. Information about licensing fees and waivers is available here.
California attorneys must report compliance with the requirement to take 25 hours of continuing legal education every three years. To report MCLE compliance, please visit My State Bar Profile. Find out more about the State Bar’s legal education requirements.
For questions related to your attorney record, annual licensing fees, or MCLE compliance, please email AttorneyRegulation@calbar.ca.gov.
California attorneys must annually comply with Client Trust Account Protection Program (CTAPP) reporting requirements, which include:
To comply with the CTAPP reporting requirements, please visit My State Bar Profile.
For attorneys employed by or in practice with law firms, if the firm or organization you are currently employed by or in practice with is registered with the State Bar's Agency Billing platform, the State Bar may receive your trust account registration information from your firm or organization administrator at the time annual fees are paid. However, attorneys will still need to complete the individual self-assessment and certify compliance. If the State Bar does not receive your trust account registration data through your law firms or organization, you must report this information by the February 1 compliance deadline. Please contact your firm or organization administrator to confirm whether they will report the trust account registration data on your behalf.
If you or your firm or organization fail to report this information by the deadline, you will be assessed a noncompliance penalty. If you still do not comply, you will be enrolled as an inactive licensee.
For questions related to your CTAPP compliance, please email CTAPP@calbar.ca.gov.
Attorneys licensed in California are required by various sections of the Business and Professions Code and the Rules of Professional Conduct to report to the State Bar, in writing, within 30 days of the time the attorney has knowledge, a variety of actions. Failure to report a mandatory reportable action in and of itself constitutes a violation that may subject an attorney to disciplinary action. Here are the categories of conduct that attorneys must report:
The following actions must be reported by completing a criminal proceedings form.
Employment and termination of an attorney who is not eligible to practice
When employing or terminating a disbarred, suspended, or involuntarily enrolled inactive lawyer, an attorney must comply with restrictions  and inform the State Bar and clients by completing a Notice to the State Bar form, and a Notice to the client form.
All judicial sanctions must be reported except for those for failure to make discovery or monetary sanctions of less than $1,000.
Lawsuits and settlements
Attorneys must report discipline imposed against them, or their firm or law corporation, by any professional or occupational disciplinary agency or licensing board, whether in California or elsewhere. This includes discipline imposed by other state bars, professional or occupational disciplinary agencies for other professions, and courts in other jurisdictions, including federal bankruptcy, district, and appellate courts. Discipline should be reported using this form.
Reversal of judgment in a proceeding for professional misconduct
Any reversal of judgment in a civil or criminal proceeding based in whole or in part on professional misconduct, gross incompetence, or willful misrepresentation.
Effective August 1, 2023, lawyers must comply with Rule of Professional Conduct 8.3, which requires a lawyer to report certain misconduct by another lawyer. The Rule 8.3 Reporting Requirements page provides more information about this reporting obligation.
Back to top
 Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6068(o)(4)
 Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6068(o)(5)
 Rule 5.3.1, Rules of Professional Conduct
 Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6068(o)(3)
 Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6068(o)(1)
 Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6068(o)(2)
 Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6086.8(b) & (c)
 Bus. & Prof. Code, §§ 6002.1(a)(4), 6068(o)(6). See the statutes for a more detailed description of what must be reported. See also Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6002.1(a)(5) & (b) regarding requirements applicable to attorneys subject to conditions of disciplinary probation or ordered by the California Supreme Court to comply with California Rule of Court 9.20.
 Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6068(o)(7)