Under California Rule of Court Rule 9.9.5, active attorneys licensed in California and multijurisdictional practitioners must be re-fingerprinted following the instructions and schedule below. For active attorneys, the timely deadline to be fingerprinted was April 30, 2019 after which a $75 late penalty is attached. To avoid an additional $100 penalty, active attorneys must be fingerprinted by July 31, 2019.
Attorneys should log in to their My State Bar Profile for their individual reporting information.
Fingerprinting Rule Requirements for In-State Attorneys
Fingerprinting Rule Requirements for Out-of-State Attorneys
Fingerprinting Rule Requirements for Out-of-Country Attorneys
Out-of-Country Deadline Extension Request
Fingerprinting Rule Requirement FAQs
Fingerprinting Rule Glossary
My State Bar Profile (for attorneys)
If you have additional questions, please contact the State Bar's Office of Attorney Regulation and Consumer Resources at 888-800-3400 or email FingerprintRequirements@calbar.ca.gov.